We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting, mouse droppings.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avni Kensington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avni Kensington Hotel
Ranked #714 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disgusting, mouse droppings.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Really wanted to say something good...
Well i am currently in the 2nd room in an absolutely disgusting hotel. Checked in at 2pm they said they had upgraded me for free so was really happy the room seemed nice and clean so left the hotel to sightsee got back about 9 after a very long day moved pillows to get into bed and noticed mouse droppings under the pillows. So obviously went to reception and said there was mouse droppings and he did not seem shocked at all and did't even answer me, i told him i was not letting my baby daughter sleep in that room, he moved up to another room that seemed nice but was again below standard for the price we payed.
The inch gap under the door, the carpet tacks bare on the floor, the filthy carpet, the business care used to keeping the electricity on, the filthy blankets and the fear of a mouse near my daughter when we sleep.
PLEASE DON'T STAY HERE WITH YOUR CHILDREN... it's disgusting and the staff are quite rude.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    354
    291
    126
    138
See reviews for
188
412
47
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Ideal location for the tube, less than a 5 minute walk from Gloucester Road on the Picadilli line so excellent link for Leicester Square etc. Hotel staff were helpful when needed. Room adequately sized, good sized bathroom/shower. Very warm room so sheet and blanket provided were sufficient, although window had a big crack in and didn't feel safe to open so can imagine this being a problem in warmer months. Little noise from outside, but noise from adjoining room/upstairs really loud at times but not really the hotels fault - just inconsiderate guests. Breakfast good - plenty of cereals to choose from, brown & white bread, plenty of toasters so didn't have to queue long, jams/marmalades, fresh fruits (apples, oranges and bananas), ham, tomatoes, cucumber, cheese & yogurt. Only issues were really cosmetic; cracks in walls/plaster, marks on carpet etc but nothing to ruin your stay - it's not a holiday hotel, it's a place to rest your head and have a bit of breakfast before a busy day sightseeing or whatever so was fine for that purpose. Would stay again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry_G1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed at the Avni Kensington as a cheaper option while attending a work function nearby at a more expensive hotel. It was a good hotel for the price. They brought us an iron and ironing board each day when we asked, and the 24 hour check in is helpful. One down side for us was the breakfast times were often later than when we wanted to eat-it was usually served at 8:00 am.

The staff was absolutely helpful. On the last day, they accidentally took a shirt of ours off bed along with the linen. Before we left, the staff spent nearly 20 minutes going through the dirty linens to find our shirt. They could have just brushed it off, but they spent so much time and energy looking for our things. It was much appreciated!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Seri Begawan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in a double room. Size wise it is pretty small but you will never get spacious rooms in London for this price anyway. We stayed during winter and it was a pretty mild one so a couple of times we actually had to open the windows a bit cos we felt quite warm. The room is not air-conditioned and they only provide this small clip-on fan, so you might have to bear this in mind if you want to stay in this hotel during summer. The pillows were quite thin and not the most comfortable. Had no problems with the shower and toilet. Breakfast was very basic and I only went down for it once. I'm not really into continental breakfast anyway. Wi-fi connection was sketchy in some spots. Staff were nice and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruzanna23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Wilfred Foster

Stayed at this hotel 21st Jan 2014. Although only listed as a 3 star, it is certainly one of the better ones. I have stayed at much more expensive and much worse hotels. The room we booked was described as a Superior double room, but in fact had a double bed and a single bed. I was impressed by the cleanliness of the room and the general decor, fresh and clean. The staff were very helpful and courteous, although there did not seem to be many of them. The room itself was very clean and the sheets pristine and of good quality. The bed about average but certainly above the normal standard for this grade of hotel. The bathroom also was very clean and fittings of a high standard. It is too much to ask for a bidet at this price, indeed, many so called upper class hotels fall woefully short in this respect. A pity in my view as I consider this to be an essential part of any bathroom, sadly almost always lacking in this country. The only one point that detracted from a top score, is the fact that the blankets were a little grubby in places and smelled as if a good washing and airing would have made a world of difference.. I strongly suggest that the management sort out this problem. Otherwise a good score from me and as a bonus, the breakfast, although described as a Continental type, was in all respects excellent and provided a wide range of choices in Fruit , cereals , also cold ham and various cheeses and tomatoes and cucumber. Good hot coffee and tea, with both hot and cold milk. A really good combination for this type of breakfast and certainly plenty to eat.. Apart from the matter of the blankets then, an excellent choice of a hotel in a very pleasant and quiet part of London. Another bonus is that it is within easy reach of the Museums., and tube stations. I do not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone requiring a good quiet hotel in a good area. Cost ?? From £60 per night per room. EXCELLENT VALUE.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilffos481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel in an excellent location. We requested extra pillows and extra tea/coffee for our room and both were delivered within minutes. Warm and comfortable room with plenty of large towels. Complimentary breakfast was more than adequate served in spotlessly clean dining area. When visiting London again I would deffinately choose this hotel. Exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed over night at the Avni very welcoming, we had a room on the ground floor maybe a tad tiny but served its purpose well equipped, very clean, and comfortable. Situated just off the Gloucester Road , 5 mins from station an easy walk. Plenty of restaurants very near by. Ten minute stroll to National History Museum, and the V & A which was the reason we chose this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Saint Simeon
Saint Simeon
#749 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#752 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
#592 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Earls Court
City Continental London Kensington
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#648 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avni Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avni Kensington Hotel

Property: Avni Kensington Hotel
Address: 40-44 Harrington Gardens | South Kensington, London SW7 4LT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #714 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avni Kensington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with multilingual staff set in Edwardian style building dating from 1900; situated two miles from Victoria Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Avni Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avni Kensington London
Avni Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing