We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't risk it!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton Hotel
Ranked #920 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Market Harborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't risk it!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We paid £188 for two nights at this dump. Toilet seat was the wrong size and broken, make sure you remove the toilet rolls from the bathroom before taking a shower as everything gets soaked in this joke that they call a wet room, bed cover was dirty, the dirty, plastic bin had been emptied but the rubbish had been left on the floor behind it, we only had one mug, two glasses which were filthy and no milk. My husband asked for two extra pillows, another mug and some milk. After some time elapsed he was given one cup, one pillow (because the chap couldn't find another one) and four small milk cartons which were out of date. I asked for fresh milk to be placed in our room while we were out. On our return we were told that all the milk was out of date so "I didn't bother putting any in your room". Breakfast was rubbish - cereal served from dispensers that crushed the contents into your bowl and toast barely toasted dumped down onto your table by a lady dressed in scruffy jeans and jumper who was slumped on a chair at a table in a corner and looked unamused when she had to do any work. The receptionist was asleep on a mattress behind the desk when we got back on our first evening. No lifts in this hotel so by the time we got to our room I thought I was going to have a coronary! In other words this hotel makes Fawlty Towers look like the Hilton. Avoid like the plague!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    49
    79
    54
    69
See reviews for
75
68
33
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

I arrived spontaneously in London with a buddy, and we needed to quickly find a decent place to stash our luggage and sleep later on. After wandering around the Kings Cross block, checking a couple hotels for a vacant room, we ended up on Carlton Hotel.
The location is in many ways great, with all the relevant stuff for tourists nearby (MacDonalds, Starbucks, Subway, internet cafes, small grocery shops and obviously, Kings Cross and St. Pancras). However, the location of the hotel also comes with a lot of not so positive things, such as yelling and fighting people roaming the stress below, the constant sound of massive London buses honking their horns and a plethora of different police/ambulance sirens keeping you awake at night.

The elevator was really funky, and could only take either two persons, or one person with one luggage unit. Most of the hallways inside the hotel sported a horrible odour resembling a mix of old tobacco and exhaust, but the rooms themselves were quite alright. Two of the hallways I used had dormant CCTV cameras hanging by their wires, which at least contributed to the atmosphere.
We didn't wake up early enough to eat breakfast at the hotel.
The free WiFi was nice, and it was relatively fast and stable (however it was only available in certain rooms, as well as the reception area).
The staff was helpful.

Overall a very decent and basic hotel with a charming London atmosphere and standard, with a sort of good location. You don't get much for your money, but you can't except much when taking the first and best hotel you see when emerging from Kings Cross.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredericSpurkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

The location is excellent, very close to Kings Cross, but the room was tiny,and there was no room for two suitcases. The wardrobe was difficult to access and no hangers were provided. The bathroom light was on a motion detector timer with very short time set; it was disconcerting to have to wave your arms while sitting on the toilet to switch the lights back on.
I have stayed in better hotels close to Kings Cross; it was not even cheap

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Quite satisfied. Good value for money and location is fairly close to Victoria station. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

It was clean and I felt it was safe! Really happy with it the room was small but had everything I needed. Breakfast is cereal and toast and tea and orange juice. Great location so close to victoria station/buckingham place. Had read alot of bad reviews- it does the job for the price!

Room Tip: Ask for one on a low floor there are alot of stairs especially if you are a bit older I don't th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Made welcome again with friendly attitude. room was very clean and enjoyed my stay with no problems or issues with this hotel.
Remarkable service from all the TEAM..many thanks for making my short stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: self service breakfast now at the hotel...very good to my liking and if like another travellers'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djw1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#533 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Pimlico
Melbourne House Hotel
Melbourne House Hotel
#520 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#259 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
#731 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Pimlico
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#688 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Pimlico
The Melita
The Melita
#606 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel

Property: Carlton Hotel
Address: 90 Belgrave Road | Victoria, London SW1V 2BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #920 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a free internet kiosk and a 24-hour front desk, this hotel offers continental breakfasts and traditional rooms. Carlton Hotel B&B is situated in Pimlico, just 300 metres from Pimlico Underground Station. The bright and airy bedrooms each have a private modern bathroom with a hairdryer. All rooms have a TV and work desk, and tea/coffee facilities are also provided. Light continental breakfasts are served daily in the spacious dining room at Carlton Hotel. Breakfast options include fresh coffee, fruit juices and a selection of cereals. The Carlton is situated in the Belgravia area, just a 15-minute walk from Westminster Abbey. Buckingham Palace, big ben and london eye is a 20-minute walk,Victoria Place Shopping Centre is 600 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing