We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, very good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park International Hotel
Ranked #337 of 1,081 Hotels in London
A TripAdvisor Member
Porto, Portugal
214
Reviewed 11 October 2005

Very good hotel, very clean and confortable. Location is also fine (5 min to nearest tube station - Gloucester Road). Continental breakfast was also a "surprise" and can be considered as good. Good choice in terms of price vs quality.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,662 - 1,668 of 2,295 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2005

I stayed for 14 days.

Small room? Yes. Everything I needed? Yes - bed, closet, desk, alarm clock, TV, toilet, shower, sink, window (I never used the AC). Single bed smaller than a twin - but I slept well. Room was toward the back - very quiet. Continental breakfast - simple but filling (included with price if you book through their website - check the specials link - I had one of the "leisure single" rooms - price ranged from 38-54 pounds depending on the night).

Only minor problem - the refrigerator didn't work well...but I wasn't there very often to need it : )

Close to Gloucester Road tube station, laundromat one block away, Internet Cafe right across the street, restaurants all over...

I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DianaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2005

In my opinion the primary purpose of a hotel room is that it should be somewhere that one can sleep. Unfortunately my room was right next to a huge noisy air-conditioning block that made loud irregular rattly-whirey sounds all night. A heavy sleeper might be able to sleep through it, but I couldn't.

The room had air conditioning, but the air-con just recycled air within the room rather than bringing air in, with the result that the room felt stuffy unless the window was opened - making the noise outside even louder.


Other readers have pointed out other problems that I can confirm. The rooms are indeed tiny - but that is normal for London, and there are holes in the sheets - but I don't particularly mind that. If the room had had double glazing and a decent air-con then I wouldn't have had any complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2005

Just spent six days at the Park International and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. My only complaint is that it isn't closer to central London as my husband I prefer to be able to walk everywhere, but it is only a block and a half from the tube station. Our room was large enough by European standards -- plenty of room to unpack (we were gone for a total of 16 days) and still stow our suitcases out of site. The room had a double bed, desk, mini refrigerator, hairdryer, coffee/tea maker, large tv and enough drawers to put everything away. Even the closet was a nice size. The bathroom reminded me of an American bathroom with full shower/tub, etc. My husband may be back in London early next year and plans to stay there again. It is a great deal. Now for the breakfast--no complaints there either. Rolls/croissants/bread, cereal with many toppings, canned fruit (haven't eaten that in a long time, but it was good) meat, cheese, coffed/tea/juice. This kept us going for most of the day. Be sure to book off the hotel website or breakfast may not be included. Also, the rates are better.

5  Thank skippy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Montreal, QC
662
Reviewed 9 September 2005

First of all I must say that much of what I have read here failed to be true in my experience. The reception staff spoke excellent English and the breakfast, while nothing special, was fine. The refrigerator and widescreen TV were nice touches in the room as was the air con, especially on a sultry London night. Yet there were still so many problems. The TV and fridge failed to work, the air con was noisy and kept making noise during the night. The bathroom was filthy, with a cracked sink. There were cigarette burns in the blankets. I had arrived late and was leaving early, so I just needed a place to put my head for the night and couldn't be bothered to complain, so I can't say anything for the staff's ability to cope with problems. This was booked on my behalf but I would actively chose not to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2005

i stayed at the park with my 9 year old son for three night it was great value at £49 per night and the staff were friendly and helpful great location for museums and bus to west end stops outside the door i had worries after reading reviews of hotel but they were totally unfounded our room was clean and air conditioned

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank desertorchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Goshen, Indian
16
Reviewed 16 August 2005

This hotel provided us with less than $100 per night living at a time when $250 was common. It is very conveniently located, clean, serves a good continental breakfast (albeit the same one every day, virtually), quiet, and pleasant.

The convenience was very helpful to my wife and me. We were able to get on two day-trip "coaches" (read "buses") within a half-block and were delivered to the same address. The tube is just a block and a half away. It is on the very busy, very arterial Cromwell St. Grocery stores, restaurants, internet cafes, Starbucks, all very close by.

For all those negative reviews out there, I just wonder what those folks are used to...or if they've ever really had anything that meets their standards.

This place is a very good value and I wouldn't hesitate to book here again. (We spent eight nights here.)

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#60 of 1,081 in London
3,896 reviews
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#370 of 1,081 in London
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park International Hotel

Address: 117-129 Cromwell Road | Kensington and Chelsea, London SW7 4DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#239 Luxury Hotel in London
#338 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £93 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park International Hotel is a contemporary hotel located in the heart of Kensington. The hotel is within walking distance from Harrods, Royal Albert Hall, National History Museum, Victoria & Albert Museum and Hyde Park. The property features 171 well-appointed and modern rooms along with newly refurbished public areas. The Heritage Deluxe rooms on the first floor are beautifully designed and feature high ceilings, contributing to the elegance of our luxury 4 star hotel in London. Our guests can unwind and enjoy a cocktail at the Checkmate Restaurant and Bar which also offers live music and a delicious Thai and British Food menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Park International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park International London
Hotel Park International
Park International Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing