We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Ranked #547 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed three nights at the Burns Hotel. It is in a great location - about a half block from the Earls Court Road where there are numerous restaurants, groceries, pharmacies, etc. Very nice neighborhood! We loved just walking around. You feel safe at all times walking from the main street to the hotel. Lots of foot traffic. We did not eat in the hotel, but dined daily at the pub on the corner which was very reasonable. The menu at the hotel looked good and we spoke to the chef who is from Italy. The staff was great; very helpful with information and booked us a taxi for the trip to the airport. The Underground station is only a block away from the hotel and if you don't have much luggage, can ride the train to Heathrow, very short distance by Underground. We had too much luggage. The WiFi worked great in our room. The hotel is located on a quiet street and our room overlooked the back (no view, but very quiet). The rooms are small, but we were not in them except to sleep. Very clean and comfortable. We recommend them highly. Book them through Tripadvisor to get the best rate.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 104. Probably the quietest room as it has no adjoining walls. Located on the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CowtownNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

725 - 731 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

Spent one night had a lovely room with a huge comfortable bed. Everything was very clean and all the staff very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was good served promptly with plenty of choice and the Full English was freshly prepared and nice and hot. Good choice of continental, only problem was they could have done with a bigger toaster as quite a wait to use it. There was no bath and shower room a little on the small side for the size of the room. Good value and would return again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisb1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The hotel was average with the following positive points, good breakfast, helpful staff, large spacious room and comfortable bed. Negatives, included, no room cleaned whilst there for 2 nights, window was not secure, no bath.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steviekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We were given two nights in a twin-bedded room at this hotel by our airline as a bonus for booking a transatlantic trip. The hotel is a typical amalgamation of townhouses facing a garden square, meaning that the rooms vary in size and accessibility. Ours was small but serviceable, and looked out onto the backs of townhouses on the adjacent street. It was clean. The mattress on my bed was well past its prime. By taking the rubber bath mat and covering it with the cloth bath mat, I was able to minimize the intrusion of the springs of the mattress into my hip.
The staff were helpful, although one of them, after trying for an hour, could not get me onto the free wi-fi. (Although I am not very sophisticated with computers, I eventually discovered on my own that I had to disable a security certificate warning to connect.) We found the full English breakfast quite acceptable. The real plus of this hotel was its proximity to the Earl's Court tube station--just minutes away. With so many other hotels available, I don't imagine that we'll return on our own, but if our airline were to offer this one again, we'd probably take it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eddytor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Clean and reasonable value - When booking ensure that your room is not located near the lift as the noise is loud and continues all throughout the night.
Breakfast was average - although next time I would be tempted to skip breakfast at the hotel and instead find a nice cafe around Earl's Court tube.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABX1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

After contacting the hotel from the USA a while back asking for a room with a nice view, was surprised when we arrived at the hotel, instead got a room on the ground floor looking at a brick wall. Room was clean, although could not turn the heat down in the evening for cooler sleeping. In addition, it took 24 hours before we were able to get on the Internet after trying often and talking to their tech support. Also, to add to the glitches, the fire alarm went off at 4AM for about 30 seconds (false). Talk to the staff the next morning about our concerns, and they just said "sorry about that". Great location, but we will find another hotel maybe next door.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of hotel have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hebgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This hotel was booked by our firm's travel agent, so mercifully, I was spared having to pay for this myself, especially as they charge a rate of approximately GBP160 / night.

I stayed here on business for two nights in April 2012. Room was small and dirty - piles of dust in the corner, mould developing on walls. The bathrooms are tiny, I have travelled on car ferries with larger bathrooms. In addition to this the bathroom had mould in abundance, a significant amount of decay around the window frames and pieces of trim missing.

All of this, whilst not ideal was just about tolerable as I was only spending two nights there and was not planning on spending any time in the hotel other than to sleep. On the first night the fire alarm was sounded at 0400am causing me to wake up and begin to think about leaving the room. No explanation, let alone apology, was made for this in the morning. Food was average, but no better - brake bros standard - think work canteen standard. Upon leaving the hotel no thanks was offered for my custom, merely a statement that "my room was paid for" - with, I might, no word of a thank you.

Substandard, yet complacent with it. If you love dirty, tired hotels, with mediocre food and impolite staff with random fire alarms where you can invent new alternatives to penicillin in the bathroom and pay 160 pounds for the privilege then this is the place for you. Otherwise steer clear.

Room Tip: One in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tor675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#639 of 1,075 in London
1,313 reviews
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#504 of 1,075 in London
1,052 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#373 of 1,075 in London
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Best Western Corona
Best Western Corona
#557 of 1,075 in London
774 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#425 of 1,075 in London
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington

Address: 18-26 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #547 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: £81 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing