We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value, location, tiny”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens
Ranked #33 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
South Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Value, location, tiny”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We arrived late (someone is at the desk 24 hrs.), were directed two doors down to another entry door, and carried our bags up two flights of stairs to our room. The desk staff gave information when asked but weren't too "proactive" or personal. It's what it is: a flat rental, not a B&B. The small studio barely had room for the two of us to pass each other and it was a challenge to wash in the tiny bathroom sink without bumping one's head. That said, we had a wonderful time and enjoyed eating our breakfast in bed (since there really isn't much room to eat other than on the bed). The location is wonderful for tube, buses and trains. Yes, you can hear everything on the street but it is a very quiet street. If you want a good value and an experience that's more like living in a tiny student flat, this is a great place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank esteva4442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    941
    289
    100
    66
See reviews for
208
1,036
147
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This place was small, but served it's purpose. Chose this place due to the low cost and convenience to Kings Cross and Eurostar station. The area was great. Short metro away from Picadilly, and walking distance to numerous places. The room was very small, as evident from photos on web, so no surprise. The restroom was a bit smaller than expected. The sink was half the size of normal. Spilled water on the floor each time I tried to wash my face. The shower was also a tight space. The bed was comfy. Plenty of TV channels. Only issue I had is there is no lift, and our room was on the 3rd floor. When we checked in the attendant carried my bag, which I greatly appreciated. It was difficult when we left w/no help. Their tends to be a lot of activity outside, which can be heard. It didn't stop me from getting a good nights rest, but light sleepers be aware. I would stay here again for a no frills place to rest my head.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnyssaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I wasn't sure what to expect out of this experience, but it turned out far more positively than imagined. Yes, the rooms are small (no surprise there) but it was perfectly sufficient for our needs, especially since all we wanted was a safe/comfy/clean place to crash. The bed was very comfortable, the shower temperature and pressure were perfect, the room was spotlessly clean, and I got a restful night's sleep. I thought the mod-style Audrey Hepburn portrait on the wall was a fun touch. It had a trendy city studio apartment feel to it in general (it actually reminded me of my friend's NYC studio in many ways.)

English is not the first language of the staff, which surprised me at first, but it ended up not being a problem. The location is safe and conveniently near Kings Cross. Be prepared for tight hallways and corners. My husband and I traveled with 2 suitcases, a hanging bag, a backpack, and a tote, and only struggled mildly. Have a sense of humor about it and you will be fine!

Overall, fantastic bang for your buck!

Room Tip: Avoid basement rooms. We had a 2nd level room on the street (which I was warned via TripAdvisor not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

The location is fantastic. Although on a slightly noisy street (didn't appreciate the people singing in the street at 1am, but not a lot could be done about this!), the location is easy walking distance between Euston and Kings Cross/St Pancras stations. Staff were friendly and helpful (good to be able to leave your bags there for the day before travelling home).

The room was spotless, modern and spacious by London standards. Really good to have a small kitchen which although we didn't, would have been more then adequate to cook your own meals. Good free Wifi connection. Great shower. The bed was not to my taste, but I have a bad back so this may be an unfair comment. I know the Kings Cross area doesn't have a great reputation for accommodation, but this actually ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank louisebielby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I have stayed here a number of times over the last few years and my conclusion is that one's experience is very much defined by which room one gets. The small studios are indeed very small, but they are up front about this so you know what you're getting going in. The larger studios are quite adequate for two people, and the cooking facilities do the trick. The rooms facing the front are noisy, but that's what you get in a big city. The rooms facing the rear are very quiet and can be quite lovely.

My main gripe is that there seems to be no way to have any sort of guarantee that one will get a specific room location (high floor, low floor, back or front, etc.). I get that the hotel world is dynamic and things change all the time and that 100% guarantees are hard to maintain. However, our experience the last time we stayed has made us decide that we will not return. We actually had two stays, separated by 5 days. On the first stay we had a front-facing room, which was noisy as expected. At check out I asked the receptionist to note that we would be returning later in the week and that we preferred a rear-facing room. All seemed ok by her reply. We arrived to check in fairly late in the evening and a room had been set aside for us. Unfortunately, it was one of the more horrible hotel rooms I've been in in my life! It was in the basement, faced the street (though one couldn't see the street), and was noisy. The window faced a stairwell that people descended all night to put their garbage in the bins that were stored there. A bright light lit up the stairwell and our room. No other rooms were available so we toughed it out but truly this was an unacceptable room, especially given that we knew other rooms in the same category we had stayed in were 1000% better. We were moved the next day, but only after a bit of insistence on my part that the room was not up to snuff.

We won't return, which is a shame as the location is excellent and the rooms are mostly quite decent.

Room Tip: Rear facing are quiet. Front facing will be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arf68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Pros: the hotel is in an awesome location next to shops, bars and restaurants for a twentysomething wanting to enjoy local London nightlife; the bed was extremely comfortable and the decor was lovely; the price was extremely competitive, and ultimately a good buy; and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

Cons: as other reviewers have mentioned, the rooms are tiny -- so tiny in fact, that it is nearly impossible to open a big suitcase and look through it; it's EXTREMELY noisy -- the walls are so thin, in fact, that I could hear a woman's footsteps as she ran on the pavement below or the back and forth of a tennis ball across the street (this made it extremely difficult to sleep past, say, 7 a.m.); there are flights of stairs you must climb to access your room, which would be fine except I've been on a long trip and my bag is extremely heavy (I think others are experiencing the same problem, as I can hear folks dragging large suitcases up and down stairs all day/night); for the first night, I had no idea how to lock my room (you have to hold up the handle and then turn the lock/key) and there was no number to call to get help; speaking of which, the number listed on their website is to an answering service that isn't on-site, which can be problematic; finally, there's no air conditioning in half the rooms (which was OK since it's March, but I imagine it would be frustrating in different climates).

All in all, you get what you pay for here. It's really inexpensive, safe and in a fabulous location. But, you get what you pay for. Would not recommend the economy room for more than one person at a time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelicblues83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#236 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#247 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens

Property: Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens
Address: 36 - 37 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studios2Let Serviced Apartments is a recently renovated and modernized property located in the heart of Bloomsbury. All apartments have en suite bathrooms. Furnished and fully fitted with flat screen TVs and DVD players, safe box, bathroom amenities, beautifully designed kitchens, fully equipped with all modern appliances including top of the range ovens, microwaves and fridge/freezer. All our studios come with double mattresses and our luxury bed linens will ensure a comfortable sleep. Other facilities welcome pack, free internet, over 30 TV channels (including selection of Sky channels) 24 hour Concierge Service and CCTV, laundry room, Fob key entry system, roof terrace and communal garden and lounge, weekly maid service. Location: Studios2Let is ideally located in the heart of Bloomsbury. • For the discerning connoisseur of fine foods there is a wide selection of restaurants within walking distance. • For shoppers, Brunswick Centre, Oxford Circus, Tottenham Court Rd, Marylebone High St, Covent Garden and Camden Market are all a short stroll away. • A wide selection of public gardens and gymnasium on our doorstep. • The British Museum and the British Library are both within 5 minutes walk.• Tennis enthusiasts can gain access to the tennis courts opposite the accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studios 2 Let Serviced Apartments Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing