We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Pack Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kensington West Hotel
Ranked #747 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This place is not clean, comfortable or at least quiet. Losts of noise everywhere, just ONE outlet in a room supoused for five people, terrible uncomfortable beds, dirty rugs, fungus in every corner of it, free internet? forget it, it does not work anywhere! if your are not a back pack traveler avoid this place

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAUL6812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your review will enable us to better our services for future guests.

We take pride in providing our guests a clean base to stay while in London, majority of our reviews our guests write emphasize that our rooms are clean; it is strange that this was not the case with you. We will relay this back to our housekeeping team who will ensure that future guests do not feel this way.

Our hotel is situated in a quiet residential area.

We provide free wireless service to our guests; it is a limited speed voucher, which is sufficient to check emails and browse the Internet. However if guests want to watch videos and download large files we give all our guests the option to purchase a faster speed Internet voucher from the reception, which has a speed of 1 MB/sec.

We have in place a few expandable cables, which can be provided, to our guests upon request should you require additional power outlets. (Subject to availability)
We hope to welcome you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for Kensington West Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

This is not a hotel at all but a dolled up former tatty B&B joint. To be more accurate I should say a former B &.. joint; they don't have the breakfast option anymore even though the gaudy green neon sign on the roof says "bed and breakfast".

The main issue with this hotel is noise; not so much street noise but noise within the place itself. They cater for groups of young continental tourists who stay up all night running between rooms, getting drunk and slamming doors. I only managed to get some sleep around 3 am and was woken up around 6 am, only three hours sleep.

Speaking of rooms, they've somehow managed to subdivide the old terrace building to have more than double or even triple the number of rooms that they should be allowed to have. I stayed in a "single" room which did not even have enough space on the floor for more than one suitcase. The corridors were so narrow that you'd have to walk single file in them; surely that would qualify the place as a fire hazard ?.

Also, the beds were saggy so you get the hammock effect whether you like it or not.
Finally, there are no phones in the rooms, so there's no way for anyone to contact you if you stay there, and even the main hotel phone doesn't get picked up for some bizare reason.

On the plus side, the staff were polite and the place is kept clean.

Conclusion: if you're a teenager looking to for a place to stay in and chat with your friends all night then this is the right place for you. Otherwise, I would strongly recommend that you avoid this place if you value your night's sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fugree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Kensington West is a good budget motel in central London outside the congestion zone. Its good value for money, Free coffee and tea are available all day. Metro station is 5 min walk away. Lots of budget restaurants nearby - Pizzas, Indian, Fast food, Iranian, Diners, Cafes etc. Convenience stores nearby for Beer, drinks , chocolate etc,
Rooms were clean.
Very quiet and peaceful

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aniketraje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thanks for a wonderful review.

It is heartening to note that you had a pleasant stay with us and have left with a positive impression of the hotel, its services and accommodation.
Being in the heart of the West End there are a number of bars, restaurants and cafes around us.
We take pride in providing guests a clean base when they are miles away from their homes.
We would love to welcome you again.

Greetings from Kensington West team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

Pros: 1. Inexpensive, 2. Convenient Location (near Tube stop - district line, also markets and cafes nearby), 3. Pleasant surroundings (nice neighborhood), 4. Most of the staff were very helpful, 5. It was relatively quiet - although we had a room that EVERYONE had to pass by, and of course some people are more considerate than others. Very little traffic or outside noise. 6. Hot beverages available for free in lobby (can't vouch for the taste - never tried).

Cons: 1. The bathroom. I don't mind small, but it was poorly designed so impossible to wash your face in the sink without getting water everywhere, and the shower was much worse. With so much moisture, it smelled musty and bred small black flies. Don't know if all bathrooms are similarly sized - we were in a single - smallest room, I think - just one bunk bed. I don't count the size of the room as a con because we knew what we were getting. No big deal to us - we were hardly there. 2. The bathroom issue was exacerbated by what we refer to as the ongoing towel saga. We stayed 6 nights. 3 times, including upon arrival, we had to ask for towels as none were provided. When we did get towels we were given exactly two - no washcloths or hand towels, and the towels were generally pretty threadbare. When we asked for more, some staff seemed to act as if this was unnecessary. When we left a soaking wet towel on the floor (because the floor was always soaked after a shower) instead of replacing it with a clean towel it was often just hung up. The experience would have been SO much better if the hotel would just invest in some decent towels and not be so stingy with them! Had we known, we would have simply packed our own, which is what I would recommend, just in case.

Having said all that, I think ultimately the good outweighed the bad, and if you are looking for a good value and don't mind small quarters (and can pack your own towels!), I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhDmomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Guests,

Thanks for taking time out to write a detailed review for us.
We are satisfied to know that you found our team friendly and enjoyed the location.
However, your impression of the hotel was marred by the housekeeping service. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We have taken a note of all the shortcomings. I am happy and delighted to tell you that we have changed our housekeeping agency and haven’t had any complain from the guests since the change.
We take all the suggestions very seriously and work upon improving the facilities so that we are able to offer a memorable stay to all our guests.
We have 40 rooms in the hotel accommodating up to 6 people and they all differ in size and shape.
We hope that you give us another chance to serve you again.

Best wishes from the team at Kensington West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while my son attended an audition in London and couldn't complain. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the place was immaculate. We booked through Hotwire and got an excellent price so it was ideal for what we wanted, yes our rooms were fairly small but we only wanted somewhere to sleep after sightseeing. It's only a few minutes walk from the tube station so extremely handy and there was a 24 hour convenience store a couple of blocks away then a pizza takeaway around the corner with fab deals. We loved the fact that we could just get tea and coffee whenever we wanted from the machine in the foyer. Overall its a very clean hotel with friendly staff, comfy beds in an excellent location. Thank you to all at Kensington West for a lovely couple of days. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda8373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thank you for writing a super review for us and recommending us so highly.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and you have great memories of the time spent with us and found it to be a good value. Your inspiring words are sure to take us miles. We would love to welcome you again.

Greetings and good wishes from all of us at Kensington West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Kensington West Hotel is in a convenient location with the tube stop just a couple of blocks away. There is a grocery store less than a block away and many restaurants and convenience
stores close by. The room was small but had all the necessary things needed for our stay. However, the water in the shower seemed to fluctuate between hot and cold and there was some pink mold on the bathroom tiles.The main problem was the REALLY SLOW INTERNET service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenWestChisRooms, General Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your experience at Kensington West.
Our hotel is situated in an area blessed with a large number of local restaurants, bars, cafes, supermarkets, local stores, and great transport links. Using London Underground, most major tourist attractions are within a 10-20 minute journey.

We provide free wireless service to our guests; it is a limited speed voucher, which is sufficient to check emails and browse the Internet. However if guests want to watch videos and download large files we give all our guests the option to purchase a faster speed Internet voucher from the reception, which has a speed of 1 MB/sec.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best wishes from the Kensington West team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Both me and my son stay here every year for a few days, I would recommend this Hotel to anybody.

Very clean, friendly staff,and a Brilliant position for local amenities, not far from Holland Park, take a walk through the park and you are in Notting Hill.

Local Tube station Kensington West just down the road.

Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lavinia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience and recommending us highly,

We at the Kensington West are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the location, service and accommodation at our hotel.

Your kind words are positively energizing and motivating and make us strive for the best. We would love to welcome you again.

Best wishes from all of us at the Kensington West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#790 of 1,073 in London
653 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#474 of 1,073 in London
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 65
#755 of 1,073 in London
569 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#727 of 1,073 in London
428 reviews
Caring Hotel
#535 of 1,073 in London
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington West Hotel

Address: 25-27 Matheson Road, London W14 8SN, England (Formerly Aston Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #747 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Price Range: £46 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kensington West Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kensington West is situated in the heart of stylish London, Kensington. Just a 3 minute walk from Olympia exhibition centre & within easy reach to Kensington High Street, boasting many restaurants, bars, shops & a cinema. Kensington West offers good-value en-suite bedrooms, all of which have free WI-FI, flat screen LCD TVs, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, ample power outlets and in-room tea & coffee facilities. We also offer a lift to all floors and a friendly 24-hour reception service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kensington West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kensington West
Kensington West London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing