We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy - a Hovel”
Review of New England Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New England Hotel
Ranked #972 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed 11 August 2014

One good point is the location - that's it! the top floor is claustrophobic and so cramped you can hardly manoeuvre round the bed. The nets are ragged, grey and unwashed and the curtains are dirty - you really don't want to touch them. The shower room fan is an accident waiting to happen as it is blocked with dust and will eventually burn out. I worried that it could cause a fire as I wouldn't trust the management to be mindful of regulations. There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room. The 'cleaner' doesn't seem to know that vacuums have hoses and pipes, so the edges of all the carpets are dust laden and filthy, as are all the skirting boards throughout this hotel. The dining area has dirty chairs with what would appear to have years of grime on them. I wouldn't recommend this hovel to a tramp........apart from keeping out of the weather.

Room Tip: Don't bother, you'll regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank chrissie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

In London, location is everything. The New England is close to Victoria Station which is a real plus. It's also close to Wilton Rd., which has some good restaurants. I was travelling by myself and so it was ok. For a hotel that was recommended by Rick Steve's, I was disappointed. There was nowhere in the room to hang any clothes and no countertops to put things on. The continental breakfast that was included was the same each day - toast, coffee, tea or juice, and cold cereal, served in a depressing little basement room. I want to end on a positive note so I have to say that the hotel was quiet, the bed was comfortable. For a couple of nights, it's ok.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Scout53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The only good thing about this hotel is that it is near Victoria Station. The hotel was dirty: dirty rooms, stained and dirty covers and carpet. The room was small and there was no place to hang our clothes. Breakfast was standard, served only from 8 to 9, and the croissants were not fresh (probably from the previous day). The man at the reception was disagreeable and not very willing to help and the use of wi fi cost 4 pounds. The hotel even charged to keep you bags for a few hours! I would avoid this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelerbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The walk and location would have been acceptable if the welcome, service, amenities and breakfast were up to basics!! Unfortunately, there are NO redeeming features. The website does not mention the breakfast is 'continental' but even this misnomer doesn't cover it. You get a cup of tea/coffee with milk and sugar to taste, toast and jam and/or cereal and milk and a pastry!!! Couldn't digest the bread it was too pulpy - didn't bother on 2nd morning - went elsewhere. Not much evidence of cleaning- lots of DNA samples from previous visitors in evidence!! Yuch!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms - we asked for a quiet room and were put in a room with the only window faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed at the New England Hotel in Victoria for 4 nights, and overall it was a pleasant stay.

Pros:

- The location. Situated just off Eccleston Square, its a 10 minute walk to Victoria station, which is pretty much central to everywhere in London.
- The beds in the room are quite comfortable.
- LOCATION LOCATION.

Cons:

- NO FREE Wi-Fi. The cost of one hour of Wi-Fi is 4 GBP, quite pricey.
- Breakfast is quite poor. No variation whatsoever.

Overall: A recommended stay if you're not looking for pampering. Just a solo traveler looking for a decent stay,

Room Tip: Go for rooms in the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Resemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

n a nutshell, prefer to be homeless than staying in this hotel. We went there for two days, we left the place on the first day. The service was awful. We could not even sleep. The bad smell of insecticide, the broken bed and else. We asked for a bed for my pregnant wife and I myself had to bring it to my room. They even haven't help my wife with her bags. In one sentence "DO not waste your money, prefer to sleep in SUBWAY"

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saman2374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I guess we got what we paid for in a cheap hotel, neither clean nor dirty, Quite small room, too small for 3 beds... Beds were OK, clean sheets each day, service fairly amicable, everything barebones really. The breakfast was the disappointing part. We went shopping for breakfast after the first morning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olafur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Best Western Victoria Palace
Pimlico
Huttons Hotel
Huttons Hotel
#653 of 1,075 in London
1,412 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn Buckingham Palace Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Dover Hotel
The Dover Hotel
#646 of 1,075 in London
523 reviews
Pimlico
The Melita
The Melita
#609 of 1,075 in London
294 reviews
Pimlico
Vegas Hotel
Vegas Hotel
#912 of 1,075 in London
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New England Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New England Hotel

Address: 20 St. Georges Drive | Victoria, London SW1V 4BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #972 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: £67 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New England Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run for over 25 years, fully refurbished Georgian townhouse offering cozy, clean, comfortable, secure accommodation at an affordable price, Non smoking establishment with elevator. Fantastic central location, Buckingham Palace, Big Ben, Houses of Parliament, London Eye, a myriad of Museums, Galleries, West End Theatres are all within easy reach. Only 10 minutes walk from Victoria Rail, Tube & Coach Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your New England Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New England London
Hotel New England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing