We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Fantastic Location”
Review of Ashburn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ashburn Hotel
Ranked #167 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Ashburn was safe, quiet, clean and right in the heart of Central London. The staff was polite and very helpful. We especially liked that the Ashburn was small and not a chain hotel. It had character and distinction all its own. Very close to good restaurants and the Gloucester tube station. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshburnMgt, General Manager at Ashburn Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent visit to our hotel. I’m so pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and that you found our team welcoming and obliging.

Here at Ashburn we try to create different atmosphere to any other accommodation place to make our guest feel special and distinguished.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon.

Kind Regards
F Tair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    355
    86
    25
    12
See reviews for
125
550
51
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was a great, relatively small hotel in London close to the sub station in a good area. Every day there was a small surprice waiting in our room (candies, bath foam etc).
Service was friendly and we got good tips how to get musical tickets.
This will be definitely a hotel that we can warmly recommend and come back again on our next London visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finn_traveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshburnMgt, Manager at Ashburn Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your positive comments on tripadvisor, i am happy to hear the room was well appointed and comfortable.
Furthermore, i am glad to learn that you liked little gift we leave in the room this is small part of what we can do to enhance our gust stay.

We hope we can welcome you again in the near future

Kind Regards
F Tair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Ashburn is in an excellent location in The South Kensington area of London, not far from The Gloucester Road Tube Station. The rooms are bright, airy, clean and large and the staff is wonderfully helpful. Access and comfort really are critical in London and this place has both.

Breakfast is good but does not include the Full English option. The breakfast staff, especially Jenny, is so welcoming. In fact all of the staff are so helpful.

This is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshburnMgt, Manager at Ashburn Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate that you took the time to post details of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you found the hotel comfortable and that your stay was enjoyable. I will pass on your comments to all concerned.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ashburn Hotel in the near future

Kind Regards
F Tair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Ashburn Hotel has polite and friendly staff who are very helpful. The breakfast that was included in the price of my booking was very nice too. However The Ashburn Hotel had no disabled access which was a shame as I am a walking disabled person and had to call for assistance from the hotel staff to help we up the front steps to the hotel. The location was idea for local shops, theatres, buses etc . The room was adequate but I was disappointed with the size of the room I hoping for it to quite a bit bigger than it was to be honest. The room was of standard cleanliness, but the shower door didn't work properly. The flush on the toilet wasn't very good either. We were not provided with any spare toilet tissue. I expected better from this hotel for the stars that it had and how much it was costing per night to stay there. I know a lot of the cost was due to the area we were staying in, but even so. The equipment that joined the two single beds together was broken and very dangerously lying on the floor, my sister really hurt her foot on it.. There was only whole fat milk, and cream offered for the tea making facilities. There wasn't any semi skimmed or skimmed milk for any guests that required it. The free wifi seemed poor at best to try to pick up. We never received the complimentary Turn Down Service that was advertised or the free gift on our pillow either.

Room Tip: Look around for other hotels in the area that offer a better service than above
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshburnMgt, General Manager at Ashburn Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that your recent experience with us was less than satisfactory, and i would like to apologise for any inconvenient caused.
i can assure you this not our usual standard of service, i have met my team to address these points and working closely with my maintenance team to see how can we improve equipment to have them used easier by our guest.

we are very disappointed that, we didn't meet your needs this time, here we work hard to achieve best customer satisfaction therefore, your comments taken and dealt with seriously.

we hope this is didn't put you off staying with us in the future, we hope we can see you again to reflect the real Ashburn

Kind Regards

F Tair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Ideal base for exploring Kensington area and fantastic price.

We were allocated to a large double room with king size bed and dressing area. The room was spotlessly clean and well decorated.

Service was great as was the free glass of champagne in the bar! The breakfast room was small but works fine and the variety on offer was good.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshburnMgt, General Manager at Ashburn Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comment on Tripadvisor, i am happy to hear that our hotel well located and our glass of champagne we serve every evening is well appointed.
All of our guest appreciate this service and we are all just happy reading this comments.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

F Tair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed in Ashburn for 6 days. The staff is very nice and breakfast is good. The most impressive is the locaton, just 5 mins walk to Gloucester road Station. You approaching many London's travel attractions with the underground. Highly recommend this hotel.
But one thing need to be careful if you request hotel to call a cab for you to Heathrow airport.
Must ask the driver how much you need to pay. Beacue hotel told me it's 45 pound. but the driver ask for 60 pound. After bargain I just paid 50. It's not hotel's fault, but better confirm before get on the taxi.

Room Tip: Suggest to upgrade to superior double room for better space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanleyhung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshburnMgt, General Manager at Ashburn Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Ashburn and i am delighted to hear, that you have enjoyed our breakfast and the area was very Convenient for you during the stay.

I am sorry to hear about the confusion regarding the taxi fare, i have now addressed this with the car company Manager direct and i can assure you it will not happen again.

Once again,thank you for taking time to leave your feedback, my team and I hope to see you again in the near future

Kind Regards

F Tair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Ashburn is a small hotel that does a great job. It is very clean and staff are helpful. The breakfast (included in our package) was good but a little boring after 6 days. The location is spectacular. A short block from a tube station and walking distance from several museums. Best of all , they have a little bar and provide a free glass of champaign each night. In the neighborhood there are good dining options. We ate at a pub near the South Kensington tube stop twice and at an Indian restaurant nearby.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackrcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshburnMgt, General Manager at Ashburn Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review Ashburn Hotel, i am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and my team & services meet your expectation.

on behalf of my team, i would like to thank you for staying with us and we are here alawys for anything you might need.

we hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

F Tair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#141 of 1,068 in London
629 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,068 in London
3,695 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#320 of 1,068 in London
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashburn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburn Hotel

Property: Ashburn Hotel
Address: 111 Cromwell Road, London SW7 4DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#132 Luxury Hotel in London
#141 Romantic Hotel in London
#252 Business Hotel in London
#255 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashburn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New luxury boutique hotel with 38 rooms located in South Kensington, central London. Offers continental breakfast, welcome drink and glass of champagne in the evening with all rates as well as a different turndown gift on your pillow every night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ashburn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashburn Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing