We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but close quarters”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Ranked #550 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Raleigh, NC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location, but close quarters”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A fair value for the money, especially given the good location. Rooms were a bit small (especially the shower in the bathroom). The WiFi wasn't very good since it only worked when I stood directly behind my room's door.
Bears mentioning that our room was on the first floor, so every morning we were awakened a little early from street / garbage bin noises. Best to ask for a higher floor if available.
But the staff was nice and overall we enjoyed our stay and would consider the same again if we return to London.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if available, to avoid street noise in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    586
    347
    122
    65
See reviews for
184
443
207
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

It was impossible to move around our small room without making the floor boards squeak. The springs in the mattress were liable to make noises too. One electric socket did not work. Continental breakfast was at the lower end of what we have come to expect. Staff were friendly and efficient. Burns Hotel had clearly been a fine residence in days past - our room on the fourth floor must have been for servants!

Room Tip: Avoid floor 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel is in a great location just off Earls Court Road and very close to the tube. Staff were friendly but the room we were allocated was hardly big enough for one person let alone two (and my partner is not a small man) We were informed that the hotel was fully booked and that it was impossible to change rooms. There was not enough space to open 2 suitcases at the same time and we had to inch around the bed which took up most of the room. The view was pretty of the park across the road but access to the balcony was blocked for some reason. The breakfast was substantial and the free wifi was always reliable. The bathroom had been modernised and having a bath plus shower was a bonus

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 119
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Booked in here for an exhibition at Earls Court. It was easy walking distance to the exhibition centre; Also convenient to get into Central London on the tube. Rooms were quiet except for a single by the lift. Breakfast pretty good. Would use again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tearoomwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Very beautiful place, clean and comfortable, nice staff very discreet and friendly, room and bathroom big and clean, mattress could be better but was ok anyway, wifi for free everywhere all the time… I d love to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evdokimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

It was nice to get a double room upgrade, I thought the bathroom facilities just a bit compact for two but for me was fine for the overnight stay. It was just what I needed given what I had to do in London. Whether the food was good or indifferent I couldn't say, l but my room deal was rather good for London others I know paid much more. Barkston Gardens I'd say was quiet, away from too much passing traffic. A quick stroll to the tube and shops of Earls Court.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurst, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights. We chose this location because it was more affordable than the other hotels closer to the city center, but it was located 5 min away from a very convenient tube station. From Earls Court tube station you can travel on several different lines in all directions. This made traveling around London very convenient. There are several pubs located nearby and a very good asian restaurant around the corner. The hotel itself was located on a quiet street. The rooms are very small and extremely basic…and outdated. We didn't spend much time in the hotel, so we didn't mind, but if you are looking for a hotel retreat, this would not be the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#511 of 1,068 in London
1,016 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#623 of 1,068 in London
1,277 reviews
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Best Western Corona
Best Western Corona
#554 of 1,068 in London
742 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#299 of 1,068 in London
518 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#398 of 1,068 in London
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington

Property: Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Address: 18-26 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #550 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Lastminute, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing