We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice rooms and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avni Kensington Hotel
Ranked #731 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel whilst visiting London for a three night city break. We were a little worried after seeing some of the reviews but our experience was great! The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was decently sized and nicely decorated, and the location was excellent (only 5 mins from Gloucester Road Underground Station). Overall this hotel is great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,065)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

We were concerned after reading the tripadvisor reviews so we didn't expect much.
We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who couldn't have been more helpful. We arrived early just to leave our bags but he kindly let us use one of the two rooms we had booked.
Our rooms were spotless with all the amenities (hairdryer,tea making facilities). Beds were comfortable although it is the case that it would be nice to have duvets.
We may have been lucky with our rooms 107/102 but they were spot on. With 107 having french doors onto a balcony. Breakfast was simple but plenty to set you on your way.The area is very safe a couple of minutes walk to the tube with a fab American diner near by.
We will definitely use the Avni again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LINDA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in November, it was reasonably cheap so I'm not going to be picky but for some reason the room we were put in was extremely noisy due to what I can only imagine is either a generator or aircon units, a constant droning which made it impossible to get any peace, we moved rooms twice in the end.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy120572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Avni Kensington Hotel is one of the most welcoming, helpful and ideally located hotel in central London. We stayed there for three days and our stay was marvellous. The breakfast, the staff and our triple room were all excellent. There is the underground tube just five minutes walk away and the high street and plenty of restaurants nearby. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone willing to stay in central London. We will surely come back to Avni again. :)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jhashveer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I had noted the mixed reviews given by previous patrons but given the price of available rooms on Last Minute et al I thought it was a good bet. Well after 3 nights there I can confirm that my stay was trouble free and enjoyable.

The double room was on the ground floor but at the rear, smallish but since my wife and I were only using it to sleep in, this was not a problem. There was sufficient room for luggage and the bathroom big enough for a shower, toilet and sink - what more do you want?

Breakfast was continental only but was expected. Breakfast room was well laid out and the choice/quantity of food sufficient for the hungriest of patrons (like myself).

The staff were friendly enough and the common areas of the hotel were clean and tidy. I would recommend the hotel to friends.

Room Tip: G10 certainly seemed to be in a quiet area (ground rear) no noise from lifts or reception. The mews...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed just one night in this place and that was one night too many. The check in took more than 30 mins as I couldn't produce the card I had made the booking with (result of a robbery the week before). The man on reception was not very helpful and raised his voice to me and then constantly dealt with other people hence the 30 minute wait.
The room was described as superior but I was hard pressed to see why it was afforded a superior rating, I decided it was probably due to the presence of a Glade air freshener placed in a corner. The bed was only made up with sheets, there were two blankets on a shelf no duvet. The ceiling had patches of what seemed to be plaster splattered on it, the carpet was marked and mucky plus the furniture was mismatched with stained seating on the chair. The bathroom was clean but only one of the 6 spotlights were working.
The room was ground floor at the front so very noisy especially at 4am when a group of people waiting in reception for a taxi spent 20 mins conversing at the top of their voices. Breakfast was in a soulless basement staffed by grumpy non communicative females who seemed to be there purely to clear tables.
On a positive note, the room was warm, sheets and towels were clean and the shower was hot.
Not a hotel I shall ever use again.

Room Tip: My advice would be, just avoid it but if you are feeling adventurous then try for a room on an upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2ManySh0es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil B, General Manager at Avni Kensington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Trip Advisor UK
For: Management response to review section

November 26, 2013

Avni Kensington Hotel
We are respectively the Executive Director and General Manager of the Avni Kensington Hotel, who represent the new owner of the hotel which bought the business from previous ownership at the end of March 2013.

We are writing to address not only to respond to the review posted November 23 ,(although this letter will appear as a response to that review) , but also to a number of criticisms of the operation that have appeared since our acquisition and to let your readers know what how we propose to address these; in the hope that returning guests who have enjoyed our property can look forward to a better experience; guests who were critical of our property can be persuaded to give us another chance; and readers who are considering staying with us can be tempted to try us out.

The hotel was bought by us conscious of many of the matters which are complained of in the adverse reviews received and our resolution that we would, to the extent possible, rectify these within the first year of our new management.

To that end we have put in place a rolling programme of renovation and improvement which we have started to, and will continue to implement, so that by the spring of next year many of such matters will have been rectified.

There are some things we can do nothing about – for example we cannot change the size of some of our smaller rooms. (But we hope in the context of what we say below those guests electing for such rooms will nevertheless find our overall environment will provide good value)
Thereafter a structured maintenance programme will be adhered to so that such issues do not arise again. This will be coupled with the implementation of a range across the board improvements, early examples of which are the improvement of our breakfast range and a wholesale, albeit phased, upgrade of our bed fittings and coverings.

So that our actions can be judged against our words we are setting out below the areas where we have experienced on going general complaint; and what we are have done /are doing about it:

Heating: a common theme for guests staying in our fourth and fifth floor rooms during the late spring /summer has been the heat at these floors. We are dealing with this issue by replacing the existing corridor lighting with LED lighting and installing wherever the physical layout of the rooms permits air conditioning units. By the spring we shall have increased the number of air conditioned rooms in the hotel substantially. All superior rooms in the hotel will be air conditioned.

Showers: in the early part of this year, before our acquisition a substantial number of our mixer units became faulty beyond repair and a number of guest complaints related to this. We have commenced a programme of stripping out a replacing all faulty units with new ones which will be completed by end of December 2013.

Appearance: At the time of our acquisition of the hotel the carpeting, soft fittings, and paintwork within a number of rooms was in substandard condition either in terms of requiring replacement or cleaning .We have arranged for the whole of the fifth floor to be re carpeted; for all substandard fittings throughout to be replaced; and for all items which although not sub- standard required cleaning to be cleaned. We have also ensured that all windows have been cleaned.

Level and quality of service: both in terms of general demeanour and responsiveness to matters such as malfunctioning equipment, we are addressing the complaints which fell under this head. Ill trained staff inherited by us has been replaced by well trained staff with a particular emphasis on responsiveness.

We want our hotel can be enjoyed not just because of its fantastic location but in its own right and as a good place to come back to at the end of a hectic day.

We do not pretend, at the rates we charge to be a “destination hotel” –but we do want it to be a pleasant supplement to ours guest’s visit to London.

Michael Fielding
Executive Director

Sunil Bagapalli
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We had read the reviews before arriving ....so we were not expecting a great place but we needed to be in that area. On arrival the man at reception was helpful, we were given the key to our 1st room..room 201... we unpacked but could hear a constant buzzing noise at first we thought it was the fan in the bathroom...but it did not stop. We had to go out to meet some people in another hotel, so we mentioned to problem of the noise to the man at reception and he said he would send someone to check it out. We returned an hour later to find the noise was still there, so we went to reception to ask for a room change.The man on reception was not as helpful, he said he needed to check the room before he could change it for us. He came to the room and mumbled he could not see the problem but would allow us to change the room if we packed up and returned to reception straight away. We packed immediately, he gave us a smaller room on the 4th floor but at least there was no buzzing. I can only presume the staff are based on the 5th floor as there seemed to be a lot of noise late Sunday evening coming from the room above its sounded like they were drunk and falling out of bed and banging doors, it did quieten down after midnight and then you could here movement again at 6.00 am.
The room was hot ..but I can not understand why they do not provide thin quilts, rather than a sheet and itchy blanket ...a bit poor in this day and age...!
But it is in a great location near the museum's, Harrods and the tubes and there are a choice of cafes and small restaurants nearby.
I just can't understand why they keep trying to let room out when they know that they are noisy and people will want to move.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Villa Kensington
The Villa Kensington
#498 of 1,076 in London
428 reviews
South Kensington
Saint Simeon
Saint Simeon
#700 of 1,076 in London
362 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#641 of 1,076 in London
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#427 of 1,076 in London
808 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#793 of 1,076 in London
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avni Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avni Kensington Hotel

Address: 40-44 Harrington Gardens | South Kensington, London SW7 4LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #731 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £64 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avni Kensington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with multilingual staff set in Edwardian style building dating from 1900; situated two miles from Victoria Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Avni Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avni Kensington London
Avni Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing