We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, clean, but shower could use some help”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Amsterdam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amsterdam Hotel
Ranked #548 of 1,088 Hotels in London
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, clean, but shower could use some help”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2008

We stayed at the Amsterdam Hotel in the beginning of June, the first stop on a 12 day trip. We arrived early at the hotel, around 9 am, and the hotel staff accommodated the storage of our luggage until our room was ready.

The room: The room was small, but very clean and well furbished. the bathroom was a bit small, but you will get used to that in Europe unless you constantly stay at the Marriott or want to pay heaps of money for your space. My one complaint about the otherwise nice bathroom was the tiny shower with the nearly useless shower curtain. Every time you showered, you could not help but flood the bathroom floor as the shower curtain leaves about 5 inches of space in between itself and the bottom of the shower. Each time we showered we had to mop up the puddles with towels to avoid slipping on the floor and the otherwise uncomfortable feeling of a constantly wet floor. Not a deal breaker, but that could have been better.

Major pro of the hotel was the convenient computers downstairs complete with printers so you could print boarding passes, directions, etc.

I'm not sure if I'd stay here again, as we did pay a pretty penny and I don't feel like it's a must-stay. Although most of the staff was pleasant enough, we did have some problems with the efficiency of the check out process and the hotel was insistent on not getting us extra towels to mop up our shower puddles.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — shower
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vacaynation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    302
    112
    25
    17
See reviews for
187
172
61
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2008

Hotel room size was typical size for London rooms, small but not tiny. Bathroom was modern and good size. We had a room overlooking the street. As there is no airconditioning we had to open the balcony doors for air but this meant that we experienced noise from the street and felt slightly unsafe as occupants of adjoining hotel rooms (who share the same common balcony) could enter our room if they were that way inclined! Location of hotel was great, very close to Earls Court tube station. Tube station is also on the same line to Heathrow however we found this line to be unreliable when we were there, we experienced delays of over 40 minutes and were close to missing our flight.

  • Liked — The location and the free internet access
  • Disliked — Very noisy room and no air conditioning
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2008

We stayed two nights at this hotel. The location was great, being a few minutes walk from the Earl's Court tube. There were many places to eat nearby, and it was easy to either walk or catch the tube to tourist sites. The room in which we stayed was quiet and clean, though small. The bathroom was tiny by international standards. Older travellers may find it the stairs hard to climb if they are more than one floor up and unfit. There is a lift which can be used however (though it is very small).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bug09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2008

This hotel was chosen after much research because of the positive reviews and we were not disappointed. I have a girl and boy, ages 11 and 14, and had asked if there was any way we could be accommodated. We were given a huge room (room 1) in the basement with a double bed and 2 single beds - how perfect! The room and bathroom were clean (looked like new wood laminate flooring for the room) and they provided nice white fluffy towels.

There were cellar stairs from our room up to the peaceful backyard. Just outside our room in the hall were 2 computers available to any guests, so we could check e-mail while away from home, or find the weather in our next vacation stop. Very nice added convenience.

I loved that the Earl's Court Underground station was 5 minutes away, and Judi had given good directions in advance from the airport.

Since we only had 1 1/2 days in London, and one would be on the sightseeing tours, we asked Judi for suggestions for our half day, and she had plenty of options. We ended up going to Windsor castle (30 minutes by tube, then train) and it was great. But don't start too late because it takes a while to see it. She also gave a suggestion for an Indian restaurant just near the hotel which was very tasty.

In looking at the map, I had been concerned that the Earl's Court station was a bit far from the city center, but once we were on the tube, it didn't seem to be far at all.

Breakfast had toast, croissant, cereal, juice, coffee, etc. with an extra fee for cooked food I think. We were fine with the bread and cereal.
Overall it was a lovely experience, and I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — owner helpfulness, cleanliness, room size, computer availability
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SRAinSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2008

This hotel was a very good deal. The location is GREAT. It is very close to the tube, Earls Court, and a couple good restaurants. They also serve a decent free breakfast and have free internet. The room was spacious, or at least our triple was. We had a nice balcony, but it would not open properly.

Now to the bad parts: we were constantly annoyed by the fact that there was a heavy smoke smell seeping into our room. I don't know where it was coming from considering the entire floor was a "non smoking floor." It was very bad. Not coming from the balcony either. Also, most of the employees did not speak hardly any English. This is what London is turning into, but whatever. Also, the bathrooms were nice, but the showers were a disaster. The stand-up shower was TINY and the fabric shower doesn't hold in the water at all.

Overall, I would highly recommend staying here in comparison to other places I have stayed at in London. This place was nice.

btw, this is NOT a handicap accessible hotel.

Book online, directly from the hotel.

  • Liked — LOCATION, the room
  • Disliked — smell
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MMD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2008

AMSTERDAM HOTEL LONDON

Amsterdam Hotel was a nice surprise. It was better than we expected.

The staff deserves the best words. Thanks a lot to Judy and the punctual Alan for all their help. No matter how busy they were, they always had time to give us directions, arrange bookings and attend our questions. Months before going I exchanged some mails with the staff and they were extremely polite and friendly.

The bedroom was spacious and very cozy, with nice decoration and light color furniture. Two magazines were on the table for us. The beds are very comfortable and it has a view to a beautiful courtyard. There are facilities to prepare hot beverages.
There’s a little TV set, where I would have liked to see a Spanish channel. It also has a heater.
The only minus was the little wardrobe. We had plenty of baggage because we were on a 40 days trip, but it’s enough for tourists with less baggage.
Everything is spotless and very silent in the night.

The bathroom has been refurbished and there’s plenty of space for toiletries. The shower has a good flush of water.
The hair dryer is in the room, good idea to save time.

Don’t worry about the adaptor because it’s provided in the reception.

The lift is the tiniest I’ve seen in my life, but it gave a touch of personality to the hotel.

There’s a nice business center on the ground floor and both computers can be used freely. It was great!

The iron can be used by the guests, though I never used it. There´s so many things to do in London instead!

The breakfast continental is good, but once we had to wait for a table.

The location is excellent, just a few steps from the tube station. There is everything you need in the neighborhood: laundry, restaurants, supermarkets, etc. In one of them, open till midnight, almost next to the tube, they drop the prices of sandwiches, fruits and other fresh products in the evening.
Definitely if I return to London, this will be my only option.

  • Liked — Confort, excellent staff, free business center and location.
  • Disliked — Tiny wardrobe. No Spanish channel.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lidia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpls, MN
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2008

Finding a nice clean quiet London hotel for under 100 pounds per night for two, including continental breakfast was a challenge. Amsterdam was tops. Quiet, 120 yeards from the Earls Court tube stop, and very nice people. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — clean quiet relatively (by London standards) inexpensive
  • Disliked — no problems at all
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mbyrnefire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#437 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#501 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#569 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#839 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Earls Court
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#653 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#744 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotel

Property: Amsterdam Hotel
Address: 7 Trebovir Road, London SW5 9LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #548 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amsterdam Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amsterdam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing