We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel”
Review of Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #557 of 1,063 Hotels in London
newport, isle of wight
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hotel”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

we found the staff to be friendly and helpful.
the room was very clean and we found the mattress to be firm and to our liking .
the shower unit is small but the water did stay within the tray!.
we were close to the buses and underground, some of the major museums in london and there were alot of restaurants in the area to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    306
    113
    25
    17
See reviews for
187
173
61
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My partner was attending a conference at the nearby Natural History Museum, so we chose this hotel due to its proximity to that and the tube, and also because of the excellent reviews. We weren't disappointed. Staff were genuinely warm and friendly, very professional and organised, and made an effort to ensure our stay was enjoyable (including bringing us a fan for our bedroom as the weather was so sweltering). We had a few enquiries before we arrived, and our emails were answered really quickly and helpfully. The hotel is very well located with Earls Court tube just a minute or so away, and plenty of shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants within very easy walking distance. Our room and bathroom were cosy, neat and spotlessly clean. Not huge rooms, but certainly plenty big enough. The breakfast which was included in the price was fine, nothing amazing, but plenty of cereals, toast, fruit, yoghurt etc to fill up on, and served in a pleasant breakfast room in the basement. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sledge22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Our two night stay was very enjoyable and we will definitely consider using this hotel again. Our only complaints would be a not very comfortable bed and a limited choice for continental breakfast. Your reception manager was very helpful, polite and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ehotel.de

Helpful?
1 Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Firstly can I say, I'm gradually getting used to hotel prices in London and also the fact that if your hotel is in a great place in central London it's probably going to have some noise as the city is a very busy place.

That was my impression for my first night, however having mentioned this to the receptionist an incredibly helpful and pleasant young lady called Barbara she immediately found me a room on the second floor facing the back of the hotel away from the traffic. This was a much nicer room, very comfortable and well appointed and I could have the window open all night with very little noise. As with all small hotels. you can hear some noise from people in other rooms and in the corridors at times, but all the corridors are carpetted, I didn't find it intrusive and I'm noted for being fussy about that kind of thing!

Overall impressions of the hotel are that it's very clean, nice beds a limited but fresh continental breakfast, but it's position is just brilliant. I've never stayed in Earls Court before and in terms of resturants it has just about every well known name you could think of within about 200 metres as well as a lot of local resturants and some nice pubs. Earls Court tube station is only around 100 metres away but you can't hear the trains at all from your room.

Excellent stay and I can totally recommend it to anyone visiting London and wanting to see the sites.

Room Tip: If you can get one and don't mind the stairs, second floor at the back is the place to be !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My two adult daughters and I spent an April weekend here and the hotel was just fine. We wanted something with a convenient location (Earl’s Court), not too expensive and with rooms where three people could each have their own bed. The hotel is on a quiet street near a bustling one which has anything you might need, and very near a tube station. The room was clean, the beds comfortable, the breakfast simple but good, and no noise.
The staff at the desk were excellent, especially the gal whose name is Barbara, I think. We arrived in the morning so she took care of our luggage, got us an extra blanket in the evening, advised us on how to get to places and had lots of other practical information. Very helpful and thoughtful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This hotel has very friendly and very helpful staff. They are very keen to help with whatever you need. The room is tiny but it is the price you pay for location. You are just 2mins from the tube station and 5mins from a 24hr TESCO. The room is very clean and bed is comfortable. Breakfast in the morning is also very good. The ony disappointing thing is the walls are very thin and you can hear the people in the room beside you. We had a room looking out onto the street and it was very quiet. We had a balcony but you could not sit outside.

Room Tip: You do not hear the road traffic in the upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Was a little disappointed for the price we paid for this hotel. While it is in a good location and very close to the tube and on the quieter side of the tube station - the room we had was just too close to the street and next to the front reception area and you could hear everything. We stayed in Room #4 which is a family room. The rooms are very dated, but are clean. Carpet in the rooms look very old and worn. Bathrooms are dated, but clean and has good water pressure and lots of hot water. The loft had two twin beds and it was very hot up there. When we opened the windows, we could smell the cigarette smoke from people smoking outside, since the windows are right by the area where people will smoke.

Pros
*clean rooms
*bathroom clean - plenty of hot water and good water pressure
*location
*staff friendly
*lots of restaurants to choose from in the area
*English breakfast provided every morning
*free wifi
*has a lift

Cons
*room 4 shares wall with front reception so you can hear EVERYTHING
*luggage holding area is by room 4 so there was luggage in the hall or near our door, every day
*rooms are very dated
*carpet old and worn
*if you want eggs and bacon with your breakfast, they want you to pay an additional five pounds - you can find a hotel that will provide the full English Breakfast without charging you

You can find a better hotel for the cost; I understand that this is in a prime location, but the place is surrounded by so many other hotels to choose from.

Room Tip: Don't take Room #4 - you share a wall with the front reception area, you can hear luggage rollin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#398 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#513 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#568 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#834 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Earls Court
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#660 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#727 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Hotel
Address: 7 Trebovir Road, London SW5 9LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #557 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amsterdam Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing