We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, very friendly and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Ranked #86 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have spent 3 nights in this hotel and we loved it. The hotel is lovely and stylish. Staff amongst the friendliest and most helpful we have ever experienced. The rooms we had were rather small, but very pretty. The location is perfect, a couple of minutes away from the underground. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay overnight there again when in London.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Alessandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,079 - 1,085 of 1,919 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Half of the rooms and half of the ground floor have been refurbished and look fantastic. Building work didn't bother us at all, and is expected to be finished in september.

we had a very quiet room on the 3rd floor. Small as to be expected in london, but new bed, linnen, large walkin shower. comfy matras.
not sure if was a special offer but mini bar was included (selection of crisps and some juices, water).

breakfast was also included (special offer: 1gbp extra....what can you expect for that? a lot!)
the buffet is ver nice and fresh (fresh backed bread, fresh fruit, fresh smoothies, fresh...you get the drift). also order some cooked breakfast (excellent vegetarian omelet), orange juice and great cappuccino.
nice extra: they also offer gluten free options (muffins and bread)

staff was superb, very helpful and friendly.
hotel is 1 minute walk from tube earls court (district line), so easy access to eg kew gardens, centre of london, etc.

found this hotel by accident but will return on purpose!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank weirdo666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I chose this hotel based on good reviews on Tripadvisor and I was very happy with it.
We were a group of 7 people, some of us first time in London and we were all very pleased with our stay of 4 nights in this hotel.
All positive comments I read before were wright: excellent location of the hotel, close to everything you need, easy walking distance to the tube, the rooms even small, are nice and impeccably clean, towels and sheets, also toiletries, are excellent quality, and they offer fantastic breakfast.
We had great pancakes with berries and excellent eggs Benedict and you can get a very good coffee.
But besides all this, I really appreciated the kindness shown by the staff, always smiling and willing to help.
I want to express my gratitude to Mrs. Ywona, who gave me excellent advice about best shopping in London and it was very helpful and friendly whenever asked any information .
Definitely will return to this hotel first visit to London and I recommend it to everyone for the excellent price-quality ratio and excellent service .

Room Tip: I had a room on the ground floor and I was very happy even if it was small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank viviRomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We booked a superior room as an IHG member, not sure what real benefits this brought.

We had a nice UK king bed which was perfectly big enough for 2 and very comfy whether for sleeping or just sitting up and reading. There were lots of very soft towels and bath robes, slippers, tea and coffee making stuff (but UHT milk, yeuk!! - as there was a fridge fresh milk could have been provided); ironing board and iron (taking up cupboard space), a safe, a mini-bar (free water and soft drinks), iPod docking clock/radio, TV (never used) and a very nice rain shower.

We were in room 012, on the ground floor. I've no idea what the other rooms are like but in this one they could get rid of the standard lamp and increase the size of the wardrobe and clean up the little courtyard. There was also a fancy connector block with USB, HDMI etc. on the wall above the desk, an instruction leaflet would have been useful.

Breakfast was not included and although beautifully presented and of a high quality with lots of choice it is a touch on the expensive side - we were spending approx. £30 for 2 for breakfast.

The location is ideal for exploring parts of London via Earls Court tube station; there are also many restaurants in easy walking distance.

Summary: a very nice, comfy hotel in a quiet location that I would happily return to.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AlanandLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here in May 2014. Nice hotel and easy walking distance from tube.

Good room loads of space with separate sitting area. Bed good if rather high shpower room nice.

Breakfast exceptional. Gteat choice and the smoked haddock was superb. Recommended..

Not cheap but in this hotel you get what you pay for and it was worth it,

Room Tip: Room at the back to avoid road noise but street not that noisy anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Small bed was the key issue of this trip. The king bed is definitely not US style. If you are 6 foot + you need to sleep diagonally and sleeping with two in the same bed will be romantic. Some people might prefer otherwise. I traveled in a group where some choose to take two rooms instead of one because of the small bed. We asked and they said that they did not have any rooms with twins.... The staff at the desk could have dealt with this issue a bit more professionally.

I stayed in a basement room (deluxe King) which for London standards is quite large (it could fit a larger bed!). Because of the recent refurb everything is new and modern which is nice ofcourse.

Cons: The wooden floor was sticky and there was a faint smell of sewage. The lord and madam titles that all staff carry are a bit over the top.
Pros: Modern fittings, good breakfast, comfortable bed (outside of the size issue), good quiet location near the tube, size of the room.

The pros outweigh the cons, hence the more than average rating.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sebbie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooke H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

Yes you are correct a uk king size measures 1.5m x 2m which does differ from the US size. We have advertised this online as we don’t want to disappoint guests, please feel free to drop me a further email about how this was dealt with so I can follow up with reception. I apologise that you found it on the small side but am happy that you found it comfortable which will be down to the luxury bed toppers.

The Lord and Lady titles were bought for all the staff when the hotel opened as the history of the building was that it used to be 3 mansion houses which would have belonged to Lords and Ladies. Therefore to tie us with our history all the employees that opened the hotel were bought a Lord or Lady title so that we were the only hotel in the world where you were served by Lords or Lady’s throughout your whole stay.

I am so pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and the location. The cause for the sticky floor is most likely from cleaning products so I will ensure that the housekeeping team are re-checking before they leave.

Thank you for your constructive feedback and we will feed back to the team.

Kind Regards,

Brooke
brooke@hotelindigokensington.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here for one night in July, we really only used the room for somewhere to lay our heads whilst we were in London for a gig, which was rather unfortunate as the hotel was so lovely. Our room was upgraded upon arrival, which I gather they do a lot & may be due to the refurb, which by the way didn't inconvenience us at all. The room was lovely & spacious with really nice decor, a very comfy room. Hotel staff were pleasant enough, we weren't there for dining so can't comment on that, but all in all a pleasant stay and we would return again. Superb location for Earls Court tube station.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wini544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#59 of 1,077 in London
3,869 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#185 of 1,077 in London
3,437 reviews
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo London Kensington

Address: 34-44 Barkston Gardens, London SW5 0EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in London
#51 Business Hotel in London
#80 Luxury Hotel in London
#82 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £105 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barkston Garden London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing