We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No room at the Inn!”
Review of Ashburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ashburn Hotel
Ranked #177 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
West yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“No room at the Inn!”
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We are unable to rate this hotel as when we arrived we were told by the girl on reception that they didn't have a room for us due to a flood and that we were to be offered a room of a similar standard at their Sister hotel The Park City. We were ushered into the bar offered a drink and told that a taxi would take us to the alternative hotel. On furthur discussion I got the impression that the flood had not occured that day, so did wonder why we were not contacted prior to us arriving. We were assured that it was also a 4 star hotel and that we would be guaranteed the same standard. The Park City was in fact only 2 streets away. Our room was of an excellent standard with a very comfortable Queen sized bed, a good amount of space and a very pleasent bathroom. It is not possible for me to compare it with The Ashburn as we didn't get to see the bedrooms.
Our main disappointment was that we weren't offered the complimentary Champagne and there were no bathrobes in the room.
Following our experience I would advise that if you have booked to stay at The Ashburn that you phone them before arriving to check that they do in fact have a room for you!

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cazziegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    349
    86
    25
    12
See reviews for
122
543
51
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
204 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Teenage daughter and I stayed here six nights as the reviews for this hotel were quite good on Trip Advisor. Service is ok; rooms are quite small. bathroom also small; nice soaps,shampoos and comp. water bottles very nice. Would like to see the rugs vacuumed and the dust ruffle on bed clean however. Air conditioner a self standing device that needed the hose to be directed out of the window thereby having the window opened a good ten inches which I was unaware of until third night here- made me a bit wary for intruders and bugs,mice, etc for that matter. Front desk assistance ok not very outgoing. Conceirge very helpful and eager to make any./all plans and reservations. Kitchen does not have much to offer besides pizza -like items. will try to provide what they can but very limited options.
bathrooms are a bit wierd. there is a shower heasd added to a bath but water does flood the floor as there is not much of a wall.
Biggest disappointment is the poor condition of the rugs which all could use a good vacuum/steamer or replacement and dirty dust ruffle on bed. makes you wonder why something so simple is not done. breakfast is nice- yogurt,toast, fruit,bread- but after four days becomes boring. would limit stay here to four nights max.

Room Tip: ask for upgrade as smallest rooms are unbearable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Very well equipped smallish hotel in ideal location - very convenient for Albert Hall, Hyde Park, Knightsbridge etc. Rooms very well furnished, and nice touches like complmentary bottled water and glass of champagne. Very firendly staff; good breakfast too. Excellent place to stay in the capital

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank MishaSamoyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

this is the first time i ever have to disagree with the tripadvisor reviews, and usually do not have to say bad things about a place because the reviews are always so helpful. having said that, we did not have a good experience here and feel that it was not worth the money. i realize london is expensive, but i think one could do better. note that i am giving the hotel 3 out 5 , so i do not think the place was that terrible, but again we were disappointed. among things, very small room, all plumbing was really bad , they blast music early in the morning at the breakfast room, and the staff just do not seem that eager to help, as if you are bothering when asking a simple request. finally, though the hotel is near a great neighborhood and close to the underground, it is on a main busy street accross from this horrendously huge holiday inn that is such an eyesore to the view

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We had three rooms at the Ashburn (2 adults, 4 kids from 8-17 years old). The rooms were very nice and the location was simply perfect. A 3 minute walk to Gloucester tube station which has 3 lines running through so a direct shot to just about everything in London. 2 grocery stores and many museums and restaurants and pubs within 2-5 minute walk. Front desk service efficient if not overly warm but concierges were very helpful. I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter Devon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

I stayed here for one night on business and it made a lovely change from the big chains, great service, a gorgeous room with lovely bedding & toiletries and even a complimentary glass of bubbly in the charming bar. I will definitely stay here again, although the only thing you might want to consider is that the food selection is limited. COntiniental breakfast was great though.
perfect for me, and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciarasmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
423 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Three couples needed somewhere to stay in London when we visited for a trip to the Royal Albert Hall. We booked the Ashburn and although other reviews were complimentary, I was a little worried about traffic noise. No need - we all had a good, comfortable night and would be happy to return.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindagreenacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#137 of 1,067 in London
606 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#309 of 1,067 in London
511 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,067 in London
3,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburn Hotel

Property: Ashburn Hotel
Address: 111 Cromwell Road, London SW7 4DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#140 Luxury Hotel in London
#141 Romantic Hotel in London
#252 Business Hotel in London
#255 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashburn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New luxury boutique hotel with 38 rooms located in South Kensington, central London. Offers continental breakfast, welcome drink and glass of champagne in the evening with all rates as well as a different turndown gift on your pillow every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ashburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashburn Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing