We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't use Gala Hotels.com”
Review of Ashburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ashburn Hotel
Ranked #167 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't use Gala Hotels.com”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I booked this hotel 6 weeks in advance with gala hotels.com for 2 rooms for 2 nights for 3 people and paid in full. On arrival at the hotel we were told only 1 room had been reserved, they were otherwise fully booked and my son had to find other accommodation elsewhere. The hotel did all they could to help and we couldn't fault them. Gala hotels on the other hand have been less than helpful. After promising the hotel, when thy contacted them and promising ourselves a refund of the paid for, unbooked room we are still waiting. The staff at Gala hotels, on the phone have been curt and unremorseful. All I can say is DO NOT book through this agent if you want any kind of satisfactory service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
14 Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    345
    83
    25
    12
See reviews for
118
535
51
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I booked a double room at this hotel and pre-paid over two months in advance, yet when I arrived I was allocated a twin room. I showed them my booking which clearly stated that I had booked a double, but was told that this was the only room left and in fact this room was an 'upgrade' as it was in the tier above what I had booked.
Personally, I feel paying over £150 to sleep in a single bed a huge rip off! I did try to resolve the situation following my stay and had requested a discount but have since been told by the hotel that as I did not 'refuse' the room (I'm not sure what else I could have done after requesting a double and being told there were no other rooms... Did they expect me to sleep on the street to prove my disappointment?!) and as they had given me an upgrade they would not offer any compensation. Very poor customer service.
With regards to the other aspects of the hotel, the room seemed clean and breakfast was ok. Sadly my main requirement of the hotel was for a good nights sleep before a conference the next day which it did not provide!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The rooms are immaculate and comfortable with a sense of style and the location can't be beat. 1 block from the SKen tube stop and walking distance to the Museum of Natural History, Victoria and Albert Museum, and up the street from Harrods. We will definitely consider this hotel again.

Room Tip: We chose a superior room and really liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The location is very close to Gloucester Road Tube, super markets and pubs. V&A and the museums around is only 10 min. walk away and so is Hyde Park. Nevertheless it is nice and quiet at the hotel.

You feel welcomed and it has a cozy atmosphere ( the free glass of champagne every night helps too). The rooms are nice and clean and the recetionist very helpful.

The breakfast is basic but contains what you need, and the staff is very attentive.

If you compare price, location, atmosphere, service and comfort this is the best place I have stayed in London.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mik1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YORKSHIRE, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in the standard room which was very small and lacked storage space. That said it was clean and nicely furnished although I did notice that the carpet throughout the hotel looked tired and in need of a deep clean. Can't fault the breakfast which was perfectly adequate and served in a nice breakfast room. Although this room was small, we were never unable to find a free table throughout our stay. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Location excellent. The Checkmate Bar just down the road was a great place for a drink and has a daily Happy Hour. The Diner nearby on Cromwell Rd is an excellent place for a bite to eat and its menu is authentic American. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My 10 year old son and I stayed here for 4 days whilst in London for a citybreak last week. It is in a great location just a few minutes from Gloucester Road Tube, the traffic can be noisy as it is a main road but the hotel itself is very nice. It is very clean, has lovely decor and helpful staff. Our room (207) was very spacious and comfortable. As previous reviews have said, the little touches are a treat (decent cups, bottled water, newspaper & turndown gifts). The continental breakfast was plentiful and enjoyable, noticed it gets quite busy around 9.15 am.
I did recieve a complimentary glass of champers the first night, the Receptionist informed me it is not every night as some have stated here? Check in was 3pm also according to the Receptionist whereas on Expedia it said 2pm. This was only a minor irritation and we only had to wait 15 minutes for our room to be ready.
Would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Spent a night here the weekend of the Earth Wind and Fire concert at the Albert Hall on the 18th October 2013.
Small reception but friendly staff.
Room was clean and spacious and very comfortable
Only little thing was the shower door was tricky to open and close but as soon as it was reported the maintenance was contacted.
Room looked over Gloucester Road and it was fun just watching the world go by. Glad the double glazing was good.
Slept wonderfully the whole night and woke up refreshed and ready for a day in Harrods.
Breakfast was simple but just right so all in all,no complaints from me

If you are looking for a haven in the city then look no further

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank daveyj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#130 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#283 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#364 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburn Hotel

Property: Ashburn Hotel
Address: 111 Cromwell Road, London SW7 4DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#132 Luxury Hotel in London
#141 Romantic Hotel in London
#252 Business Hotel in London
#255 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashburn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New luxury boutique hotel with 38 rooms located in South Kensington, central London. Offers continental breakfast, welcome drink and glass of champagne in the evening with all rates as well as a different turndown gift on your pillow every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ashburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashburn Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing