We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, a few details lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park International Hotel
Ranked #370 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, a few details lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

Have stayed in this hotel several times, this being the first since major construction was finished.

Front desk staff are friendly and welcoming, rooms vary, but the newer ones in the basement are very nice, large and with a clean bathroom and good shower.

Their wi-fi leaves something to be desired. It used to be included, now it's £7 per 24h, and it's only for two unique log-ins per room. If you have both smart phones and ipads, you'll still not be able to log in with all of them without paying extra.
When asked about this, the front staff blamed their provider swisscom. This is not acceptable as the hotel are the customer and should be able to dictate how they want the provider to actually provide the service.

The breakfast is included and offers a wide selection, had no problems with this.

As for the hotel restaurant, do not visit this. Service was terrible and it took an hour from arrival at the rstaurant to food being delivered to the table, there were one other table with people.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CFrimanslund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Park International Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us and for your continued patronage at the Park International Hotel. As a hotel we do appreciate all feedback from our guest so that we can improve on and maintain our level of service that we offer.

I am pleased to read that for the larger part of your stay you had an enjoyable time and that our reception and breakfast team ensured that you were well taken care of during your time with us.

I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the internet service available here at the hotel however what our receptionist has informed you is 100% correct. We at the hotel do not own nor do we manage the Wi-fi network, the entire system is run by the supplier Swisscom and we just host their network within our property therefore we are unable to dictate or control the rates.

I would like to apologize for the lack of service you experienced at our Checkmate bar and restaurant however we are currently undergoing a change in management and I am confident our new food and beverage manager will improve on the service that is currently offered.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Park International Hotel in the future.

Best Regards
Karl Goebel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    846
    325
    118
    83
See reviews for
431
660
122
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Firstly, the positive:
* Great location in a nice area. Very close to tube station & amenities.
* Staff at reception were very friendly.
* Rooms were very clean & well presented.
* Shower was great - very spacious with good pressure & temp control.
* Bed is comfy - proper duvet & lots of pillows. I hate when hotels just give you layers of sheets & itchy blankets.

The Negative:
* Breakfast was a disorganised joke. Waiting for sausages, waiting for juice dispenser to be topped up, no milk in the jug on my table, had to drink apple juice out of a coffee mug - no glasses left, etc.
* Despite me leaving the "Do Not Disturb" sign on my door, housekeeping still knocked at 8am. When I didn't reply, they walked in anyway. This is a pet peeve of mine - ignoring the sign on the door. Anyway - I couldn't go back asleep, so was double-annoyed this happened.
* The rooms are too hot. I know it's summer, but mine was like a sauna. I left the fan on full all day, and it made almost no difference.
* Booked a double room, and it was very small (Room 515). And to add to the cramped feeling, one side of the room had an angled roof, so I had to duck down when walking over that side of it.
* Internet was terrible. It kept disconnecting. I spent 20mins on the phone to the support line. Also - it says on the info card in the room that you can "Charge it to your room" - but you can't. You have to sign up & pay by credit card online or over the phone, so it's a bit more hassle than they imply.

Anyway - not bad, but wouldn't go back. There are too many other options.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herbie747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Park International Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at the Park international hotel and for providing us with a detailed breakdown of both the positive and negative aspects of your stay so that we may address this each department.

I am pleased to read that you found your room to be clean and comfortable and that the location of our property was convenient for your travel requirements. I would like to thank you for you special mention of the friendliness of our reception staff and I have passed on your feedback to the entire team.

I am disappointed to read that you found our breakfast service to be disorganised however I will discuss the points that you have mentioned with our breakfast manager to ensure that we improve on our preparation to prevent any shortages in the future. I have also passed on your feedback to our executive housekeeper to enquire as to why your room was accessed if there was a DND sign on the door as this should not have happened. She has assured me that she will provide the necessary training to her staff to ensure that this does not happen again.

With regards to the problems you had experienced with your internet connection I have logged a case with our supplier and do hope to have an answer as to why this was occurring as well as a solution to the problem.

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Park International Hotel and we do hope so see you back in the future.

Best Regards
Karl Goebel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

My son and I stayed at this hotel for two nights because we wanted somewhere near the Royal Albert Hall. This hotel was perfect as the RHA is only a ten minute brisk away and Gloucester Road tube station is less than five mins away.

Checking in was simple and friendly. We were given a very small twin bedded room near the rear. It was adequate for our stay as we did not have much luggage but if we had suitcases they would probably have to stored on the beds. Also the door of the small wardrobe could not be opened fully as it kept hitting the entrance door. Toilet / shower room was clean and tidy and more than half the size of the bedroom. Good flat screen TV with a good number of channels. Many foreign language ones as well.

Breakfast was included and there was a good selection of hot and cold food, taken buffet style. Slight criticism. Both mornings they ran out of fruit juice / water glasses and there was a lengthy delay before more were brought out.

The bar area and lounge is nice and friendly and the prices are not excessive. We used the bar both nights for a late night drink before going to bed. The lighting in the lounge area is low and very discrete which suits the guests and the mouse we saw running across the floor and under the seats, on our second night. It kept us amused.

Room Tip: The road at the front of the hotel is very busy so a room to the rear might be advisable but not 132...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Droggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Park International Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent at our hotel, it is wonderful to read you found our hotel to be conveniently located for your travel requirements and trust that you had a good night out at the Royal Albert Hall.

I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and you found our staff to be friendly and our rooms to be clean and tidy. I would like to thank you for your positive feedback with regards to the selection on our breakfast buffet and will be taking the appropriate action to ensure that there are always cups and glasses to hand.

It was wonderful to read that you had the opportunity to join us in our Checkmate bar for a late night drink however I was surprised to hear that you had spotted a mouse under the one of the chairs. I can assure you we have taken the appropriate action and have had a number of industrial, non-lethal deterrents installed throughout the property just this week and I am confident in saying that I hotel is now pest free.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Park International Hotel in the future.

Best Regards
Karl Goebel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed here twice now, and we find that it is really good value for money. Piad £140 for double room incl. breakfast. Breakfast is good although not everything is always on the buffet that is on the menu. Rooms are very clean, only downside to the rooms is that the doors are VERY loud, especially at night and early morning - you can hear nearly every room in the corridor close. Staff are friendly and attentative. Location = excellent and only a very short walk from Gloucester road underground. Baggage storage is free. Bar is a bit dungeon style - only popped in there to take 2 drinks back to the room but it's not somewhere i'd want to relax in. Downside to the hotel is that there is no room service; the menu looks well priced and has a good selection of items on. All in all we enjoy our time here and use it for the good value and excellent location to explore London.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Park International Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay at the Park International Hotel, it is wonderful to see that you have selected our hotel as one of your preferred hotels in London.

I am pleased to read that you find our rooms to be clean and comfortable and our staff friendly and professional. I am pleased to inform you that we are in the process of implementing a room service menu and this should be available within the next two months.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Park International Hotel on your next visit to London.

Best Regards
Karl Goebel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at the Park International. The room was tiny but modern and spotlessly clean. Our room rate included an excellent breakfast in a cheerful breakfast room. The hotel is very conveniently located. It's just a 5 minute walk from the Gloucester Road tube station which serves 3 underground lines and gives you direct access to most of the main tourist sites. There is a small shopping mall with a grocery story, pharmacy and a couple of restaurants right outside the tube station. Plus, there are many restaurants along Gloucester Road and across from the hotel. The staff was professional but not particularly helpful or friendly. My biggest beef was the absolutely extortionate rates charged for wi-fi access (7 pounds/night)! Fortunately, there are many ways to get free or very low cost wi-fi access outside of the hotel, but I thought the rate was completely outrageous.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madebooCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed for one night in a basic double room. There was plenty of space, the room was very clean and the staff were excellant. Nothing was too much trouble and they were all very friendly. Breakfast was a pleasure. Good job guys! Visiting London again in October but already booked with another hotel. I am going to cancel the reservation and go back to the Park International again!

Room Tip: We were lucky that our room was not facing the busy main street so it was very queit. I would sugge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

From the arrival we enjoyed every second in this hotel.
Reception staffs are incredibly helpful, funny and always smiley. Room is spotless and quiet, breakfast was good, restaurant food is delicious.
Highly recommendable hotel in London!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#60 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,575 reviews
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#173 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
#595 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park International Hotel

Property: Park International Hotel
Address: 117-129 Cromwell Road | Kensington and Chelsea, London SW7 4DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#260 Luxury Hotel in London
#275 Family Hotel in London
#341 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park International Hotel is a contemporary hotel located in the heart of Kensington. The hotel is within walking distance from Harrods, Royal Albert Hall, National History Museum, Victoria & Albert Museum and Hyde Park. The property features 171 well-appointed and modern rooms along with newly refurbished public areas. The Heritage Deluxe rooms on the first floor are beautifully designed and feature high ceilings, contributing to the elegance of our luxury 4 star hotel in London. Our guests can unwind and enjoy a cocktail at the Checkmate Restaurant and Bar which also offers live music and a delicious Thai and British Food menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park International London
Hotel Park International
Park International Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing