We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location for sight seeing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington
Ranked #529 of 1,089 Hotels in London
wicklow
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location for sight seeing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed in Best Western Burns Hotel in Kensington/Earls Court for 3 nights. Great location for sightseeing particularly if you want to visit the museums, as it is 2 min walk to Earls Court Tube station which is on both Piccadilly and District Lines. The hotel is situation just off the main street on a quiet residential square. Our room was on the 4th floor and quiet small with two single beds and a very small en suite with shower in bath (not suitable for older people). The room itself was clean and had tea and coffee making facilities. My only problem with it was the lack of ventilation, the weather was extremely warm and the room only had one tiny window which could not be opened fully as it had a chain attached for safety reasons I presume. Check in and check out was extremely quick and efficient. we did not eat in the hotel so I cannot comment on the food. Overall a great base for sightseeing with loads of pubs and restaurants on main street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor than the 4th floor, while we were at front of hotel overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moll068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    568
    330
    117
    62
See reviews for
178
422
201
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We'd booked the Best Western Burns Hotel for a 3 night stay several months ago for a reasonable (for central London) £90 per night. We'd not been able to book a double as the booking site was only showing twin rooms available, but we sent a request for a double room when we made payment. However, on check-in, we were told the hotel was full, but the helpful receptionist 'Greta,' reassured us that if we ask again in the morning, they should be able to accommodate our requests for the remaining two nights.

We did ask again in the morning, not only because we still wanted a double, but also because the twin room we were allocated was tiny, desperately needed refurbishment and looked nothing at all like the pictures you can see on the website. The floors creaked whenever you moved, there wasn't enough room to walk past the first bed to get to the second bed so you had to jump over the first bed like it was in an obstacle course and finally, when you got into bed, the coasters they were on meant that every time you moved in the bed, the bed moved too. It was like sleeping on a large skateboard. However, when we did ask for another room in the morning, we were told with a smile (but slightly more firmly) that they were still full.

To be honest, we didn't protest too much. We were in London for only a few days so I didn't want to spoil what time we had arguing with the hotel staff who, for all their smiles, didn't seem too interested in resolving the issue.

On the positive, the bathroom was adequate-small, but had a good shower over the bath. The hotel is also excellently located, being just two minutes walk to Earl's Court tube station and a variety of restaurants and bars . Another positive is that despite being well located, it's actually on a peaceful road with very little traffic noise.

However, despite it's location, the quality of the rooms would put me off staying again and I'd recommend having another look at your alternatives before booking here.

Room Tip: It doesn't really matter what you request as the standard line seems to be that the hotel is ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpdf77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed in a single ( small) room for 3 nights, it was small with a single bed but had everything else one needed. full bath, dresser, lots of mirrors and a pants press. It was clean, and had a view overlooking a lovely little park. It is close to earls court tube,hence close to Heathrow on Piccadilly line,Lots of places to eat close by ranging from all prices.I think english breakfast at Burns is overpriced , there are others cheaper close by, but the staff at breakfast is great, led by the lovely and welcoming Gladys, they make you comfortable and well served,she leads her staff well....Teresa at front desk was also great, making me a new key when I immediately misplaced and helping in any way when she could.
This is a great bargain in expensive London.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook park and away from noisy lift...this is a bargain place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank museummama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivybridge, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Good location near Earles Court Tube station.
Room clean and big enough for us and bathroom looks new and shower nice and hot.
Breakfast standard but its something to start the day.
Nice staff and will book again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very pleasant staff and comfortable rooms and delicious breakfast each morning. Even though the hotel appeared quite busy the quietness at night was fantastic and the staff were exceptionally courteous and very helpful and it's location near the underground is an added bonus

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucozadenurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
#594 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington
#602 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#444 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#273 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
South Kensington
Premier Inn London Kensington (Earl's Court) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington

Property: BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington
Address: 18-26 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #529 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing