We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Ranked #86 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

A friend had recommended the Hotel Indigo as a nice hotel and less expensive than many - she was spot on. It appeared as though the hotel was new or newly renovated. My room was large for London standards and the bath towels were large and fluffy! It was also colorfully decorated and the shower was large with plenty of counter space. As others have said, it is less than a 5 minute walk from the tube station and there are pubs, as well as a M&S food shop off the corner. It was nice to have a few complimentary drinks and munchies in the mini bar. I did not try the restaurant so can't comment on the food. I would have ranked this a 5 but I like a softer mattress but that might be me. For the price, comfort, service and location, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,896)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,178 - 1,184 of 1,897 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Hotel Indigo is exceptional. The staff are wonderfully friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable, and the breakfasts are the best I’ve ever had in London. And as an added bonus, it’s just two minutes (if that) from Earl’s Court tube station.

Our visit began badly. We were celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary, and had booked a suite large room for ourselves and our two young children. The booking agent had messed up, and we had been given two different rooms. Not adjoining. With young children, that wasn’t going to work. However, the staff took it in their stride. “Why don’t you have a complementary breakfast while we work something out.” Did I mention their breakfasts are the best in London?

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The hotel is in a quiet location but just around the corner from Earl's Court tube station - so perfect. The reception staff were extremely welcoming, friendly and professional and our room (on the 3rd floor) was, although smallish, clean, comfortable and quiet. The bathroom was good with a great shower. We did have a job cooling the temperature a little, but nothing we couldn't cope with.

Our experience of the Mansion Bar and Restaurant which we first encountered for breakfast on the first morning wasn't so good. The breakfast meals, when they came, were fine, although I was disappointed with the selection of the continental breakfast. The service wasn't speedy and it wasn't clear whether we should be seated as although several staff saw us waiting, none of them acknowledged us. There was some communication issues with the waiting staff and the wrong breakfast was brought. The correct one didn't arrive for another 20 minutes, by which time one of us had finished our breakfast.

But the breakfasts were OK. Our attempt at having an early evening meal was not so OK. I ordered duck leg which was more than crispy - it was rock hard and dry as a bone, completely inedible. It's a mystery to me why they thought anyone would eat it. It seemed as if it may have been left over from lunch, completely dried out and then served in the evening. We had little time so I couldn't send it back, just left it. When I mentioned it at the end, the staff were very understanding and apologetic. We weren't charged for the duck and were offered a complimentary drink.

It's a shame, because we thought the hotel was lovely and we would, and probably will, stay there again - but we won't use the restaurant.

The rating is for the hotel, not the restaurant. I would only give the restaurant 1 or 2, I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrynCBCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed with my Daughter for one night to visit the Ideal Home Exhibition and spend the weekend together for her birthday.
This delightful hotel was everything we wanted and more!
Tucked away in a side street just minutes from the tube at Earls Court, peaceful and quaint.
The rooms are not large but this is a city and like most city rooms anywhere in the world they are compact. But it made up for that in the lavish room we had! Everything was complimented well, the bed was huge and very comfy, the bathroom had a huge walk in shower with large fluffy towels and incidentals. There was a free mini bar and fluffy dressing gowns. A large tv and tea and coffee making facilities. I certainly couldn't fault anything at all.
On arrival we were greeted by the Ladies and our bags were taken to our room, as it was my Daughters birthday they left a huge plate with several different types of delicious cakes and a birthday card for her. A really lovely touch!
Breakfast the following morning was plentiful and equally as delicious!
Thee are plenty of restaurants, pubs and cafés to eat nearby too, and a great place to stay if you're needing to get into London.
I will certainly return here without any hesitation.
A grand place to stay and thank you to all the staff for making it so special.

Room Tip: Good connections into London from Earls Court, a great hotel with everything to offer. In a quiet si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidayqueen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The hotel is well placed not too far from Earls court tube station. There are a lot of pubs and restaurants near. The rooms are well kept and furnished, and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. The one area that have to learn to get right is breakfast ! When it arrived (eventually) it is very nice - but you will wait a long time, and you will be offered a selection of the other customers plates as well. In the area we were sat, around 6 tables were all offered and turned away the first offering because they were not theirs. And a second cup of coffee - forget that, never arrived - each day ! Indigo management sort your breakfast process and you will have a great hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I had one night here while on a business trip to central London and was very presently surprised with the choice. Located just off the main road (so it's quiet ) close to Earl's Court tube station this is not the normal chain hotel. I was greeted by very friendly and smiling staff who did their best to make my stay as good as possible (one had a small green frog on his jacket which just seemed to break the ice). The rooms are large for the centre of a big city with rom to move around the large bed, chair and foot stool. Lots of storage space and connections for recharging/logging on. Interesting decor in the rooms carries the theme along. There is a free mini bar in the room (soft drinks, good quality tea and snacks). The spacious bathroom was well stocked with soap etc. and very high quality towels. Mine had a large walk in shower. Breakfast was wonderful with a large selection of hot and cold food and drink. Staff were again friendly and helpful with no rushing you out. I was surprised with the price as I payed much more for a 'cheap chain hotel' and mass breakfast a little more towards the centre of town. Travel time was no more than a few minutes more. I will be back next time I need a hotel in town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doctor phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This hotel must be only months old, for everything still shone. All amenities are available (safe, iron, fridge). Bed quite comfortable. Very modern. A little tight, but very clean.

Service was friendly. Room service food was decent and quick to arrive.

The location is conveniently located near the Earl's Court tube station (2 minutes by foot). Kensington isn't in the center of the action in London, but for this reason, it's also pleasant. The neighborhood itself is beautiful and has plenty of stores, pubs, etc...

Wi-Fi is free, as it should be.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EarthGopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#65 of 1,077 in London
3,846 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#185 of 1,077 in London
3,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo London Kensington

Address: 34-44 Barkston Gardens, London SW5 0EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in London
#57 Family Hotel in London
#80 Luxury Hotel in London
#82 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £103 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barkston Garden London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing