We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #557 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 18 December 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Amsterdam Hotel for 10 days on our honeymoon. It was so lovely and everyone there was extremely nice. We especially enjoyed the breakfast every morning. Our room was a little snug, but it once we got use to it, it was great. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. We loved it!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Sbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    308
    113
    26
    18
See reviews for
189
173
61
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis MN USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2007

We loved this hotel. I almost hate to say how good it is to let the "secret" out, but the staff work so hard I want to send them business! My spouse and I stayed there for four days with our 11-year-old in an absolutely charming and comfortable triple/quad. Not a huge room, but VERY well designed, with a great little loft sleeping space (not for tall people), so a little "privacy" between parents and child. Staff, especially Judi, was absolutely wonderful. Lovely continental breakfast, plus Internet access. Spotlessly clean. Also, great location in Earl's Court -- not a "posh" area, but very safe, felt like a "real" neighborhood, plenty of budget places to eat (yes, many chains, but many are good, plus plenty of decent, if not gourmet, neighborhood take-out spots), and easy access to anywhere in central London by Underground (plus taking the bus was pretty easy too). Also: Oxfam (like a "Goodwill") shop nearby, if you need an extra sweater or reading material for cheap.

  • Liked — What didn't we like best?
  • Disliked — Everything was lovely.
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2007

Situated conveniently just a couple of hundred metres away from Ears Court station, it's a great place to stay for a weekend when travelling around london by the tube.

I stayed in room no. 1, the only room situated beneath groundfloor. This was a family room for four, and contrary to what I expected, the room was huge! Although not exactly five-star, it looked pretty new and modern. Despite the fact that the room was below groundlevel, there was a fullsize window and a door to the outside, so it didn't feel like being in a basement. But if you're looking for a room with a view, this would be a disapointment.

In contrast to the room, the bathroom was cramped. It was clean and looked good, but it was the smallest bathroom I've ever seen in a hotel. Also, the doorway to the bathroom must have been dimensioned for people under 150cm tall, so you would have to duck down your head to not walk into the doorframe.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, and deserves a mention. The breakfast was good, although not very exciting or varied, and there was also free internet access. Either by wireless, or you could use one of two desktops (next to my room).

If you're looking for a really good and cheap place to stay in London, look no further. Although the area around Earls Court isn't the most exciting for the tourist, the underground is just one minute by foot, and the area has many good restaurants as well.

  • Liked — The roomy room, the staff, convenient to the tube, price
  • Disliked — Cramped bathroom, no view
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Edonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2007

Had a lovely trip to London with wife and two kids. Amsterdam Hotel in perfect location, ajacent Earls Court station and perfect for tube around various parts of London. Hotel very clean and tidy, decent breakfast and staff very courteous and helpful. reception manned 24hrs, plenty towels every day, really no complaint as well.
We got room 4 which has a novel set up as family room with kids beds in a mezzanine level above receptions which you go up staircase in room to, kids loved it, almost like they had their own room.
Would definitely recommend this hotel if like us you are just looking for a good base to explore the sights etc. There were other facilities available i.e. internet room, etc which we just didn't use so I'm sure suitable for others who require a wee bit more than we do.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Gauldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Amsterdam Hotel for two nights at the end of September 2007. Upon arrival, the woman behind the front desk saw us to our room personally. The room was small but comfortable, although it could be tricky to move between the foot of the bed and the wall. The bathroom was modern and clean; the only difficulty was that the water from the shower had a tendency to drip onto the bathroom floor, making puddles, as the shower curtain was not able to contain the spray from the shower head. The best thing about the room was that we had direct access to the garden from our room, a feature that was shared only by the room next to us. Other guests could gain access to the garden from the ground floor where the breakfast room was located. The breakfast consisted of breads, cereals, and yogurt, along with juice, coffee or tea.

The location of the hotel was great. It was just steps away from Earls Court Road, where there were plenty of restaurants and pubs. Also, Earl's Court Station was about one block away. If my husband and I plan another trip to London we will definitely consider staying here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Shower
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank edge_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2007

Myself, my husband and our young son spent a week in London the end of september. After weeks of research into many, many hotel we decided on this one. This place is truly a home away from home. We arrived after a long flight and via the underground from heathrow at about 9.30pm. The front staff ran outside to help us in with all our luggage and the stroller and from then on the service just got friendlier! Judi is amazing and this hotel and staff are a credit to her. She would organise maps for us, activities that were child friendly, tour confirmations, taxi's and even played with our son for an hour on the floor with toys.
The hotel is very clean and our suite with seperate lounge/bedroom was great with our son. The cot was provided free of charge and was made up everyday along with our room-very cute touch! The kitchenette was great, microwave, toaster and kettle plus endless supply of tea! Mugs too.....which was a bonus! The hotel is literally just round the corner from the undergroud...the location could not be better really. There is plenty of eateries and mini-supermarkets to stock up. All in all we loved the hotel and area and would go back again...and again!

  • Liked — Location and room type
  • Disliked — no ceiling fan in bathroom
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank bark73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2007

My wife and I have just returned from a holiday in Guernsey, and included a one-night stop-over in London.
After much Trip Advisor research, we decided upon the Hotel Amsterdam, in Earls Court. This choice was made mainly due to the positive reviews posted about this hotel, and they were all true. From our on-line booking, to the experience itself, everything was very well managed and efficient. I liked the e-mail reminder, sent one week before travellng, 'hoping to see us soon'. On finally getting through the "wonderful" London Underground traffic from Victoria (Gatwick Airport) to Earls Court, complete with luggage...... turning into Trebovir Road was like another world of calm and peace!!! First impressions are often the most important, and the gleaming entrance door and steps set the scene for a very well run little hotel. Our room was very spacious by London standards, although the bathroom was smaller than normal, but perfectly adequate and very clean. The elevator is another experience entirely, and not for the claustrophobic or slightly larger guest!! The view over the garden seemed very pleasant, although we could not do it justice over only one night. Breakfast was continental, with full English at a premium, which I think is a very good idea, as many people do not want a cooked breakfast every morning, if at all. Glad to have found the Hotel Amsterdam and will definately return when back in London.

  • Liked — Excellent value and peaceful surroundings for London
  • Disliked — The Lift!!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Suddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#388 of 1,067 in London
163 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#590 of 1,067 in London
444 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#853 of 1,067 in London
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#534 of 1,067 in London
435 reviews
Earls Court
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#685 of 1,067 in London
951 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#733 of 1,067 in London
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Hotel
Address: 7 Trebovir Road, London SW5 9LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #557 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amsterdam Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing