We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location but the hotel was a bit anonymous and forgettable”
Review of Ashburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashburn Hotel
Ranked #184 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The location of the hotel on Cromwell Road is very convenient and, having a ground floor room, I expected it to be noisy. In point of fact, was hardly aware of any traffic noise.

The room was comfortable although a little darkly lit and the bathroom was adequate but the shower controls were bizarre and difficult to regulate.

My abiding memory of the hotel is that it was a bit bland and lacking atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank HarshButFair51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

509 - 515 of 988 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed for a week at the Ashburn after it was recommended by family members who had stayed there. We reserved two rooms and had such a lovely time. The hotel is closely situated to a tube stop, and from there we were able to travel effortlessly throughout London. The Kensington area is awesome, with many great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. When we ate locally, we would enjoy an after dinner stroll around the Kensington Palace Gardens. Everyone working at the hotel was friendly, from the wonderful concierge Steve who helped us greatly with our planning, to the housekeepers and breakfast room staff. The buffet breakfast was great, with french pressed coffee every morning. In the evening, there is a complimentary glass of champagne to enjoy. Our rooms where nicely sized, clean and extremely quiet. The bathrooms are good sized by European standards, and the towels, bath products and robes were nice. It really was the staff that made this experience so great. They took care of our every need and made us feel truly like we were on vacation!

Room Tip: I would try and get a room on one of the upper floors for best light and quiet. Also, make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We had a charming room on the 4th floor with a bay window that looked toward Buckingham Palace. We were there over the Diamond Jubilee weekend and we could see the fireworks after the concert at the Palace from our room. The breakfast every morning in the basement breakfast room was well done and the service was delightful. The concierge at the hotel was super helpful with directions, car service and suggestions for activities. We loved the area and walked to both the Victoria and Albert Museum and Harrods. Also easy access to the tube station about two blocks away.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LFLovetoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Booked best room £212, air con did not work,milk in room off.Took 4 calls before man arrived, could not fix it.Reluctantly they moved us to an inferior room, charged full rent £192, then endlessly mentioned that we had got a discount of £20.Shower etc attachments need a rocket scientist to work them(staffs own words)
Eventually got to see manager but had to go looking for him, he repeated that we had got £20 discount
how annoying.He eventually agreed to upgrade breakfast for us.
Final straw was on going to bed at 11.30 pm some of the curtains would not close.
Never again would i stay there.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank EnglandGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed for a week. Great area in London and great location of the Hotel. 1 block from Gloucester Rd tube. Attached to tube station was a small arcade with restaurants and a great market for water, snacks, cheese and wine. The hotel staff was excellent. Steve the concierge was great. Always friendly and very helpful. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was large by European standards. The breakfast was good and the staff was so friendly. After the 1st day the waitress in the breakfast area would bring our coffees and milk just as we liked it. A small amenity but it does make you feel special. I will definitely stay at the Ashburn again and recommend to anyone looking for a small well located hotel in London.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NashvilleCat55055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We were here for a week. Wonderful hotel with a few problems but remedied quickly and pleasantly. There was leakage around the air conditioner but fixed in less than half an hour. It is an older building with all the carm that goes with that. About a block from the Glouster Rd tube. Would come back again. Fairly priced. The rooms ending with 07 are front corner slightly larged rooms..worth requesting.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank CTNYC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Asburn hotel is situated in an attractive stucco building, turn of century, perfectly located to walk to Fulham and to Knightsbridge, on Cromwell road, yet well insulated, with most comfortable beds, we slept divinely.
The decor was sobre, attractive and very recently renovated, the staff helpful, the breakfast buffet copious, all in all a most pleasant two nights

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors, the fifth is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#108 of 1,077 in London
757 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#141 of 1,077 in London
805 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#66 of 1,077 in London
3,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburn Hotel

Address: 111 Cromwell Road, London SW7 4DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#141 Romantic Hotel in London
#144 Luxury Hotel in London
#252 Business Hotel in London
#255 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £122 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashburn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New luxury boutique hotel with 38 rooms located in South Kensington, central London. Offers continental breakfast, welcome drink and glass of champagne in the evening with all rates as well as a different turndown gift on your pillow every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ashburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashburn Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing