We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally, a decent hotel in London”
Review of Ashburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ashburn Hotel
Ranked #168 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Finally, a decent hotel in London”
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Excellent combination of location, service and a hotel room that actually made me feel at home, rather than the sense of being slightly cheated! In a city which consistently underwhelms and overcharges travellers in terms of hotels, this one stands out.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brusselstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    356
    86
    25
    12
See reviews for
125
551
51
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leicester,england
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2011

arrived at the ashburn which I had selected as being close to underground as travelling with elderly mother. on arrival was told that the hotel had overbooked and we were booked in to their sister hotel The Park City, another good few minutes walk away. This was lovely, we were made most welcome, and treated to a breakfast which we were not expecting. If the service we recieved at the Park City was equal to the Ashburn then I would heatedly recommend both these hotels to anyone wanting a wonderful stay in London.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank oliveandatwist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Stayed for 2 nights end of february for our 10th wedding anniversary. Our room was upgraded to deluxe and had a lovely room on the 5th floor, clean, spacious and well furnished.
Had breakfast in bed and paper was left outside our door every morning. Ideal location, literally a couple of minutes from Gloucester Rd tube station. Plenty of cafes and shops nearby and lovely stroll to the Natural History Museum. Will be returning on our next visit to London.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spinmerightround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

I chose this hotel for a Valentine's day overnight stay with my girlfriend. It is in a very handy location for getting the tube into and back from theatreland. I can highly recommend the Olives bar and restaurant close to Gloucester Road tube station. We had a friendly welcome with helpful staff. Room on 5th floor was spacious and comfortable. A complimentary glass of champagne was really nice to have before heading off to the theatre. The only thing that spoilt our stay was the temperature of the water when trying to have a bath. We had to top up the warm water several times by boiling a kettle and adding boiling water to the bath. Also water pressure was nowhere near as strong as it should have been. Whether these problems were because we were on the 5th floor, I am not sure. The bed was very comfortable. Good to have a free paper in the morning. We would happily stay here again.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank crystball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

The hotel is very close to the Tube station and a short walk to the National History Museum. It was quite clean and authentic. The room was not big, but sufficient. The furniture in the room was very nice. It was quiet, except for some humming from the A/C.
The buffet breakfast is included with sufficient alternatives. And the service personnel was friendly.
There was only water in the "mini bar".

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selva18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

After looking for a "cheaper" hotel for London for the night, we had a choice of two. The Ashburn was chosen despite being more expensive due to its location.

The hotel is literally 2-3 minutes walk from Gloucester Road tube which is only a 5 minutes tube ride to Victoria or Piccadilly. Its at the opposite end of Cromwell Road to the Musuems (10 min walk).

First impression were great due to a good meet and greet at reception. Very courteous staff and a prompt and efficient check in (and early to boot!).
Room is not the largest but is comfortable enough. Beds are nice and comfy and the rooms were surprisingly quiet.
Plumbing was a bit of an issue-bath/sink took forever and a day to drain and when using the toilet, it sounded like the Titanic was docking.
The smaller touches of bathrobe/slippers although nice weren't necessary.

Would happily stay again at the rate we paid (£105 inc breakfast).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowhiisaChinaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Nice and clean hotel located nearby the tube (4 min walk). We didn't hear any noise from other guests or the traffic, only a little humming from the air-conditioner. You are really welcome here.

The breakfast-room is small, only room for 25 persons (and 37 rooms), but we didn't have to wait once.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#144 of 1,068 in London
631 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,068 in London
3,697 reviews
South Kensington
The Rembrandt
The Rembrandt
#223 of 1,068 in London
2,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburn Hotel

Property: Ashburn Hotel
Address: 111 Cromwell Road, London SW7 4DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#133 Luxury Hotel in London
#141 Romantic Hotel in London
#252 Business Hotel in London
#255 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashburn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New luxury boutique hotel with 38 rooms located in South Kensington, central London. Offers continental breakfast, welcome drink and glass of champagne in the evening with all rates as well as a different turndown gift on your pillow every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ashburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashburn Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing