We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rat in the Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park International Hotel
Ranked #344 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Lawrence, KS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rat in the Room”
Reviewed 18 April 2004

The room was cramped, but clean. I can't believe that we stayed at the same hotel as the other reviews. Any request we had was always met with an astonished, "No one has ever asked that before." Toilet paper?

One evening I was having problems with the internet connection and couldn't get back to the main page with the help number. I called down to the front desk to see if they had it. I was met with extreme defensiveness. "No one has ever complained about the internet before." me - "I just want the telephone number on the start-up screen." them - " Just do it again." me - " I can't. That's why I want the telephone number." them- "No one has ever had this problem." ...
Oh well.

The next request was for an adapter. No luck. We asked about a bus trip and a sightseeing question - no idea. Finally we nicknamed the front desk - The No Service Group and gave up.

Until.... the rat in the room. I screamed as the rat ran about for a while. I called the front desk. Surprise - "No one has ever had a rat in their room." Finally the rat ran out under the door. When the front desk person finally arrived 25 minutes later, he said that if the rate came back that my husband could take care of it. Thank god it was the last night. I didn't sleep and couldn't wait to leave.

That's not all. They overcharged us on telephone calls. The room had one rate, but the desk clerk help up another sheet of paper. He said " See right here." We gave up.

DON"T STAY HERE UNLESS YOU WANT TO STUDY THE RATS.

Helpful?
8 Thank TexasIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Park International Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2004
I would like to add further that it is hard to respond to a complaint when the complaintant does not leave their name, or complain to any staff or management while they are at the premises. I dont even know if this person really was a guest or if the complaintant is another competitor trying to damage my business. Unidentified complaints are difficult to give credence to. Dan Jensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    897
    338
    123
    85
See reviews for
471
715
136
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2004

I stayed here for four nights from April 3rd to the 7th before traveling to Paris. Park International Hotel is in a safe and wonderful location, easily accessible to just about anywherein London via the Tube (Glousester Rd.Station). Our room was pretty big relatively speaking and immaculate! The staff are fantastic...on the first evening I thought there was something wrong with the TV remote (turns out I just didn't know how to use a Britain remote!) and one of the staff was up in my room almost immediately to fix it. The staff is also very knowledgeable about directions to popular areas and landmarks in London. Breakfast was more than adequate and a great way to start the day for a tourist. I would definitely stay here again!!!

Helpful?
5 Thank Travel_Lady_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 April 2004

This was the first time I had been to London. This hotel came with the package. Although it has no restaurant, there are two across the street. The rooms were clean and comfortable.The staff was fantastic, more then making up for the fact there was not a restaurant right there.I actually missed them when I left. I would definately reccommend this hotel to a friend.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2004

Based on the good reviews we had read on this site my wife and I booked into the Park International for nine nights from March 30 until April 8. We were not the least disappointed. Getting to the hotel from Heathrow was a snap using the Picadilly tube line and getting off at Gloucester Road. Its excellent location made it easy to tour London by public transportation. The staff was super, the breakfast more than adequate and our room was clean and comfortable. I would stay again and have no qualms in recommending the Park International.

Helpful?
4 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 March 2004

I am just back from a vacation to London with my Mom. We were so nervous about booking sight unseen. No worries here! The hotel is excellent. The staff was pleasant. The hotel is clean. My mom is a diabetic and the breakfast met her standards (dry cereal, dried fruits, pastries, deli meat, cheese, breads, canned (tin) fruit and juices. If you are looking for a customized omelet then stay at the hotel and walk down to the street to one of the many eateries.

The neighborhood is excellent. You are on 3 lines and only 2 blocks from the tube station. I will be staying here again. It met all of my needs.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballston Lake, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2004

I just returned from a week in London and was very happy with my stay at the Park International. The hotel is in a great location - 2 minute walk from the tube! I had a single leisure room. It was small but very clean and comfortable...plenty of room for me. I had no problem with the shower - hot water and plenty of pressure. The breakfast was good and not served on paper plates as one other reviewer claimed. The hotel staff was helpful in many ways...directions, calling a cab to return to the airport, etc. London is an expensive city to stay in and the Park Int'l is a moderatly priced hotel that is well worth it. I highly recommend staying at this hotel. When I return to London I will be staying again. Hope this helps!

Helpful?
4 Thank lastdayofmarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, CA USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2004

We took advantage of super low roundtrip fares on British Airways and spent a week in London from the 4th to the 12th of March. This place is in a wonderful neighborhood, on the bus line, super close to the tube station, post office, internet cafe, restaurants, a large grocery store and small drug store. The rooms are small but clean and the beds were comfortable. Yes, the shower was hot and plenty of pressure (no flow restrictors in this place!). Breakfast was simple but filling and the front desk staff were very helpful. Our refrigerator didn't work when we first checked in and literally minutes after we called down to report it the maintenance man was at our door with another mini-fridge.
I don't think you could find a better value in that wonderful neighborhood. There was a towering Holiday in one block away, but the prices were much, much higher. I would recommend this hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#634 of 1,069 in London
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#368 of 1,069 in London
1,143 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park International Hotel

Property: Park International Hotel
Address: 117-129 Cromwell Road | Kensington and Chelsea, London SW7 4DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#246 Luxury Hotel in London
#275 Family Hotel in London
#341 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park International Hotel is a contemporary hotel located in the heart of Kensington. The hotel is within walking distance from Harrods, Royal Albert Hall, National History Museum, Victoria & Albert Museum and Hyde Park. The property features 171 well-appointed and modern rooms along with newly refurbished public areas. The Heritage Deluxe rooms on the first floor are beautifully designed and feature high ceilings, contributing to the elegance of our luxury 4 star hotel in London. Our guests can unwind and enjoy a cocktail at the Checkmate Restaurant and Bar which also offers live music and a delicious Thai and British Food menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park International London
Hotel Park International
Park International Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing