We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Area but Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avni Kensington Hotel
Ranked #727 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We had read the reviews before arriving ....so we were not expecting a great place but we needed to be in that area. On arrival the man at reception was helpful, we were given the key to our 1st room..room 201... we unpacked but could hear a constant buzzing noise at first we thought it was the fan in the bathroom...but it did not stop. We had to go out to meet some people in another hotel, so we mentioned to problem of the noise to the man at reception and he said he would send someone to check it out. We returned an hour later to find the noise was still there, so we went to reception to ask for a room change.The man on reception was not as helpful, he said he needed to check the room before he could change it for us. He came to the room and mumbled he could not see the problem but would allow us to change the room if we packed up and returned to reception straight away. We packed immediately, he gave us a smaller room on the 4th floor but at least there was no buzzing. I can only presume the staff are based on the 5th floor as there seemed to be a lot of noise late Sunday evening coming from the room above its sounded like they were drunk and falling out of bed and banging doors, it did quieten down after midnight and then you could here movement again at 6.00 am.
The room was hot ..but I can not understand why they do not provide thin quilts, rather than a sheet and itchy blanket ...a bit poor in this day and age...!
But it is in a great location near the museum's, Harrods and the tubes and there are a choice of cafes and small restaurants nearby.
I just can't understand why they keep trying to let room out when they know that they are noisy and people will want to move.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend came here in September 2013 as we were going to a concert close to this hotel...and we only stayed for 1 night....due to our flight and trains we arrived at the hotel at 10am and the check in time wasn't until 12....we went to the hotel anyway to see if maybe the room was available they would just let us go up but they told us we had to come back at 12 which was fine we just walked around for a couple of hours....when we returned at 12 we were given our key card and told where our room was...once we got to the room both of is had problems trying to figure out how to open the door :/ so my friend went to ask the member of staff behind the desk for help which he happily came and done....the room was nice only problem was it was a double bed but as it was only for 1 night we didn't really mind....and the whole time we were there the staff were all pleasant and nice

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Carrieeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

If you can get this cheap enough then I'd say take a gamble. Stayed for 2 nights - first room they put us in was on the ground floor behind reception. It was a very small box room . Unfortunately there was a noisy air con/heating unit droning noise somewhere near our room. Upon speaking the reception they agreed to move us upstairs. The noise was even worse here! After refusing this room too they moved us to the other side of the hotel. This room was a twin rather than a double and was a lot better size than the original room. It was very basic - hair dryer didn't work and whilst the bathroom was clean the shower cubicle was very small.
Breakfast was in the basement and very basic but edible.
Room was cleaned whilst we were there.
A lot of reviews said the rooms were really cold-our heating was on all the time we were there so no problem there.
5 mins walk from Gloucester road tube station.
Like I said - if you can get this cheap then it's ok, after all you only sleep there.

Room Tip: Check in advance you aren't going into room G2 or 102
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Loobyloo123311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

After reading the reviews on here me and my partner must have lucked out with our booking as we had a massive room on the ground floor that had a large double and single bed with a large leather sofa, bathroom was a good size with a large walk in shower. Bed was very comfortable. Only issue we had was our kettle didn't work, when we mentioned about it they said they would replace it but never did, but with us only staying for one night it was no big deal.

Its in a good location with an underground station just 5 minutes walk away and plenty of restaurants to pick from in the surrounding area.

The staff was very efficient and friendly. Breakfast was basic but did us fine.

Room Tip: It seems the rooms on the ground floor are the largest rooms in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wykesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

After reading the bad reviews, we were a little scared of what we would find, but it was quite OK. The hotel is located nearby tube station Gloucester road which has a good connection with Soho/Covent Garden/Oxford Street and Heathrow Airport. The room was small (even for the executive room (we got a free upgrade)), but not smaller than other hotels we stayed at it in Londen. Although we were wondering how small the standard room would have been. The shower was very small, but it wasn't too bad. The room was clean and the personnel was friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tys123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We arrived at noon to a foyer of complaining customers who had been double booked. We left our bags to return after 2 when we could checking. On return there were three other couples whose booking had been messed up. They were told to go to a hotel nearby who would be expecting them. After dragging their baggage to the second hotel, they returned to advise the Avni that the second hotel wouldn't accept them without them paying them even though they had already paid at the avni. We waited for ages to check in while the incredibly slow French guy at reception dragged out any help.
The rooms once we finally checked in we're ok. But the breakfast room was like a bunker drastically understaffed and with noise and bustle due to tables not being cleaned for people to sit down. Would definitely not recommend nod wouldn't take the risk of the double booking fiasco.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Given the cost of hotel rooms in London (and particularly Kensington) I think this hotel is fine.
The rooms are clean, Tv and tea making in the rooms, which though small are well set up.
Breakfast seems to be toast cereal and fruit with tea, coffee and juice although there is plenty of it.
Staff helpful
Location is great for museums (10 / 15 minute walk) Lots of places to eat very close by and tube stations within easy reach.
downside was no Wifi not the end of the world but something you expect these days.
I think this is a good hotel for a couple of days in town so dont be put off by some of the comments this place is fine

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TC0241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#752 of 1,077 in London
666 reviews
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#447 of 1,077 in London
821 reviews
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#668 of 1,077 in London
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Villa Kensington
The Villa Kensington
#491 of 1,077 in London
436 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avni Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avni Kensington Hotel

Address: 40-44 Harrington Gardens | South Kensington, London SW7 4LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #727 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £52 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avni Kensington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with multilingual staff set in Edwardian style building dating from 1900; situated two miles from Victoria Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Avni Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avni Kensington London
Avni Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing