We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location is excellent, but don't eat in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Ranked #534 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“location is excellent, but don't eat in”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We booked for 2 week-nights 'Room Only' for £116 per night, through booking.com.
The hotel is well located, on a garden square - close to Earls Court underground (just across the road and round the corner), and a block from Earls Court Exhibition Centre.

The Reception area is small but lovely. The one Receptionist asked us to wait while she answered a phone call, but otherwise was pleasant and efficient. We noticed that her paperwork said we had been upgraded and, indeed, Room 115 appeared to be the largest room on the floor plan. (Last time we stayed in Earls Court area, in a stifling July, we stayed at the Kensington International Inn, and our room was barely bigger than the bed itself!)
2 single mattresses made up as a Super-king bed, with over-bed lamps and 2 bedside tables. A daybed, 2 armchairs in a bay window area, a desk with 5 drawers, a wall lamp and a chair. 2 wall mirrors. Hairdryer. Wardrobe with sturdy hangers and a room-safe. Tea-making (but bring your own biscuits). Large and spotless bathroom, maybe 9 ft square, with excellent in-bath rain shower. Lovely big white towels, and generous shampoo and shower gel replenished daily. The toilet flush was ineffective (no doubt due to some water-saving measure) and required the addition of a waste bucket full of water to function properly!

On the first night we ate in the Patio Restaurant. Decor is a little stark, though the ceiling lamps are nice. Not much choice - we both ordered fish and chips. Our fishes looked good, crisp and golden, though quite small. As soon as I cut into mine, I felt it was undercooked, and by the second slice, we both found the fish was raw in the middle. The waitress was pleasant, and was happy to take them back and have replacements cooked. These were edible, but a poor quality of fish, and the chips were tasty, but all soft. For dessert, again not much choice, we shared an apple crumble with ice cream. It was quite nice, but disappoiting. The 3 dishes, plus a bottle of wine, came to £37.

We did not sleep well. The mattresses were very comfortable, but the 4 pillows were all the same, firm and deep. I ended up sleeping with the tiny head-sized cushion, instead, and thus slept better on the second night. (Nowadays most hotels, and even B&Bs, offer a choice of firm and soft pillows.) The duvet was light and thin, but very hot.

In our room we noticed a draft, and quite a bit of street noise, and on inspection we found the next day that one of the tall windows was warped, and would not bolt closed. Obviously a problem already known to the hotel, as a door chain had been fitted - although it wasn't even linked closed. We then noticed that the other window was in fact also unbolted, so anyone could have come into the room from the shared balcony outside.

Breakfast vouchers can be bought from Reception - £6.50 for Continental, and £9.50 if you want cooked breakfast as well. We opted for Continental, and it was fine. Apple or Orange Juice. Prunes in juice, grapefruit segments in juice, fresh apples. Large bowls of natural and pink yogurt. Containers of cereal (maybe 7 varieties), and one kind of milk. Sliced cheese, ham, and turkey, cottage cheese, and tomato. Croissants and little rolls (both rather firm and dry), and 3 varieties of sliced bread. (there are 2 domestic toasters which were both ridiculously slow, and staff were unable to offer anyone any help.) Sachets of butter, spread and jams. Coffee, served in a pot to table upon arrival, was hot and better than average for hotel breakfast coffee.

On our second night, we ate at the Italian Bistro Benito, in Earls Court Road, which I can strongly recommend. There are plenty of restaurants on that strip, but we had chosen well.

Would we stay in Burns Hotel again? Probably not, although everything was very clean, the price was OK for London, and the location is excellent. Don't eat in though!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eleanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    579
    337
    120
    62
See reviews for
181
433
205
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Earls Court tube station and off the main road so isn't too noisy.

We arrived at the hotel to be told we'd been upgraded for no extra charge. A good start. The room was spacious, tidy and presentable. It had clean towels, shower gel, soaps, shampoo, shower caps, tea/coffee, hairdryer, TV. First impressions, excellent. The room (number 67) was on the ground floor at the front of the building which meant we were unable to leave a window open while we were out or at night which was slightly annoying. Although the bed was extremely comfortable the room was so hot I couldn't sleep. I was constantly coughing because of the dry warm air, even taking a drink of water didn't help. Suffice to say I had no sleep and acquired a sore throat. We also noticed a strange smell coming from the bathroom, it was a really pungent stench and was so strong we kept the bathroom door closed so it wouldn't leak into the room. Next day whilst we were packing I noticed that the smell had completely gone. It was a like a garlic/onion/mustardy smell. Not pleasant at all. We decided not to have breakfast at the hotel after reading other reviews. But there are lots of eating places just at the end of the road that do cooked breakfasts which were much cheaper than the hotel.

In all it was an ok hotel. But I'm glad we only stayed the one night and we didn't have to pay the full price of £185 for the room. If we had, I would've definitely complained about the smell. It did make me wonder if somebody else had complained about the smell and they had been moved into our original room and we'd been given that one instead.


Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALAGA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Enjoyed our one night stay. Excellent staff in every way - friendly and helpful. Small warm room with excellent sunny bathroom. Nice bar. Clean and functional hotel near tube. Breakfast Ok. Again good service. Will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This hotel was excellent. Super breakfast menu, clean and functional room and friendly helpful staff. Room was a little small but represented excellent value for money would definitely use again. Excellent location for public transport and in good shopping area both designer and convenience shops within walking distance. Earls coutr tube station 2mins away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank mione248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

check in was fine, we got a deal and paid £100 for a double room instead of £165. the room was tiny and very tired. Sealant had been used in the bathroom to cover a multitude of sins and the shower head was the size of a thimble! Water was luke warm at best. The floor creaked where ever you walked in the bedroom. The mattress pinged a spring everytime you turned over. The carpet was minging and the ironing board they brought us wouldnt stand flat so rocked everytime you ironed! Breakfast fine, location good, staff freindly....thats it! If i'd paid full price i would be writing a letter of complaint.

Helpful?
2 Thank inspectorcalls
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Turkey
Level Contributor
251 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Even thirty years ago this was good value for money as a small independent hotel in Earls Court. Today it is part of the Best Western Group and it still provides excellent value for money. With easy access to the tube station at Earls Court and within walking distance of Olympia this hotel is in a very good location.

Barkston Gardens just off the Earls Court main road is basically a square with a large garden in the middle. A nice location in fact and you could be forgiven for thinking you were somewhere outside London.

Check in at this hotel was very straight forward. The rooms are clean and well laid out and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms have coffee / tea making facilites and everything that you would expect for a hotel of this type. The showers are very good and everything works as it should. The hotel give you free wi fi access too.

There is a bar and lounge area albeit not very large and the breakfasts are excellent with a choice of continental or cooked English. For the price and considering the location you really can't fault the Burns Hotel.

I would have no problem recommending this for anyone not wanting to pay the high hotel fees in London but who wants a reasonable degree of comfort and good surroundings. This definately ticks all the right boxes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAVAKLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#492 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#605 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#398 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#289 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
South Kensington
Premier Inn London Kensington (Earl's Court) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington

Property: Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Address: 18-26 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #534 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing