We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rooms let this place down”
Review of Kensington Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kensington Rooms
Ranked #1,000 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The rooms let this place down”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I left my colleague to book us into this hotel, and upon hearing he had spent £135 I thought it was a good deal... until I realised it was £135 per night. On first impression the exterior and the reception look well kept and modern, that all changes as soon as you get to your room. The bathroom was fitted to a very poor standard, the bathroom was tiny and the painted in window full of mildew. There were a couple of hairs in the shower cubible and the sink wasn't cleaned behind the taps. In the bedroom it was basic, which is fine, but it looked like the housekeeping had been neglected. The first thing I noticed was that the curtain wasn't attached to all its hooks on one side, and there were stains on the walls and carpets. In the corner of the room was the smallest CRT television I had seen since my parents bought me my first set in the 80s. One of the wardrobe doors wouldn't open because it banged into the 'door closer' mechanism on the room door. For the price we paid I wasn't very pleased.

The only thing positive thing about my stay was the breakfast. It was a little slow but they cook everything fresh for you, and you can have your eggs any way you want, and they were perfectly cooked. There is also cereal, yoghurt, juice, toast, tea and coffee and everything else you would expect, so I couldn't complain there. Also they have a 24hr reception so the front door is always open and you can leave your room key with them in case you are worried about losing it whilst you are out. There are also communal irons and boards on the landings which I found useful.

Overall for the money, I would not stay here again as I know you can get a lot better for the money (and less) in this area. If the rooms had been maintained and cleaned properly I would give this place a 3. Shame really, but it wouldn't take a lot to improve the standard.

If anyone is thinking of booking here, I would check out the Wigmore down the road on Gloucester Place. You pay a lot less for a much bigger and cleaner (if a little more floral) room.

Room Tip: Book at the Wigmore down the road, the rooms are a little chintzier but you can pay a lot less for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    91
    150
    138
    269
See reviews for
124
213
46
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cork, ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

This is my second time staying in Kensington Rooms. The first time I was happy with the hotel. This time however i was very impressed. The room was much bigger than the one from a few years ago. There were three of us sharing and it was very big and spacious. The room was very clean and bright with a large bathroom. They also supplied us with soaps, a safe, bottled water and a fridge. The main reason I returned to Kensington rooms is the location is excellent and very near the subway. Also Harrods and Knightsbridge is only a couple of stops on the tube. The only downside is that you can hear the street noise quite clearly in the rooms. And on a Saturday night it is loud with taxis, traffic and bars. However I got used of it and the second night it didn't bother me at all. If you are someone who is a light sleeper this hotel might be a problem bacause on both occasions, I have noticed that its a bit loud. Overall I will stay here again but I will definitely book a bigger room again next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlestar_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The worst hotel experience of our whole trip ! To get to our room we had to get through so many fire doors with baggage a challenge to say the least. Once in our room the bathroom was tiny with no ventilation and a shower that was impossible to move in once inside. Broken blinds, the window wouldn't lock, no fridge & a coat cupboard that was described as a wardrobe. Flaking paint, bodgy plumbing and uneven floors. We discovered this hotel in a brochure, and wonder what the criteria is for hotels to be sold by travel agents. Stay away !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan32_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I stayed here for one night in a double room on a business trip to London. The location is ideal, as it is close to the museums, Royal Albert Hall and Hyde Park, but at over £130 per night it was not really good value for money. None of the horror stories of other reviewers, but the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor as the shower screen on the bath wasn't deep enough, and I was walking around in half an inch of water until my departure! Also the only lighting was 2 bedside lamps, and one didn't work, so the room was very dark. That said, the towels were better than some hotels, and the duvet and pillows were fine. I had some difficulty finding the room, as they are not signed up all that well. I had to carry my suitcase up a flight of stairs, as the lift stopped on a mezzanine floor. The room was located just in the side street, but very noisy - the secondary glazing made no difference at all. I did manage some sleep with earplugs. Continental breakfast was OK. I was very late arriving and left fairly early, so it was adequate, but I would not like to spend more than one night there.

Room Tip: I think the double rooms may be more spacious. Someone I work with has stayed a couple of times and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

In principle, a £120 a night hotel near Earls Court should be a safe bet.

But call me old fashioned, but finding body hair in the fresh bed should not be on the menu nor should a shower spurt a leak higher that the shower cubicle and out on the floor.

Poor.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

For £120 for the night, this was not a good choice. Reception staff could hardly raise a smile when checking in. We called our room 'the cupboard at the end of the corrridor'! Bathroom was the smallest ever, dated and in need of a revamp. Traffic noise....yes but that's the norm for a city hotel, double glazing would help. We paid £5 for continental breakfast and were pleasantly surprised by what was on offer. We'd certainly have paid more at one of the local cafes. On the positive side, the hotel is in a good location, near to tube station, museums, lovely cafes and bars. Would recommend Muriel's Kitchen at South Kensington.

Room Tip: Do not go for a budget room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2012

You are greeted by a door that cannot open more than 30%, because there is simply no room. The bed is in the way. If you manage to get into the room, there is no room for your suitcase. If you put it on the floor the bathroom door will not open, no room. Baggage had to be put on the nighttable after removing phone and papers. When lying in bed, you can reach all four walls simultaneously by stretching out your arms and legs. The bathroom is even smaller. The sink is placed halfway over the toilet, and if you manage to sit down you will have to turn your legs sideways and lean backwards at the same time not to bump into the sink. For the males standing up, there is not enough room in front of toilet to stand (between sink and opposite wall) so have to stand at about 45 degree angle. There is no room in the bathroom to use the sink, have to stand out in the room and lean in. Shower is tiny tiny, about 2x2 feet. Because of the small room and entrance, it doesn't appear as if the maid has been able to get a vacuum cleaner into the room. Cromwell Road makes a LOT of noise and windows are old and does not insulate sound. Had a room in a side street, but still woke up about 4-4.30 due to noise. Cannot imagine how it would be if room was located towards the road. Although the 14 inch TV of a very cheap brand and from the eighties might soon be considered antique, the general standard was clearly not top modern. Please stay away.

Room Tip: Stay away. If you want to book anyway, get a room far away from Cromwell Road and make sure not to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Business T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Ashburn Court Apartments
Ashburn Court Apartments
#670 of 1,069 in London
37 reviews
South Kensington
Avni Kensington Hotel
Avni Kensington Hotel
#726 of 1,069 in London
1,053 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#344 of 1,069 in London
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#725 of 1,069 in London
455 reviews
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#661 of 1,069 in London
830 reviews
Notting Hill
The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Rooms

Property: Kensington Rooms
Address: 131-137 Cromwell Road | Courtfield Gardens, London SW7 4DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,000 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kensington Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautifully restored Victorian town houses, combines contemporary decor with original period features; Kensington District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kensington Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Rooms Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing