We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Ranked #86 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here after going to Wimbledon for the day. The location is perfect (4 mins walk, with suitcase, from Earls Court tube) if you're exploring either SW or central London. I've worked in London for the last 8 years and so know the city very well, but at present, am not living in the city, so we thought we treat ourselves to not having a 2.5 hour journey home! The advance rate (book 7 days in advance and pay in full before arrival) is excellent value. The standard room, although a bit small, is perfectly equipped and of a very high standard. The room size isn't anything to be concerned about - hotel rooms in London, unless you're paying upwards of £350 a night, are small as space is at a premium. I've been in some 5* hotels (Hotel 41, which I cannot recommend enough), where the rooms are a similar size. You would only struggle if you had a lot of luggage, and then it would be worth a room upgrade. The room and ensuite were extremely clean, free WiFI, free mini-bar and snacks, bathrobes, slippers, wonderful and spacious shower, plenty of towels, and a very comfy bed.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had breakfast (£15 pre-paid rate for two when booking) and it was absolutely excellent, both in the food and value for money. Delicious Eggs Benedict, Illy coffee, juice, plus cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, croissants.

All in all, an excellent stay and I will be returning. From the reviews, I thought it would be good but I have to say that it completely exceeded my expectations. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,137
    478
    90
    22
    12
See reviews for
211
854
123
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

What a discovery. Cool chic refurbishment of a delightful terraced building. All room facilities excellent from the extremely comfortable bed to the state of the art bathroom and such a pleasant experience to find all those little extras included in the room price including bathrobes and slippers, excellent toiletries by Aveda, magazines and a well stocked minibar, tea and coffee facilities. Slept well - air conditioning highly effective. This hotel is located on a quieter road and hence there is no disturbance from traffic noise. Indeed given the solid build of this older dwelling rooms are very well soundproofed, whilst offering excellent proportions and high ceilings. An impressive choice of dishes for breakfast professionally served in a cool dining area. Only 2 minutes from clean and modern Earls Court tube station make travel painless. All in all boutique accommodation at a very reasonable price for the Kensington area. Whilst this visit was a business trip I would equally consider Hotel Indigo for a holiday stay. Definitely intend to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jings63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Staying at the Indigo is like staying at a small 5 star hotel. The location is across the street from the tube and between the Picadilly line and the district line, you can get to all the main attractions easily. There are plenty of good restaurants in the area

The room was amazing. Rain shower, flat screen tv, really comfy bed, white robe Avedo products etc

Breakfast was a gourmet buffet. From eggs Benedict to banana pancakes (crepes) with salmon and cheese and fresh baked everything. Not to mention all the fresh berries and fruit and healthy choices.

Staff was friendly and helpful always... Sunday early checking we're packed however. If I lived in London, I would live there!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lainie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Very nice room, comfortable bed. Nice to get a thermos of coffee left in our room for our return in the evening. Free wine and drinks in mini bar was a nice touch. Friendly girls at reception but had to wait quite a while for our room to be ready to check in.
Even though we are platinum members they put us in the basement, a little disappointed.
Loved staying in Kensington. Hotel across from tube station, near lots of small restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Having had the pleasure of staying in the Paddington and Tower Hill properties, I thought I would give this Indigo a try. I was only in London one night and had a meeting very clost to Earls Court. Once again, this property is located just across the street from the underground station.
This hotel did not disappoint.
The team are fantastic, very friendly and professional. They really make a positive impression on a guest.
The room although not to my liking being in what I classed as a basement, was very clean and well appointed.
The bed is very comfortable.
A good nights sleep really did make a difference to my meeting the following day.
Breakfast was great.
I think Indigo is my hotel of choice for the future.
Great team+ great property = Great future.
Well done!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

..... about this hotel. So many rave reviews?

Good things -

Clean and tidy
Extremely friendly and helpful staff
Aveda toiletries
Complimentary mini-bar
Location
Great shower

Bad things -
We were in a basement room. It smelt very damp as did the whole floor.
Unused bath towels stored against a wall felt damp in the morning.
Very poor lighting/mirror position in bathroom (for shaving/ make-up).
The room was extremely crowded with furniture leaving very little space, it felt incredibly claustrophobic.
Air con very noisy.
Meal in restaurant OK but expensive for what we had and then we discovered on checkout that they'd added a service charge
Parking difficult in the area although this is obviously not the fault of the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo London Kensington, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Sue2404,

Thank you for writing a detailed review of your experience. It makes us happy to read that the cleanliness of the hotel, friendliness of our staff, and in-room amenities were to your liking. On the other hand, it is regrettable that the size and condition of the room and bathroom amenities were a let down during your stay. Please accept our apologies for the shortcomings you have experienced.

Your feedback is highly appreciate and I am confident that the respective departments will address these matters to ensure this type of situation does not reoccur. I do hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to the area and restore your faith in our beautiful hotel.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

After testing out the rather high but extremely comfortable bed at the Indigo I knew I was on track for a great stay even though our room didn't have a bathtub.

As others have said the hotel is well appointed, rooms have all the necessary amenities, staff are cheerful and friendly, internet is free and reliable and the breakfast is delicious. There are plenty of eating establishments in the vicinity and the tube is just a hop, step and jump away.

This hotel is not cheap but it represents good value when compared with other London properties.

I would recommend this property for a London stay and would happily stay there again but I have a couple of suggestions for improvement.

* The tatty breakfast menus (all of which I was given were stained with food or coffee blobs) detracted from the ambience of the breakfast. Please replace them.

*The bath towels were difficult to reach for someone who is 150cm.

* The steamfree section of the bathroom mirror is a super idea but too high for someone who is 150cm.

*It would be good the have a changing menu especially for the Fixed Price option. We cheapskates would have eaten in the hotel on several occasions if there had been different choices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeniAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#59 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,614 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#45 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#131 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo London Kensington

Property: Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Address: 34-44 Barkston Gardens, London SW5 0EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in London
#57 Family Hotel in London
#79 Luxury Hotel in London
#82 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Indigo London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barkston Garden London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing