We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice people and helpfull”
Review of Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #620 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 14 September 2013

beginning with the reception area, its cozy and the employees are very warm and welcoming , ready to give help and information about everything, breakfast is good and refilled all the service time, locations is amazing , 30 seconds away from earls court station, which service 3 major lines in london, easy accuses to all london , will come here again for sure

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohammed o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
There are newer reviews for Amsterdam Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

Excellent location. Around the corner from Earl's Court. I booked a single room but had a double bed in a quiet room at the back. It was a renovated room that was clean and bright and a good size. The staff very helpful and it was good value for money in London.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

If you don’t mind being visited by an Estate Agent and a couple of first time buyers!

Now you may think I’ve lost the plot here firstly by rating our stay as excellent and secondly for beginning this review with reference to an Estate Agent, but Trip Advisor keep removing my review where I rate this hotel as terrible, so I thought I’d rate the hotel as excellent, and I’m afraid the visit from the Estate Agent really did happen!

I can tell you that the value of Apartment 1 at the Amsterdam is worth - £300,000! It’s the last one left, so if you’re thinking of buying property in the Earl’s Court area get your offer in quick!
If, however, and God forbid, you are merely wanting a normal overnight stay at a hotel, do not stay at the Amsterdam!

Reception apologised for not informing us of the Estate Agent’s viewing, completing missing the point that anyone on a city break would not expect to have an Estate Agent and co visit!

The small apartment is not in the main hotel building – so you check in at reception and then have to make your way down the street to a basement apartment.

It’s all downhill from there metaphorically and literally – as we descended the steps littered with cigarette butts, and paint peeling off – far from a welcoming entrance.

If you have a buggy, I again would not recommend the small apartment. You will either need to leave it at reception or struggle with it up and down the stairs to the basement.

The website claims that all rooms have been refurbished. Semi refurbished is more accurate – and to a poor standard at that. The bathroom suite was nasty. It was so old that the coating had started to wear off on the toilet seat – just think of all the bums it took over the years to achieve that look! Yuck.

Our beds were half made - that is NO duvet covers on the duvet! Really? I presume they don’t launder the duvets after each guest, so imagine bedding down with direct contact to every Tom, Dick and Harry’s skin cells. Nasty!

In the end we ended up making our own beds after traipsing down the street to reception and walking back with 2 double duvets down the street!

All this however, was nothing compared to waking at 2am to find a weirdo/drunk/druggy getting his fix on the stairs. This was a terrifying experience for 2 women and 3 children – with the youngest just 8 months old. We called reception – however, as they are down the road by the time they made it to our apartment the weirdo had gone. In fact they had passed each other on the street. Shortly afterwards there were blue flashing lights and reception confirmed that the weirdo had been picked up.

Breakfast is a very basic Continental selection - so don't expect hams, salamis and cheeses etc. You can 'upgrade' to a hot breakfast which is a poor attempt at a 'full' English.

There are 3 positives about our stay here:
The location to Earl’s Court tube station which is 2 minutes walk away.
Earl’s Court Road which has Zizzi, Nandos, Strada, Boots, M&S Co-op etc.
Checking out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tanialh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My daughter stayed here for one night, while my son and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in North End Road(one stop away on Tube). She loved the room. Nice, clean, quiet. Reasonable breakfast selection. Location is great, just around the corner from Earl's Court Tube station.Cafes, restaurants, shops there also. A little expensive(130 pounds for single person, one night). No wonder she loved it.......I was paying for it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Declan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

From the moment we arrived, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

On arrival we were upgraded to an apartment in the building next door. It was spacious - but most importantly it was clean and comfortable. As London was in the middle of a heat wave at the time of my visit, the staff kindly provided us with a fan for the bedroom.

The hotel is located less than 2 minutes away from the Earls Court tube station - v convenient for visiting the main tourist sites!

Would highly recommend the hotel - and thank you once again to all the staff for a wonderful stay !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

we found the staff to be friendly and helpful.
the room was very clean and we found the mattress to be firm and to our liking .
the shower unit is small but the water did stay within the tray!.
we were close to the buses and underground, some of the major museums in london and there were alot of restaurants in the area to eat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My partner was attending a conference at the nearby Natural History Museum, so we chose this hotel due to its proximity to that and the tube, and also because of the excellent reviews. We weren't disappointed. Staff were genuinely warm and friendly, very professional and organised, and made an effort to ensure our stay was enjoyable (including bringing us a fan for our bedroom as the weather was so sweltering). We had a few enquiries before we arrived, and our emails were answered really quickly and helpfully. The hotel is very well located with Earls Court tube just a minute or so away, and plenty of shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants within very easy walking distance. Our room and bathroom were cosy, neat and spotlessly clean. Not huge rooms, but certainly plenty big enough. The breakfast which was included in the price was fine, nothing amazing, but plenty of cereals, toast, fruit, yoghurt etc to fill up on, and served in a pleasant breakfast room in the basement. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sledge22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#393 of 1,072 in London
175 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#581 of 1,072 in London
461 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#844 of 1,072 in London
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#532 of 1,072 in London
445 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#727 of 1,072 in London
428 reviews
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#468 of 1,072 in London
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel

Address: 7 Trebovir Road, London SW5 9LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #620 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £72 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amsterdam Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing