We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gainsborough Hotel
Ranked #804 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 10 March 2011

On arrival we were told that we had been upgraded to a 'Delux' room free of charge. All was fine, although for a South Kensington Hotel I would have expected a bit more from a 'Delux Room', until we got back in the evening and tried to sleep. Be aware that there is a night club next door and the music kept us awake until 3am. When we complained in the morning we were told that they didn't usually put people in that room on a weekend. We had stayed on a Thursday night!!! We were offered no apology or compensation. The room was 111 so if you book in and are allocated this room I would enquire about the noise.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo-Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2011

THis is the worst hotel i have ever stayed in, and have stayed in a fare share of bad hotels as a poor student. It takes about 20 minutes to get hot water in the morning, one of the employees told me they have bedbugs in most rooms and in general it is old and dirty. They even have a room without a window, which is probably illeagal as ther is no emergency exit. They claim they are an elegant english hotel, which couldn't be further from the truth.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Manne29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Stayed for 4 nights, 1 double, 1 twin. The rooms were excellent, very clean and comfortable.
The staff on arrival were very helpful, the breakfasts were excellent with a vast choice for everyone. When asked about the attractions nearby, they were very informative and helpful.
I will certainly be staying here again and will recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrGRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

The hotel doesn't have hot water. We called reception and they told us to run the water for a bit longer, that didn't work so we ended up having a luke warm shower in the middle of winter.

There was a big blob of stain on the bed spread. Really surpised that housekeeping missed that.

With internet been so cheap these days, this 4 star hotel expects one to pay for it at a hefty price. There is no wifi just an internet cable in the room.

The springs of the hotel bed diggs into one's back and the sheets are scratchy, probably over starched.

Definately not a 4 star hotel, even a 2 star hotel is better than this.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roseza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Our small group, meant we booked three rooms in this hotel a double, twin and single. The entrance to the hotel is well presented with good maintenance unfortunately the rooms are not as good. All three rooms we booked required maintenance attention, with decoration very tired and in room fittings also requiring replacement due to their age. The overall appearance of the rooms was OK but everything was very tired. Definitely not the 4 Star rating that was promised. All our rooms were on the small side especially the single which had only a narrow gap to the side and end of the bed.
Rooms are hard to find and have unusual layout to fit them in the building. On opening the door to the twin you are presented with a stair case up to the room with the wardrobe at the bottom of the stairs. None of the rooms had a dedicated space for tea / coffee facilities with the equipment being located in cupboards / wardrobes etc.
The Staff were a mixed bag and all bar one we encountered were mixed foreign with less than ideal spoken English, causing confusion and making explaining details in both directions hard. Some of the staff were particularly rude in attitude, however this may have be due to the poor level of their English.
The continental breakfast (standard) was OK with no real complaints, albeit a little limited, ham and cheese provided was of poor quality but acceptable. Upgrade to full English cost £5, whether this was worth it is debatable, personally I would say not.
The location of this Hotel is excellent if visiting the museums with the Natural History almost literally across the road (2 Minutes) and the others commensurately close. The nearest tube (South Kensington) is about a 5-10 minute walk.
Overall the hotel is tired but acceptable, I would rate it high 2 star, definitely not 4 star. I would stay again but not by choice, as it would be quite far down my list. If we had not have got very discounted rates I would have been quite annoyed but for the price we paid and level of accommodation versus the location this was OK, but not much better than OK.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elgin_GI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

I stayed in this hotel for one night on business. My room was tired, with stains on the carpet. There was no hot water on arrival and no hot water the morning after. The windows were drafty and as a result the room was cold. There was also a lot of traffic noise so I did not get much sleep either, which was not good as I had an important meeting the day after.

I complained at reception and was brushed off. I over heard the receptionist telling the assistant manager about probably 15-20 other rooms that had complained about much the same things as me, but there was no offer of recompense just an insincere apology. So these were not isolated events either.

On a positive note, it is a very convenient location and the breakfast was reasonable. But this is where anything good about this hotel ends and at over £200 a night, I felt it was pricey and the hotel inspector who gave it a 4 star rating must have been blind!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

I stayed for one night, arriving early evening after an easy and relatively short journey.
Hotel is in a quiet side street, about 6 minutes walk from the tube and about 3 from the Natural History/Science Musuems & Albert Hall etc. First impressions: nice, well cared for frontage, attractive, reassuring, no dodgy feeling about area.
On checking in, was greeted by a smile but really slow service; mainly due to the (foreign) receptionist being too busy in her continuing conversation with her colleague, and by being interrupted by another guest demanding to know when his taxi would arrive - attention deferred to these two for so long, I took a seat and waited more comfortably.
Lift to 4th floor, fine - was offered help with bag but didn't need it.
Single room (with small double bed), in small room but perfectly fine. Room was clean, bedding was clean, bathroom small but clean & perfectly adequate although smelt a bit strange (cleaning products?). TV worked, kettle & tea/coffee etc all fine. Wardrobe if you need it, windows did open so could get fresh air, air con unit installed but not tested, and not cold enough to warrant heating.
I always travel with earplugs - which is a good thing here because the walls are thin and the next door guest banged the doors quite a bit - but I slept fine in a comfortable, clean bed. Didn't take breakfast as was extra cost.
Slightly peeved that single room was advertised on Reception price list as less than i paid through Laterooms.com.

Overall, a fine experience but I think it's way overpriced at £125 a night with no brekky included. 4 star is probably over-generous but the faults I observed were manageable.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#665 of 1,081 in London
884 reviews
South Kensington
The Exhibitionist Hotel
The Exhibitionist Hotel
#245 of 1,081 in London
568 reviews
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#429 of 1,081 in London
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#381 of 1,081 in London
1,045 reviews
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#369 of 1,081 in London
1,215 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gainsborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gainsborough Hotel

Address: 7-11 Queensberry Place | South Kensington, London SW7 2DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#398 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £63 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gainsborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine an English country home magically whisked to the most exclusive London borough, and you have The Gainsborough. Named after the celebrated artist, The Gainsborough combines the attractive style of bygone days with an easy informality. To stay here is to enjoy London of fashionable South Kensington, Harrods, the restaurants and antique markets, pubs and delightful backwaters of Chelsea and Knightsbridge. You are at the heart of the capital's culture too with great museums - Science, Natural History, the Victoria & Albert - nearby; and for music lovers, the glorious Royal Albert Hall is just minutes away. The well-stocked lounge bar is the spot for a leisurely drink or a snack from the light menu. With 24-hour room service, butlers on immediate call and a reception ever ready to meet your needs, nothing is too much for our attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Gainsborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsborough Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing