We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased with our stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park International Hotel
Ranked #350 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Savannah, GA
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very pleased with our stay!”
Reviewed 19 March 2005

We just returned to the USA after five nights here and were very satisfied with our room and all contacts with the staff. Our superior room (57 pounds per night booked on line) was better than I expected - comfortable king size bed, 2 chairs and table, small refrigerator. The bathroom appeared newly renovated with pedestal sink(excellent water pressure in the shower/tub). We had room 122 in the back - VERY QUIET and private, away from the streetfront. Each day the room was cleaned very well. The continental breakfast was OK, and included croissant, pastries, assorted meats and cheeses, canned fruit, juices, cereals, etc. The staff were great to us - very helpful with directions, and David the concierge was GREAT in helping us book day tours (the Premium tour was good - we were disappointed with Evans & Evans). The location of the hotel was GREAT - near tube station, Waitrose market, Starbucks - all within 2 blocks. We would definitiely stay here again when returning to London. I am surprised by the other poor reviews listed and can only think "you get what you pay for." This hotel was a great value for our money.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank RAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    891
    338
    122
    84
See reviews for
464
711
131
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 March 2005

We booked this hotel as part of a hotel/airline package. The staff was polite. The room was clean, but somewhat small (coming from US hotel experience).

My only real complaint was the lack of care given to maintaining the room (construction maintenance, not cleaning). The door to the bathroom was in shambles, the trim work was questionable and framed notices (rates, fire exit info, etc.) were so far off of level that I wondered if the installer had his/her eyes open. This won't bother some people. Apparently it doesn't bother the proprietors.

Nitpicking aside, I would be willing to stay there again. But I might bring my tool box.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 March 2005

This is without a doubt the worst place I have ever stayed in my life, I can't believe they even have a star rating.

The lobby is pleasant enough so I thought "hey it's going to be nice here" until I got to my room in the basement which had a grubby window I couldn't even see out of. It was a single, so I expected it to be cosy but oh my you couldn't even walk round the bed. The room was so small there was just a single bed (with dirty and torn sheets on it) stuck up against a wall with a TV on an extending arm from the ceiling (hey it saves space and you needed it in that room) and a big desk that made it so you couldn't actually walk between the bed and the desk, just squeeze through the gap. The room was 8ft x 5ft max. The bathroom was well......tiny......but it's not like I was going to live there so I didn't mind that so much.

I didn't get any sleep that night, my dungeon room was located next to a boiler or something that made the most horrendous noise the entire night, the Night Porter didn't care and the assistant manager next morning basically said I was lying but would "as a goodwill gesture" offer me 20% off my next booking.

That's the sort of goodwill extended to worst enemies. I would never ever stay there again or recommend anyone to. It's like a bail hostel! Avoid at all costs, spend the extra £20 and stay somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 March 2005

We spent one night is this awful place, then moved down the street to a much nicer place (for the same price). If you only have a chance to go to London once, pick a better hotel that this one.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, BC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2005

I stayed there in 2002. The room were very small, there was hardly any room to move around with a carry on suitcase. The bathroom was small as well. The hotel seems to be composed of 2-3 different buildings so that it was a rabbit warren where one can get lost. It smelled. The staff were mediocre at best. I had a problem with the safe. While someone came quickly, he could not resolve the problem. I did not consider it worthwhile to complain about the room as I was alone for 3 nigths. The price was acceptable but I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2002, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Langley-George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal, canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2005

I have traveled to NYC, all over Canada, Hong Kong and all over China, and this was the WORST hotel I have ever stayed in!

I was traveling in London for a week for business, and requested a single room. I went to my room in the basement, with a small basement window looking out into a stairwell off the main street! The room was so small that I could barely fit my bag in the room. I immediately went and requested another room. Bad enough I am alone, but a small crappy window was the only thing keeping me safe from the stairwell on the main street!
By the way, as you see in the pictures, it is a very large and long building, and on each end of the building there are areas where the building has actually been CONDEMNED!!! That is right, the ends of the building are falling literally to the ground!!

Anyways I received an “upgrade” to a room on the 3rd floor. The room was still tiny, but at least not in the basement. Even though it was a smoke free room it stank of smoke.
The first night, as I slept on the most uncomfortable and ancient mattress, I noticed a dripping sound in the bathroom. There was water leaking from the ceiling!!! I told staff about the problem in the morning, when I came back in the evening I noticed no one had done anything and my towels where soaked! I told them again, and came back to my room about an hour later, the problem was fixed, but the lovely repairman had left a lovely surprise in my toilet! That is right there was crap in my toilet!

This place was disgusting! The noise was another issue. The hotel is equipped with the very cheap windows, so you can hear everything going on down on the street below. I had such a hard time sleeping.

It was noisy, smelly, and just plain AWFUL! Do not stay here!

There is a Holiday Inn and the Marriot right next door, please pay the extra $ and go there.

  • Stayed January 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank leekimber76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2005

I just discovered this site while searching for reviews of Italian hotels, and decided to write a review of the Park International. I must agree that the single room was tiny, and not what you expected after seeing the website. This hotel makes a big deal about it's Kensington address, which is convenient, but it does not live up to the upscale reputation the Kensington area has. The room was clean, and the public areas were decent as well.

I also had the feeling, as others have mentioned, that they treated me a little less nicely because I had pre-paid through expedia. The front desk staff seemed to be mainly Russian or soemthing, and very very cold, as if a smile would have cracked their faces. All in all, it wasnt bad considering the location, if you won't spend a great deal of time in your room.

Helpful?
5 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#623 of 1,068 in London
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#366 of 1,068 in London
1,135 reviews
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#369 of 1,068 in London
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park International Hotel

Property: Park International Hotel
Address: 117-129 Cromwell Road | Kensington and Chelsea, London SW7 4DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#250 Luxury Hotel in London
#275 Family Hotel in London
#341 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park International Hotel is a contemporary hotel located in the heart of Kensington. The hotel is within walking distance from Harrods, Royal Albert Hall, National History Museum, Victoria & Albert Museum and Hyde Park. The property features 171 well-appointed and modern rooms along with newly refurbished public areas. The Heritage Deluxe rooms on the first floor are beautifully designed and feature high ceilings, contributing to the elegance of our luxury 4 star hotel in London. Our guests can unwind and enjoy a cocktail at the Checkmate Restaurant and Bar which also offers live music and a delicious Thai and British Food menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Park International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park International London
Hotel Park International
Park International Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing