We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG”
Review of K Hotel Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
K Hotel Kensington
Ranked #1,005 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 8 August 2013

If only i too had read the reviews here first. Bed size was fine for me n my daughter (12) to share but no curtains at window and broken blinds along with a barely clean bathroom. Thank god it was only one night. Can't fault location tho

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melly667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed for one night only at this hotel. The location was good, the room adequate but there was very little else to recommend about the Kensington Rooms Hotel. The pictures shown on their web page were misleading -there was no bar and breakfast was served in a very uninviting room without any assistance from hotel staff. Stayed at a Plaza Hotel the next night and found it to be a very enjoyable experience - helpful staff, well decorated room, a restaurant and bar for a much more favourable rate.
Ellie Carmarthen

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Eleri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I made the mistake of booking this Hotel before reading reviews. The accommodations were meager at best. The shower was in disrepair. The staff was Rude, Incompetent and Uncaring. I checked out of this hotel early and the Desk clerk didn't even know how to close my bill. I moved my family down the street to the Crowne Plaza and just took the loss, BUT it was WORTH every penny I spent just to get out of this miserable place.

I would NOT stay in this place EVER!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Service is non-existent
Value - for 200 euros a night - none at all
Sleep Quality - disturbed by a mouse going through our bags
Cleanliness - they do clean, but its actually filthy due to old age
Location - the ONLY thing consistent with their description of their hotel


1. The bar is effectively closed, although still advertised in your hotel description
2. Although there are various brochures at the table next to the reception desk, including bus tours and theatre listings, the reception does not sell or book those. When asked, they declined to book or reserve, sell, or otherwise provide them.

3. The mouse’s “house” is directly under the table (which is under the tv) in the corner of the room. Did I see the mouse? No. Did I get awoken several times in the night, because unbeknownst to me, a mouse was eating through chips and the remainder of a baguette bought from Sainsbury’s? Yes. Did I wake up to crumbs all over the floor where the plastic bags were? Yes. Did all the plastic bags have holes in them due to the mouse eating through them? Yes. Maybe I am wrong, and it is not a mouse. Maybe it is a rat. Luckily, I am not phobic, and have enough common sense to know that if a mouse is in one room of a building, the whole building is infested with mice. I will report the problem to the Labor Board and the OSHA, since the hotel is threatening the public health.

4. Heavy fire doors in what effectively is a maze of a corridor. Maybe your corridors can double as a playground for the mouse.

5. The stench in the hotel corridors is due to the ancient wall to wall carpeting, fire doors (i.e. lack of fresh air circulation). It is utterly rancid, although I concede, those who work in the hotel are probably used to it by now.

6. As for your not having a portier service, common courtesy would hold when you see a woman with 2 children and 3 suitcases, you offer help. Particularly in the hospitality industry. Kensington Rooms of course is not in that business.

7. Regarding the “breakfast buffet”, in terms of post-war England, it can be considered a good buffet breakfast.

8. No minibar in the room. Again, at 200 euros a night.

9. Beware: Once breakfast ends, you can not even buy a bottle of water there.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Small rooms. Even smaller bathroom. Hideously hot room. Neighbours rooftop garden about 2 foot from our window. Woken up by them fitting decking. Woken at 2:45 by what sounded like someone watching very loud porn. Location is excellent though. Very convenient for the city.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

What you pay for here is the ease of access to London. I had a very small single room with a tiny bathroom but the staff were helpful and it was clean. I was on my own and if you are a couple with similar cramped quarters you might be better to see if you can pay for an upgrade. Breakfast was included but I would go along to the Garfunkels just down the road or one of the little cafes as I wanted specific things. The tube station is just down the street and my Oyster card meant easy travel all around the areas I wanted to see. If you have physical problems check where your room is as ther were still steps for me to take my case up after I got out of the lift.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HPincho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

When I had to make a urgent business trip, this was the only nearest available place. I was very worried when I read the reviews. And, went prepared to face whatever it was.

The room is really small for the price (too small).
It was clean
Bathroom's shower area was small

Overall, if you are staying for a day or two with not more than one suitcase then you will be fine.

Natural history museum is just a few minutes away. The nearest tube is Gloucester Road, again a few minutes walk. There is a Waitrose nearby. Many places to eat. Harrods is 15 minutes away by walk.

Room Tip: Ask for one that does not face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sri8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#337 of 1,081 in London
2,295 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
The Rembrandt
The Rembrandt
#227 of 1,081 in London
2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#60 of 1,081 in London
3,896 reviews
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K Hotel Kensington

Address: 131-137 Cromwell Road | Courtfield Gardens, London SW74DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,005 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £71 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — K Hotel Kensington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautifully restored Victorian town houses, combines contemporary decor with original period features; Kensington District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your K Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Rooms Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing