We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price/Location - perfect!”
Review of New England Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New England Hotel
Ranked #972 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed in July, during the most tourist season. Almost all London was fully booked and very expensive, but the price in this hotel was surprisingly low (for London)!
Hotel is small and cozy. Our room was ok. Not big, but when you travel for what to have big room if you have a lot of trips around the city and other activities outside. So we are quite satisfied with the room.
Breakfast was with toasts, müsli, buns and cookies, jam, butter, tea, coffee and juice. As for me – too much bread.
Location is just perfect, especially for such price – near Victoria central station from which you can get to airports and other cities. To Buckingham Palace - 5 minutes walking, to Parliament – 10 minutes.
Staff was good and very helpful. Definitely I would stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

Me and my friend stayed for a night - payed £99 and we really enjoyed it- the night porter was extremely lovely and helped us out a lot. The room is small yes but the bed was comfortable and the room was well ventilated with the use of the fan. As a place to crash (like we needed) it met our needs. Short walking distance to Victoria Station and a variety of pubs, clubs, shops etc. Would definately stay again. Breakfast was a simple continental and was nice also - maybe a little early but manageable nonetheless :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxsamiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

we stayed at this hotel from 12th july till 14th july 2013 and we paid 297 the room was disguisting it was appalingly dirty . the light fixtures were falling of the walls so dangerous . also the bathroom was just so dirty i could not believe how much we paid for such dirt i was so appalled i even took pictures which i will be sending to hotel inspector because they cant be allowed to get away with chatging people this amount of money for such aweful accomodation . we were so appalled that we did not even bother to go down for the breakfast

Room Tip: if you go to this hotel ask to see the room before you pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevertley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is a great location for all the attraction's in London with Victoria underground about 15 minuets walk away We stayed for two nights and had a wonderful time and the weather was also kind.
Now the hotel, if you can call it a hotel: The streets were clean and tidy and from a distance as we were approaching all looked good, but there it ended we entered the hall/reception and met by a chap who was straight to the point, can I have your credit card, that was error one I usually inspect the room before paying WHY didn't I? and because I booked in a rush through Bookings.com I forgot to check trip adviser views. I would not go back to this hotel if it was the only one in London The room was so small, no wardrobe only a metal tube coming out of the wall to hang cloths on and a couple of draws the room as with the rest of the place was disgustingly filthy The bed spread we took off as It was so old and dirty and there was a blanket on the bed that did not fit a double bed, it was the sort of thing you chuck on the grass when you have a picnic. The bathroom was so small with a wash basin with a fixed spout so when you splashed water on your face you cracked your head or the water was on the floor. The shower had a plastic curtain that did not fit and splashed out and flooded the floor. We were supplied with One bath towel each and no hand towel, probably because there was a towel rail on the back of the door which only took 2 towels.
Continental only breakfast was served for One hour only between 8 & 9am A guy came out with tea or coffee and toast (He didn't look very friendly) and plonked it on the table the rest you sorted out your self including finding milk for your drink I felt like I was sitting in the works canteen. The whole place was shabby I paid £200 any where else £50 would have been to much. I noticed when we signed the book when we arrived there were a couple of American's an Australian and Canadian checked in I hope they don't think this is a typical English Hotel

Room Tip: A Tip is there is plenty of accommodation within 500meters
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidbtcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Hotel was pretty easy to find, good location to tube station & buses, reception was ok the first guy we saw who checked us in was nasty, rude and when it came to paying he asked straight away for a card without even asking us how we would like to pay, and when we told him we are paying with cash he look at us like crap! Parking- states on website when booking a small fee is charged for parking! This is a complete lie it cost me £72 for 2 days in a car park not located at hotel but a 5 min walk away!!!! rooms very small,basic only facilities in room are tv and hairdryer, breakfast is only continental and only served for 1 hour between 8am & 9am!!!

Room Tip: Book at the comfort inn down the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stottyswifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The location was great, the sheets were clean as were the towels, but that's the only thing positive I can say about this hotel. It was shabby, torn curtains, rusty radiator, no soap in the shower soap dispenser, etc. The breakfast was the bare minimum, toast and tea or coffee. Since you can only have breakfast between 8-9, the room is always crowded. We practically had to clear the table ourselves and go in search of plates, napkins, etc. I certainly wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morag R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

My husband and I just stayed here for 3 nights. It's 5-10 minutes walking distance from Victoria rail station which was perfect! It's definitely not the prettiest but if you just need a place to stay that's decent and cheap, then this is your place! Our room was cleaned everyday and they had breakfast (toast, jam, coffee, and tea) from 8-9am and they let us store our luggage for £1 each.

- Room was small and outdated
- Service was good. There's a guy that's always at the desk.
- If you need to call someone locally, you have to go to the front desk and they charge you per minute.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
2  Thank daniellyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Best Western Victoria Palace
Pimlico
Huttons Hotel
Huttons Hotel
#652 of 1,076 in London
1,415 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn Buckingham Palace Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Dover Hotel
The Dover Hotel
#654 of 1,076 in London
523 reviews
Pimlico
The Melita
The Melita
#610 of 1,076 in London
294 reviews
Pimlico
Vegas Hotel
Vegas Hotel
#913 of 1,076 in London
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New England Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New England Hotel

Address: 20 St. Georges Drive | Victoria, London SW1V 4BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #972 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £68 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New England Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run for over 25 years, fully refurbished Georgian townhouse offering cozy, clean, comfortable, secure accommodation at an affordable price, Non smoking establishment with elevator. Fantastic central location, Buckingham Palace, Big Ben, Houses of Parliament, London Eye, a myriad of Museums, Galleries, West End Theatres are all within easy reach. Only 10 minutes walk from Victoria Rail, Tube & Coach Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your New England Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New England London
Hotel New England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing