We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and clean, tidy rooms”
Review of The Melita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Melita
Ranked #609 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I was delighted with my experience at the Melita Hotel recently. The staff in particular were very helpful and attentive. The rooms were clean, spacious and tidy. The breakfast was very nice too and there was no shortage to chose from. When I realised I lost my car keys in the room and was already on route home the staff were more than willing to mail me back my keys - great service! If I was in the area again I'd be more than happy to stay at the Melita Hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank crmpicco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobG661, Manager at The Melita, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for your great review.
We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again!
Best wishes from the Melita House Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel has very helpful and pleasant staff. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is good. It is in a good location, quite close to Victoria station. It is good value for the price in central London. I would recommend this for a budget break.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loz_ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I found this hotel to be very average. The rooms are very small for 2 adults sharing. The bathroom was tiny. It's the first bathroom I've ever had the chance to sit on the toilet and brush my teeth at the same time!!! Bathroom wasn't cleaned properly as there was hair on the floor! Couldn't inform reception as it closes at 10pm and we were in a hurry the next day. No tea or coffee facilities in the room but there is a machine at reception so you've to go downstairs to avail of this. Also no ironing facilities available in the room. The breakfast times did not suit - finishing at 9.30am and the room the food was served in was very small and cramped. The only thing we couldn't really fault was the location, only ten mins from Victoria station. Having said that, we took 3 cab journeys to the hotel and the drivers struggled to know the hotel and it's location which is a surprise for London cabbies! I definitely didn't think it was worth £280 for 2 people for 2 nights (Sat & Sun)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishStevo1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

1) Melita is very conveniently located between Pimlico and Victoria. Great for everything - from Heathrow you can go directly to Victoria, just change from Picadilly line to District at Hammersmith - simply go out of the train and cross the platform. Bus 24 is 24 hours service and will take you to National gallery, Tate is 10 mins walk, etc. Great infrastructure around (shops, bars, banks, flower shops, dry cleaning etc).
2) my room and the hotel were really clean;
3) everything in the room worked well;
4) staff is super-friendly and helpful;
5) my room 48 was quiet and I slept very well.
Couple of concerns:
1) yes, no elevator - but no problem if you don't have very big luggage;
2) funny that I had breakfast smell in the room after 8 am, though not a real problem again.

Room Tip: Single room # 48 is absolutely fine, looking to the yard, quiet. The only thing is that I had breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khenaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed at the Melita House for one night. The first very nasty surprise was that they charge an extra 5% over the booked price on your reservation unless you pay with a British debit card. If you pay with a debit card from any other country or with any credit card they charge you a full extra 5 %. A true rip off!

The second unpleasant surprise was the 10:30AM check out.
Other than that, the room was adequate and the location is very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This is a little hotel in Pimlico. My room in the basement was claustrophobic.

The breakfast here is very poor. They added a surcharge for use of a credit card though the agency said specifically there was none,

Staff had poor command of English and entirely spoke Russian between themselves.

Reception is not open late.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gruzenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My family and I stayed here, never again! It was very overpriced and the breakfast was awful.
I think £180.00 for one room for one night with possibly the worst hotel breakfast we have had was very steep, the managers response was that breakfast was complimentary so basically I had no right to complain about it.
The dining room was so disorganised in the morning and they have crammed too many tables into a very small space.
There were no tea or coffee facilities in the bedroom although you do have the option of spending a lot of money in the overpriced vending machine in the dining room.
We have stayed in lots of hotels in London and all have been better than this one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will0w101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Sidney Hotel London-Victoria
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#215 of 1,076 in London
616 reviews
Pimlico
Huttons Hotel
Huttons Hotel
#652 of 1,076 in London
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Melbourne House Hotel
Melbourne House Hotel
#543 of 1,076 in London
489 reviews
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#581 of 1,076 in London
445 reviews
Pimlico
Lidos Hotel
Lidos Hotel
#441 of 1,076 in London
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Melita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melita

Address: 35 Charlwood Street, London SW1V 2DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #609 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £100 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Melita 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melita London is an ideally located Central London hotel , close to all the major tourist attractions, and the financial centre. Nearby Victoria Train, Underground and Bus Stations make everywhere easily accessible. Our location in the heart of central London makes The Melita an ideal place to stay to explore London and the UK . For both business and pleasure The Melita London offers great value for money to fit into your budget whilst still offering outstanding accommodation and facilities. The hotel was founded in 1972 and is still independently owned and managed by members of the same family. It is situated in a period building, dating back to the mid 1850s. Today the building has a delightful blend of traditional features and modern facilities. Exactly what a City centre hotel should be. The service and the setting sets it apart from the chain hotels. The Hotel is independently inspected annually by Visit Britain and has been awarded a Three Star Rating. This is your guarantee of quality. The rooms are newly renovated, so we are sure that we can offer you a pleasant and comfortable stay in London . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Melita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melita Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing