We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff great, hotel mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Ranked #356 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Staff great, hotel mediocre”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Very well situated near Warren Street tube the hotel should be a gold mine. Reception staff very eager to please and no problems at checkin. We had a de luxe double which is actually a huge king bed in a very large room. Very comfortable bed indeed and nice bathroom.
Minuses:
Air conditioning just blew warm air which on one of the hottest weekends not good
Tried opening window and although at back of hotel so much noise from other rooms Air Con units, staff arguing early morning and sirens from main road.
Ice machines in corridor continually not working
Cold water from tap was just warm
Very poor sleep due to air con defect.
Can't comment on breakfast as it's an eye watering £20 each so we went elsewhere.
If had been there more than one night would have complained

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham999Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey J, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us, it is very much appreciated.

From reading your review, I sincerely apologise for the faulty air conditioning, this is very disappointing. It would be wonderful if you ever gave us an opportunity to make this up to you as I am certain we can turn this round for you – next time you are travelling to London, I kindly ask that you contact me and you will have my personal assurance of a far better stay.

Kind regards,
Stacey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,623
    1,638
    700
    362
    203
See reviews for
570
1,313
523
1,428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I've stayed at other Radisson Blu hotels so decided to stay at this one based on past experiences, unfortunately, as they say in property business, location is everything and unfortunately location is what makes this hotel one to avoid. It is situated on the busy Tottenham Court Road and there must be a major hospital nearby as ambulances go screaming past on a regular basis.

I had a single room, and it was tiny, I've seen smaller but they weren't called bedrooms and I never had to pay for them. To top things off the room was located on the first floor overlooking Tottenham Court Road.

On the plus side the hotel is reasonably close to The British museum, Trafalgar square etc and it is reasonably priced,

Room Tip: If you must stay here then definitely avoid anything overlooking Tottenham Court Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Endevaour61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey J, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and for choosing to stay at Radisson Blu Edwardian, it is very much appreciated.

It is disappointing that you did not enjoy your stay, please accept my sincerest apologies that the room allocated to you on this occasion was not your complete satisfaction.

We urge our guests to let us know if there is something that is something they are unhappy with whilst they are staying with us as that allows us the opportunity to make it right rather than have an unpleasant stay as we want our guests to have the best possible experience with us.

Next time you are travelling to London I kindly ask that you contact me prior as I am confident with have a room that is more than comfortable for you!

Kindest regards,
Stacey Jasiewicz
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Super helpful staff, nice rooms, amazing location. It's a short walk from amazing restaurants like Roka down by Charlotte Street and right next door to Warren Street tube station. The staff went above and beyond the call of duty to help me out. Really friendly too. Quite a nice Steak and Lobster restaurant attached to the hotel which also provide the swift room service. Was very pleased xxx

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misstraveller12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey J, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us at the Grafton. I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to the Grafton team as it is such comments that act as a great motivator among all of our employees.
Here at the Grafton we pride ourselves in being convenient for all of our guests, both leisure and business. I am glad to hear that the hotels location was of great use to you. We always strive to give each of our guests all of the help they need and go beyond expectations to ensure every guest is satisfied with their experience during their stay. I am glad to learn that this was reflected in the service you received.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. If I can assist you at all with future reservations please do not hesitate to contact me on the details below.

Kind Regards,

Stacey Jasiewicz
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The star of this hotel is its location- literally a stone's throw away from Warren St station. It's the perfect hotel to pick if you're in London for business. As a couple on a holiday we felt the room was slightly small. But I guess that's the price you pay for a super-centrally-located property such as this. The air conditioning shafts make a significant amount of noise that'll trouble you if you're a light sleeper- the hotel must do something about this. The bathroom is well equipped with all the amenities and toiletries one may need. Most of all, it's clean and you get great service from their very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a smoking room if you'd like one- they're happy to oblige. The hotel is located on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snigdha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey J, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Snigdha,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us! It is great to read that you had such a great stay at the Grafton.

May we thank you also for highlighting what a great location we have - indeed there are many fantastic travel connections in close proximity to the hotel.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Stacey Jasiewicz
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I was happily Surprised by this hotel. It was a very last min booking and so wasn't to sure of how the hotel would be, and i know that Tottenham court rd isn't the best streets to stay on, as its often noisy and quite busy. but this wasn't a problem as the hotel is situated at the top end and is right next to warren St. tube, and the hotel had very good double glazing (i was facing the main street)

The room was very nicely decorated. The fittings looked new and fresh. The bed was very comfortable with good bedding. There was a good use of lamps so you could have bright or relaxing. Another great Feature in the rooms is that they have a different plug sockets to accommodate different chargers from Global travellers. and there is free wi-fi in all rooms.

the bathroom was again very clean and done to a high speck and even the toiletries were nice, with two sets pre fixed they had one for the shower and one lower set for anyone who choses to have a bath rather than a shower.

all in all very happy with this hotel and i will stay again.

Room Tip: i always say to have a room away from the lifts as people always chat to loudly in this area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robjay78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey J, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Rob,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share your feedback and for staying at the Grafton Hotel, it is much appreciated.

I am delighted you were pleasantly surprised by the Grafton hotel, it is a wonderful hotel and located in a great area whether you are here for business or leisure!

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. If I myself can be of any assistance with making any future reservation please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Warmest regards,
Stacey Jasieiwicz
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We just had a grandchild born in University College Hospital which is 2 minutes walk from the Grafton Hotel, so it was an ideal location for us to stay for a night to enjoy central London, and to enjoy our new arrival.
First the good points. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the receptionist Bashir who dealt with us was very eager to accommodate any of our requests. We booked 2 rooms - one double room for my wife and I, and one single room for my son, who would spend most of his time at the hospital, but would come back to the Hotel to sleep late that night.
This is where it all went horribly wrong.
My son who had been up for about 48hrs on the trot due to his wife's long labour finally arrived exhausted back to his room at 2am. He plonked himself into bed only to find half of the bed completely soaking wet. The air-conditioning unit had been leaking water onto the bed for a number of hours and it was quite sodden. He was much too tired to get involved in speaking to the desk so he turned off the air-conditioning unit, covered the wet area with a towel and slept huddled over to the opposite side of the bed. He had to listen to a drip-drip-drip sound which was quite tortuous until he eventually crashed out until 11 O'Clock the next morning - missing breakfast.
When we came to check out we explained the situation to a different receptionist who said she would take it up with her manager. He offered us 20% off which I though was quite derisory for a top London Hotel. To add insult to injury, on checking my credit card statement the following day I noticed that no discount had been applied. I am now writing to the Hotel to get them to at least honour their commitment.

Room Tip: Check that the air-conditioning doesn't leak water and check your bill to see that they have car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey J, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Philip,

Thank you for reaching out to the hotel via Trip Advisor and for taking the time to discuss your issue with me on the Sunday morning also.

I would like to apologise once again for the air conditioning fault, this was highlighted to the Maintenance Manager who has looked into this and resolved the issue that occurred in your Son’s room.
I completely understand that your Son was very tired from being awake in the hospital, however if the desk had been notified at the time that there was a problem of any sort we would have done our upmost to resolve it or in this case move the room so that your Son could have a comfortable and peaceful rest.

With regards to the 20% refund, I can confirm that this indeed was applied on the Sunday that we spoke, however It can take up to 5 working days to appear on your card statement, I also gave you my card to contact me if for any reason this was not done.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback.
If there is ever anything else I can be of assistance with please do not hesitate to let me know.

Warmest regards,
Stacey Jasiewicz
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I didn't like the hotel. The rooms were so tiny that I didn't even have space on the floor to open my luggage. Moreover, the rooms were dark and my first impression when I entered was: am I in a coffin??? The bathroom was small too, no space for your cosmetics. The cosmetics that were provided by the hotel smelled so badly that I couldn't use them (Ok, normally the cosmetics are not the best quality but these ones were horrible). I was surprised what they offer for this price- I would give the hotel 3 stars at most. So my general impression was: small rooms, dark, old. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for that price (but the price probably that high cause of location).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zosia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey J, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Zosia,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us after your stay last year, it is very much appreciated.

It is very disappointing that you did not enjoy your stay, please accept my sincerest apologies that the room allocated you on this occasion was not to your complete satisfaction, however I am more than confident that should you give the Grafton another opportunity we will exceed expectation and I will oversee every aspect of your reservation. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any assistance with making reservations.

Warmest regards,
Stacey Jasiewicz
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Hilton London Kensington
#508 of 1,068 in London
4,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#426 of 1,068 in London
9,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Address: 130 Tottenham Court Road, London W1T 5AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#236 Family Hotel in London
#253 Luxury Hotel in London
#293 Romantic Hotel in London
#319 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson London
London Radisson
Radisson Edwardian Grafton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing