We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended”
Review of Kensington Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kensington Rooms
Ranked #1,000 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We arrived early to check in and the staff at the front desk was great about allowing us to check in early. However, we got to our room expecting to see a match to the picture and description of a standard double as shown on their website. What we got was a room matching the picture and description of a single - the bed was pushed against the wall allowing access for only one. We returned to the front desk and she seemed confused but allowed us to take a look at what she called a deluxe double. That room matched the picture and description of a standard double. We switched over without too much additional hassle. Still no air conditioning in this room and our room backed up to an alley so on a weekend night we had constant noise from outside through the open window. Alternative location of room would've been street-side with traffic noise. TV did not work. Several apparent leaks in the bathroom. After being in London and staying at this hotel for a couple of days, we were going through our receipts and realized that the receptionists charged us in USD rather than GBP which led to a much higher exchange rate. The receipt said the customer was given the choice and had chosen USD and the choice could not be reverted. This was not true. We went in the evening to talk to reception and the current agent couldn't do anything but said the manager would be in in the morning. We went the next morning and she wasn't there and wouldn't be prior to our checkout the next day. We left the information with staff to pass along for the refund. We have since continued on the rest of our 2 week vacation and returned back home and been home for an entire weekend and nothing's been done.

Room Tip: "Splurge" on the standard double or more deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    91
    149
    138
    269
See reviews for
123
213
46
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Traveling with family of 4, booked two rooms. Very tiny with minimal walking space around the bed(s), but that was expected. What wasn't expected was no air conditioning. Kids' room had a window, which helped at night; parents' room was interior with no window at all -- they provided a fan but that wasn't great. Parents' room shower would collect water very fast -- had to turn off water after shampooing to let it go down before applying conditioner and washing body. Light bulb missing from a lamp. TV didn't work at all in parents' room; kids' room TV had broken screen so right hand side of TV showed stripes rather than TV show. TV not essential because we tried to avoid being in the rooms, but it would have been nice to watch a bit of news. Complaints led to absolutely no action despite saying they would fix things.

Having said the above, location of the hotel was really convenient to tube, equidistant to Gloucester Road and Earl's Court stops with about 5 mins walk to each meant easy traveling to everything we needed to do. Neighborhood was very nice with nearby supermarket with prepared foods and restaurants. People at reception were very nice but ultimately not helpful in getting things done. Upon checkout I complained to the manager and requested a refund of some of the hotel charges due to the issues. The manager said she would evaluate the situation and get back to me. It's been 5 days and I haven't heard anything -- not even a response to say she can't do anything.

Given that London hotels are so expensive and I've heard that rooms are typically quite small, I would say that Kensington Rooms overall was poor but don't know how it compares for the money to other cheaper places that are located well. I can say that it was not an enjoyable place to be.

Room Tip: I don't think there are good rooms. But, maybe ask for a room with a window. (Odd, I know, as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

First off the rooms's tiny and the bathroom even tinier. The Windows seemed to be closed but from the noise we heard, they weren't closed a 100%! The mattress is not comfortable at all, furthermore not all the lights in the room were working. My friend and I managed to ignore most of it but after we came home at 4 am in the morning (supposed to be 24h reception!!! Also twice told by staff there!!) we ringed the belled and knocked on the door for over 10 minutes!!!! After the old receptionist finally opened the door he was rude, told us we were stupid because we rang more than once, but after we ranged 1-3 times and no one came we rang continually. The guy didn't apologize at all and continued being rude. If we wouldn't have already paid the whole stay we would have moved hotels as this is no pleasure at all.

Please don't book this hotel if you want an ok size of room, nice staff and a very clean room, if you're ok with staff being rude, the room tiny and not totally clean you probably will enjoy the stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daisy_Lou144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped here on business and was a little worried as I booked the hotel before reading any reviews. But on arrival I was pleasantly surprised. The room was a little small but that was not an issue and it was very clean. It was a little noisy at night due to the main road but that was not an issue. In all it was a good hotel. The breakfast is not included in the room price and it probably the most disappointing thing. The selection of the continental breakfast was a little minimal, But like I mentioned earlier you get what you pay for and the hotel is okay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Min1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was a truly awful experience, and I say that as someone who travels to, and stays in, London many times each year. I had to wait over an hour to check in at the hotel, despite having a verified booking. The desk staff seemed to have no idea how to locate bookings, how to prioritise their work, or about the need to apologise for keeping around 15 people waiting for a very considerable time. Indeed, they acted though it was normal rather than the exception. I only got a room key by buttonholing the (then helpful) operations manager, who seemed to be heading off duty, and trailing after her to the hotels offices where she verified my booking. Sadly, many customers were still waiting when I later went out for the evening. My room was OK, apart from having no air conditioning (it was a hot summer’s day), ineffective venetian blinds (so it was bright before 5am), and a window that wouldn’t close and meant that there was a lot of very loud traffic noice. This was all polished off by a very poor breakfast. Give this hotel a miss unless you have no alternative.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back - if you absolutely have to use this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJWebb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Robert Keczeli

They wanted to force us to accept a significantly lower category room than booked, confirmed and – in an unusual way – pre-paid at check-in.

The settlement of the problem, to put it mildly, was not so easy and took more than one day. A very unfriendly, negative behavior male receptionoist, firstly taking us idiot, gave a same category room. After refusing it his behavior became even more negative. Violently he tried to make us beleive that the room category is absolutely complying with our booking. It obviously was a lie. Finally after some fight he struck a key onto the table. Although this room has been accepted it did not match perfectly as described.

Summing up the majority of the things – smelly corridors, worn dirty carpets, lower than medium quality rooms, but above all the guest management – were miles away from what was advertised on the hotel website.

I would recommend to everyone to avoid this hotel far away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Slow front desk.
Dirty hotel.
Stained carpet and dirty walls led me to my room.
Room:
Carpet dirty not vacuumed.
Bed not made properly with mattress side entirely visible no under sheet!
Bed 2 hairs in it.
Bedhead... ran my fingers across and had a huge clump of dust on them by the time I was halfway across.
Shower filthy tiny hairs on the floor.
Shower head cracked which sprayed over the top of the cubicle!
Shower floor flooded within a minute due to clogged drain.
Sink plug stug in plughole due to lever broken off.
Blinds filthy and dented and bent.
Tv not even hung straight on the wall.
No aircon.
Spoke to front desk about issues they said they would let maintenance know. That was it no sorry no we will move you to a shower that works.... nothing. Hopeless do not waste your money!

Room Tip: Book Elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Ashburn Court Apartments
Ashburn Court Apartments
#670 of 1,069 in London
37 reviews
South Kensington
Avni Kensington Hotel
Avni Kensington Hotel
#726 of 1,069 in London
1,053 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#344 of 1,069 in London
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#725 of 1,069 in London
455 reviews
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#661 of 1,069 in London
829 reviews
Notting Hill
The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Rooms

Property: Kensington Rooms
Address: 131-137 Cromwell Road | Courtfield Gardens, London SW7 4DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,000 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kensington Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautifully restored Victorian town houses, combines contemporary decor with original period features; Kensington District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kensington Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Rooms Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing