We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would never return” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kensington West Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kensington West Hotel
Ranked #730 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would never return”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The room had no floor between the beds the room was so boiling the window didn't open properly only had 1 small fan for a room of 5 people 1 of us ended up in hospital with heat exhaustion as was constantly sick barely slept at lady there just have me a dirty look when I complained and just sort of shrugged me off

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy-lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay

We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at the Kensington West.

London weather is such that it is only hot for a few weeks a year thus unfortunately we do not have AC in our rooms and thus this is not advertised. I am happy to hear that you requested a fan and this was provided for you.


We sincerely apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us

Warm Regards from the Kensington West team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    133
    131
    53
    63
See reviews for
123
97
31
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here for one night while attending Imbibe at the Olympia. The room was clean with a nice little bathroom. Location-wise it was great...walking distance to the Olympia and some good places to eat nearby.
Other reviewers are right though...there is no breakfast (it says b&b?) and the rooms are very warm. The window was open as far as it would go but it was so stuffy. Also, the wifi code was only valid for a single device. I've never encountered this before.
Fine for somewhere to rest your head. The three stars are mostly for location.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Koffee741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review,

We are glad to hear that your room was cleaned to your satisfaction. We have a very enthusiastic housekeeping department that take price in ensuring all our guests rooms are cleaned to our company standards.

Our premier continental breakfast packs have now been discontinued due to a lack of demand. The outcomes of the survey we carried out suggested that guests prefer to choose where to have their hearty breakfast and as we have many cafes, restaurants, pubs and bars walking distance from us we allow our guests to choose where to dine. Information is available at reception.

London weather is such that it is only hot for a few weeks a year thus unfortunately we do not have AC in our rooms however if requested we do keep some fans to lend to our guests on those hot days.

We hope to welcome you again to the Kensington West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We didn't get any sleep at all !! Doors banging, People arguing & shouting. The people above our room had a shower about midnight and it sounded like rain on a plastic roof !!

The TV remote wouldn't work.
The kettle wouldn't fit under the tap, in the Very small bathroom sink. ( No cup of tea.)
The room was so small for 2 people.
We booked 2 nights, but left after the first night..
Bed & breakfast...Well there isn't any breakfast

Room Tip: My tip is forget this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June_868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank You for taking the time to write a review about your stay

We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at the Kensington West

We apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us and hope we can offer you a better service on your next visit

Warm Regards from the Kensington West team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

wiltshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

we stayed here for one night and it was all it said, clean comfortable, friendly helpful staff at reception, convenient to what we wanted, great check in and out times and v.accomodating with leaving luggage etc. my word of warning is - Don't have room 1. its on the ground floor - at the front and right and I mean 2 feet away from the outside smoking area - if you had the window open - and it was 24 degrees believe it or not , that day, it was sooo noisy and smoky and there was a group there until the small hours and back again early in the morning - so not a lot of sllep had - we tried shutting the windows but it was too hot - quite annoying, maybe we should have asked if there was another room, but by the time you've unpacked and settled in etc - its 2 am and you're only staying one night , it didn't feel worth it. anyway - otherwise a really good place and v. good value - well would've been if we'd got any sleep! I would go there again and just know not to have room1.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vickytory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review,

We are pleased to hear that your room was clean and comfortable. We take pride in ensuring all our guest have a comfortable base to stay while they are away from their homes.

Our check in time is anytime after 2.30pm, if our guests arrive earlier and your room is ready we will happily check you in early. If your room is not ready when you arrive we welcome you to leave your luggage till our check in time of 2.30pm or later if you wish to spend the day out. Our check out time is before 11.30am.

Sorry for the inconvenience caused by the smokers in our smoking area outside. We will endeavor to request our guests to keep noise levels down.

We hope to welcome you back to the Kensington West

Please request a room on the 1st, 2nd or 3rd floor for your next visit

Warm Regards from the team at the Kensington West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
180 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is messy. Free wifi disaster. Hotel lift very scary and the rooms have no AC and become very hot. Would only book again if I have to but prefer to spend 20 euro a night more. That is way worth it

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Didier H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for choosing Kensington West as whilst staying in London.

I am sorry to read that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction. Please accept our apologies for the disappointment you experienced.

We take pride in providing our guests a clean base to stay while in London, majority of the reviews our guests write emphasize that our rooms are clean;

We provide free wireless service to our guests; it is a limited speed voucher, which is sufficient to check emails and browse the Internet. However if guests want to watch videos and download large files we give all our guests the option to purchase a faster speed Internet voucher, which has a speed of 1 MB/sec.

Unfortunately we do not have AC in our rooms and thus this is not advertised.

Our pricing is comparable to similar properties in our area, and we feel we give good and fair value for the price.

Wish you a fabulous Year ahead!

Warm Regards from all of us at Kensington West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the 5 person rooms, which is perfect if you are all 4 feet tall and weigh 32 pounds. Very, very crowded. No AC, and just one window. The sign outside says "Bed and Breakfast" which was strange since there was no breakfast. However, if you're just looking for a place to stay overnight while you explore London during the day, it gets the job done. We had the time of our lives living in such close quarters, and I would go back in a heartbeat. West Kensington doesn't look the best, but it's a very friendly place.

Helpful?
Thank gmccullough
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us.

We are very delighted to know that your overall experience at Kensington West was good and you found our team friendly.

Unfortunately we do not have AC in our rooms and thus this is not advertised.

Our premier continental breakfast packs have now been discontinued due to a lack of demand. The outcomes of the survey we carried out suggested that guests prefer to choose where to have their hearty breakfast and as we have many cafes, restaurants, pubs and bars walking distance from us we allow our guests to choose where to dine. Information is available at reception.

All our rooms are sold as room only and we do not advertise ths and all of our rooms are sold as room only and thus breakfast is not inclusive in any of our room rates. We do not have a dining space or restaurant in the hotel due to space constraint.

We hope to welcome you again to the Kensington West

Warm greetings from Kensington West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here on our first trip to London - 5 nights. Overall, it was a fine experience. We booked through Expedia & with the flight, the price was exactly what we were looking for.

Positives - very clean & everything you need is provided (blow dryer!, coffee/tea pot, free wifi). Responsive staff. Excellent location - close to 2 different tube stops & an easy walk to Kensington Gardens.

Negatives - If you are an American & used to being able to do more than turn around in your room, these rooms will disappoint you. They are the definition of tiny. The bathroom is even smaller (if that's possible) & with 2 people in the room (we had a queen room) one of us literally had to leave so the other can dress in the morning. However, all of this we just chucked up to good location in London/affordable. It is INCREDIBLY noisy. We were on the 1st floor (2nd floor for Americans) & with windows open, our room was smoke filled (from smokers downstairs) & we could hear every word of every conversation. If you're a light sleeper - good luck. However, the worst thing about the room was the heater - it wouldn't turn off. Shockingly we had a few REALLY warm days (80 degrees) & the room was unbearably hot. The windows do not open more than a small crack. We complained & asked for a different room - they could not provide us with one (none available). To their credit, the staff did try to help - they provided a fan & in the end, unlocked the windows so they could open more. With the windows actually opened, it was fine (since the night tends to be cool).

Good hotel at an affordable price. Hoping that soon enough the $ vs pound situation will get a little better & we can afford a nicer hotel, but for people trying to save money (but stay in a clean, safe hotel), would absolutely recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thanks for taking time out to review us. We are pleased to know that you found our hotel clean and staff responsive. We sincerely apologize for your disappointment with the noise factor. We take utmost care to make sure all our guests are kept happy. Our team are trained to tackle such situations beyond our control.

Our aim is to provide a comfortable stay and amenities to all guests when they are miles away from their homes.

I am glad to hear that we met your expectations and that our staff acted upon your complaint. We have a team of young enthusiastic personnel who try to go out of their way to make all our guest’s stay a comfortable one.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hotel 65
#783 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#749 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Boka Hotel
Boka Hotel
#721 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Venture Hostels
#674 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#455 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington West Hotel

Property: Kensington West Hotel
Address: 25-27 Matheson Road, London W14 8SN, England (Formerly Aston Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #730 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kensington West Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kensington West is situated in the heart of stylish London, Kensington. Just a 3 minute walk from Olympia exhibition centre & within easy reach to Kensington High Street, boasting many restaurants, bars, shops & a cinema. Kensington West offers good-value en-suite bedrooms, all of which have free WI-FI, flat screen LCD TVs, hair dryer, complimentary toiletries, ample power outlets and in-room tea & coffee facilities. We also offer a lift to all floors and a friendly 24-hour reception service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotelopia so you can book your Kensington West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kensington West
Kensington West London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing