We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Price”
Review of Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #576 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, Great Price”
Reviewed 12 May 2008

We spent two nights at this hotel in April and really enjoyed the location and the room. The room would be a little hot during the summer as it does not have air conditioning. The staff were very helpful with the exception of a new desk clerk that tried to charge us again for the room (paid in advance). As we all have a rocky start to a new job--we weren't too upset.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jennyut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    309
    113
    27
    19
See reviews for
190
174
61
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2008

After a disaster with the hotel down the road (York Hotel - don't stay there!) we arrive to take our twin room.

We were lucky enogh that they only had a suite left but at a decent price. It may not be the most modern of hotels but it's clean, the staff are great and it's got soem character!

If I need a hotel round there for the price I'd definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank squarecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2008

Found this jewel of a hotel at TripAdvisor, and it was a perfect place to stay for me and my boyfriend for our one-week holiday in London. We stayed in room number 10, and had a great view to a quiet little garden. The staff was extremingly helpful with everything from car-rentals to restaurant recommendations. The room was spotless, clean and more than spacious enough for the two of us and the wardrobe had at least 14 hangers. We wil definetely stay here for our next trip to London.

  • Liked — The location, the spotless room, the staff
  • Disliked — The breakfast
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kristin_DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Göteborg
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Amsterdam Hotel for 2 nights in mid-April. It was our first trip to London and after reading 100's of hotel reviews I finally chose this hotel.

The experience was GREAT!! (almost perfect). The hotel is literally on-top of the picadilly (and district) line which gave us great access to heathrow airport and the city. We arrived at 9:30am but the staff were more than happy to hold on to our luggage during the day. When we returned to check in properly, our luggage was already in our room (small, but nice details...)

The room was absolutely wonderful!! It was very bright, clean and had no carpeting, yippee!! and the bathroom was spotless! On-top of everything, our standard double contained 2 VERY comfortable double beds!!

The only thing that wasn't excellent was the hallway leading to the room... It was stuffy and smokey...BUT... this did not in any way transfer to the room, so who cares :-)

Summary: Great staff, Great service, Great room, Great location, OK breakfast... almost perfect!

  • Liked — location, price, cleanliness
  • Disliked — smokey hallways (but no big deal)
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VEB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2008

Right off the bat - the biggest problem I had with this hotel was that it reeked of smoke, particularly during the day. I have asthma and I found myself having cough and itchy eyes all the time due to the smoke. Fortunately, when I was there, the weather was reasonably mild and I was able to tolerate sleeping with the window open all night to air it out.

The room was as described on the website- I had a single room and it was very small - mainly a bed and a desk - no dresser, but a small wardrobe (around 30 cm across with 6 or 7 hangers). The bed was pretty comfortable.

The bathroom was very clean. I did have some trouble with getting the toilet to flush properly. The temperature on the shower was VERY difficult to regulate - I wasted a ton of their water and my time (15 minutes one morning when I was trying to get to a business meeting!) running the shower to get the temperature of the water to somewhere between freezing and scorch. The shower curtain did not reach to the floor, so the whole bathroom gets wet when you take a shower. I used this feature to help get the wrinkles out of my clothes. I also did hear a quite a bit of noise from the room next door due to thin walls.

The proprieter of the Amsterdam is kind and helpful. Having Wi-Fi access and the computers in the basement is a great service which worked well for me. The breakfast is basic, but healthy and tasty.

As many have said, the location here is perfect! Easy access to the Tube. For those not familiar with London, Earl's Court station is at the junction of 2 of the most useful tourist tube lines (Picadilly and District). The hotel is near to a Marks and Spencer, Post Office, Boots, and inumerable eateries of different types and prices.

  • Liked — Great location and helpful staff
  • Disliked — Smoke in halls and room; inability to get a proper shower temperature
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank maryland_traveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby England
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2008

Chose this on basis of past reviews & was not disappointed. CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN-lovely crisp sheets & room on 3rd floor light, airy & plenty big enough. On a quiet side street. Judith the proprietor is friendly & extremely helpful. She goes out of her way to get the best deals for tickets, shows etc. Night staff equally helpful - a request for teabags had them delivered wrapped in a napkin immediately. Continental breakfast was plentiful.
Great location - Earls Court road felt perfectly safe to myself & my teenage daughter - there are plenty of people about until midnight & beyond.The hotel is less then a minutes walk from the tube (turn left onto Earl's Court Rd as you come out of the station, then turn first left again & you are on Trebovir Street - you can see the hotel from there.) There are a few nice family run Italian retaurants on Earls Court Rd, Benito's is very friendly & very reasonable.
Easy to reach from St Pancras/King's Cross & plenty of routes on the tube to all major attractions. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — friendliness & cleanliness
  • Disliked — small lift - but I don't mind stairs
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kayteey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2008

I've stayed in a few hotels in London, and often been disappointed. This one was excellent, and great value.

Very near to Earls Court tube the location was great. Many shops and eateries close at hand.

Reception was classier than expected, and helpful and polite.

The family room on the 3rd floor was excellent. Very spacious with the 2 single beds in a separate room with both wardrobes. 2 facing sofas with a good sized table between, and a small kitchen with microwave, fridge and sink in the main room, with stylish modern decor, and large, bright windows. A very comfortable place to spend time.

Bathroom well equipped and spotless.

Breakfast (included) was a bit eccentric, with cereals already poured out into bowls, with some 20 laid out for perusal. The charming eastern european breakfast staff were helpful but managed to overcook eggs however you asked for them. The toast and croissants and pains au chocolats were plentiful and excellent.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redletterday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#398 of 1,068 in London
164 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#572 of 1,068 in London
457 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#850 of 1,068 in London
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#694 of 1,068 in London
957 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#540 of 1,068 in London
438 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#725 of 1,068 in London
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Hotel
Address: 7 Trebovir Road, London SW5 9LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #576 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amsterdam Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing