We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and nice hotel for this price in London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avni Kensington Hotel
Ranked #710 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location and nice hotel for this price in London”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

After reading the bad reviews, we were a little scared of what we would find, but it was quite OK. The hotel is located nearby tube station Gloucester road which has a good connection with Soho/Covent Garden/Oxford Street and Heathrow Airport. The room was small (even for the executive room (we got a free upgrade)), but not smaller than other hotels we stayed at it in Londen. Although we were wondering how small the standard room would have been. The shower was very small, but it wasn't too bad. The room was clean and the personnel was friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tys123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    369
    301
    133
    143
See reviews for
202
426
51
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We arrived at noon to a foyer of complaining customers who had been double booked. We left our bags to return after 2 when we could checking. On return there were three other couples whose booking had been messed up. They were told to go to a hotel nearby who would be expecting them. After dragging their baggage to the second hotel, they returned to advise the Avni that the second hotel wouldn't accept them without them paying them even though they had already paid at the avni. We waited for ages to check in while the incredibly slow French guy at reception dragged out any help.
The rooms once we finally checked in we're ok. But the breakfast room was like a bunker drastically understaffed and with noise and bustle due to tables not being cleaned for people to sit down. Would definitely not recommend nod wouldn't take the risk of the double booking fiasco.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lautrec, France
Level Contributor
232 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Given the cost of hotel rooms in London (and particularly Kensington) I think this hotel is fine.
The rooms are clean, Tv and tea making in the rooms, which though small are well set up.
Breakfast seems to be toast cereal and fruit with tea, coffee and juice although there is plenty of it.
Staff helpful
Location is great for museums (10 / 15 minute walk) Lots of places to eat very close by and tube stations within easy reach.
downside was no Wifi not the end of the world but something you expect these days.
I think this is a good hotel for a couple of days in town so dont be put off by some of the comments this place is fine

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TC0241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband, myself and small baby stayed here for a week while in London. We were very much aware of what hotel rooms are like in London and weren't expecting much which is probably a good thing because this hotel certainly lived up to our expectations.
The room was small, which was fine. But once a portacot was added to the room, there wasn't a lot of space. The bathroom was also very small, to the point neither myself or my husband could bend over in the shower, I couldn't wash my feet for a week!
The staff appeared bored and disinterested at the front desk. Everything seemed like such a big effort. Asking for directions or calling for a cab was met with blank stares or eye rolling. We didn't bother with the front desk staff in the end.
Saying that, the hotel is well located with the tube station down the road and a short stroll to restaurants and supermarkets.
Would we stay here again? It's unlikely. Although the area was perfect for us, we would stay in another hotel in Kensington.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SG_Sutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed at Avni Kensington Hotel, and despite some bad comments on Tripadvisor we had a wonderful time there. Staff are friendly and very helpful, hotel was spotless clean and free WiFi (which worked well during all my stay). Room was the expected size for an European hotel.

Breakfast was basic, limited to some cold options and toast, but considering that is complementary with the stay is perfect.

Hotel is very well located, within 5 minutes walk you are at Gloucester Rd with good restaurants, pubs and a Tesco.

Room Tip: Usually higher floors are warmer than the lower levels due to the heat that goes up. So in the winte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabio_Brazilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

its OK, staff were nice and friendly, room was ok, apart from only having a sheet as a cover on the bed, found a itchy blanket in the cuboard, so helped a bit....would we stay there again? Yes!!! It is easy access to everywhere, so for somewhere to put ya head down and store ya gear, its perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanneeward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly placed just minutes from Gloucester Road tube. Staff were helpful and friendly. Rooms were nicely decorated and the bathroom was clean and modern. Ignore those who gave it a poor review. They're obviously very hard to please. This hotel is great and fairly good value. Would recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobdobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Saint Simeon
Saint Simeon
#734 of 1,067 in London
352 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#623 of 1,067 in London
1,268 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#754 of 1,067 in London
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
The Villa Kensington
The Villa Kensington
#502 of 1,067 in London
403 reviews
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#650 of 1,067 in London
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avni Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avni Kensington Hotel

Property: Avni Kensington Hotel
Address: 40-44 Harrington Gardens | South Kensington, London SW7 4LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #710 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avni Kensington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with multilingual staff set in Edwardian style building dating from 1900; situated two miles from Victoria Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Avni Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avni Kensington London
Avni Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing