We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well-equipped shoebox”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens
Ranked #29 of 956 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Was escorted to a room about 20 metres from the main reception. Slightly dismayed to get a basement with bars that seemed to be locked. Thankfully no fire required me to test them. Pretty nice spec and newly furnished with cooker/oven, fridge, freezer, sufficient utensils and even an apple and an orange to accompany the tea/coffee. Being London, I scrubbed the fruit to within an inch of their lives. But tasty. Not bad value at c£100 considering the facilities, but the size of the place let it down a bit. The bathroom was small and required some negotiation ... but there were some really nice toiletries, including a travel toothbrush and toothpaste. Very central location and certainly better than some neighbouring 'hotels'. Will probably go back there, though might plead not to have a basement. There's something about a basement room in London that's a bit soul-destroying. Many of the 'rooms' seem to be let out on long-term lets, so your 'hotel-style' room may be at the cost of those long-term payers.

Room Tip: When booking, make sure you're not going to get a basement room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank icucme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

892 - 898 of 2,072 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

The good: Staff lovely and helpful. Close to Euston and King's X. Bed comfort was OK.

The not good: Blinds blocked almost no light at all. Room got very hot even though daytime high only 16C. Fridge so loud we had to turn it off to sleep. Floor in poor condition. Shower temperature adjustment did not work, so showers were scalding hot. Toilet so small that when sitting on the throne your shoulders can touch both walls.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevorLucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

These apartments are so clean, everything you need is there for you. Shower& toilet a bit small but are adequate, this is no big deal. The staff are very nice and have a smile for you. If you are in London these are great apartments and in a great location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Silver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

My partner had booked a weekend getaway to the city from the wet midlands and to my surprise he had done extremely well in finding this lovely little studio apartment. Just across the road from euston station, not too close to the city chaos but not miles away that you couldn't walk and around and see the sights. Staff were polite and welcoming, explained everything clearly. The studio was clean and cosy, great layout. Comfy bed. All the utilities you could want, even if it is only for a weekend. Added to a lovely weekend away

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Californication433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Second time staying here for a London break. Fab location near yo Kings Cross St Pancreas stations. Lovely quiet location. Apartments are clean and bright. Everything you need. Staff are friendly, polite and helpful. We cannot fault it! Very comfortable stay! No problem dropping bags off early on day of arrival or leaving them til later on departure day. Excellent service, and a good rate given these are apartment rooms in our capital city!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank E88a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The hotel was conveniently located just a couple of blocks from Euston Road, so it is very close to the Euston station (which is where the trains going to Leavesden Studios depart from), St Pancras Station (if you will be doing any travelling on the Eurostar) and King's Cross. The buses that run on Euston Road pretty will pretty much take you to all the touristy destinations in London, so it is very convenient. There are tonnes of pubs and restaurants in the area. There is also a grocery store (Waitrose) just 5 minutes away, and this is where we bought our water, snacks, food to cook for breakfast and dinner, wine, beer, etc.

Eating out in London is very expensive so as much as possible, we had meals at the hotel. The hotel is equipped with a stove, microwave, toaster, water kettle, cutlery, wine openers, beer openers, cups, plates, bowls, glasses, and anything you will need to make a simple meal.

Check-in was a breeze, and the guy who checked us in helped us carry one of our big luggages up the stairs. We got a room in the third floor and there are no elevators so everything had to be carried upstairs in narrow staircases and hallways.

The room itself is tiny, but it is big enough for two people to store two big suitcases. Our room was facing Cartwright Gardens so it was a bit noisy at night, but we were always so tired anyway that it didn't bother us at all. You can also hear footsteps from the above apartments, but for the most part, it was pretty quiet. The shower was really tiny. I barely had room to move around in it and I'm very tiny (barely 5 feet tall). It didn't cause a problem for us, but I can see how it can be a problem for others. I did have a tiny problem however with the size of the sink and the counter in the bathroom. The sink was so tiny that I pretty much splashed water on my feet every time I used it, and there's hardly any room to put all my toiletries in the bathroom.

The room has a safe, lots of closet space, a tiny tv and if you are from North America, they will let you borrow UK electric adapters for a 10GBP deposit. There are two sets of washer and dryers in the basement. I brought my own laundry detergent and dryer sheets, but they also sell you detergent for 1GBP at the front desk. The washer and dryers are tiny and the ventilation in the laundry room is not very good so when the dryers are in use, it feels like a sauna in there. The washers and dryers are on a timer and can only be used between 8am and 8pm so make sure you get in there well before 8pm because they just automatically shut down at 8pm (regardless if you are in the middle of washing a load!)

The only real complaint I have and the only thing that keeps me from giving them 5 stars is that there are no electrical outlets in the bathroom or nowhere near a mirror for that matter. I spend a lot of time every morning using the hairdryer to do my hair, and the only plug close that I can use is the one near the stove and I had to use the front of the stove to (kinda) see what I was doing. This was a big deal for me, but I'm sure this won't be an issue for others.

Definitely highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you can't carry luggage up the stairs, ask for a room in the lower floor. If you are a light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank buttercup1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

These studios are tiny, but are sufficient for a place to sleep and eat when sightseeing in London. Convenient to two tube stations, plenty of restaurants nearby, 5 mins to British Library. Pots and dishes for cooking small meals are provided. Checking and checkout are easy, baggage storage is available if you have a late flight. The neighborhood is safe and quiet, very pleasant. Great value in the big city.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens are lovely, though the sound from the street carries very well when t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikiMouse76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#309 of 1,081 in London
1,788 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#272 of 1,081 in London
2,078 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#455 of 1,081 in London
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Studios2Let - North Gower
Studios2Let - North Gower
#55 of 956 in London
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens

Address: 36 - 37 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 956 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £85 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studios2Let Serviced Apartments is a recently renovated and modernized property located in the heart of Bloomsbury. All apartments have en suite bathrooms. Furnished and fully fitted with flat screen TVs and DVD players, safe box, bathroom amenities, beautifully designed kitchens, fully equipped with all modern appliances including top of the range ovens, microwaves and fridge/freezer. All our studios come with double mattresses and our luxury bed linens will ensure a comfortable sleep. Other facilities welcome pack, free internet, over 30 TV channels (including selection of Sky channels) 24 hour Concierge Service and CCTV, laundry room, Fob key entry system, roof terrace and communal garden and lounge, weekly maid service. Location: Studios2Let is ideally located in the heart of Bloomsbury. • For the discerning connoisseur of fine foods there is a wide selection of restaurants within walking distance. • For shoppers, Brunswick Centre, Oxford Circus, Tottenham Court Rd, Marylebone High St, Covent Garden and Camden Market are all a short stroll away. • A wide selection of public gardens and gymnasium on our doorstep. • The British Museum and the British Library are both within 5 minutes walk.• Tennis enthusiasts can gain access to the tennis courts opposite the accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studios 2 Let Serviced Apartments Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing