We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suited my purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens
Ranked #33 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Suited my purpose”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I needed a place to stay near Kings Cross for one night and this studio suited my purpose. The place is easily in walking distance from either Kings Cross or Euston. Check in was simple and straight forward and the staff were most helpful. I'd paid a bit extra for a superior studio and I'm pleased that I did as had I not I may have left with claustrophobia.
My studio was in the basement with a window that looked out into a shared yard and someone else's front room which resulted in me keeping not only blinds closed but the window too as their cat had a tendency to try and jump into my studio,
The place was very clean, though this can't be too hard when the bathroom is so small with an innovative layout to fit a sink, shower and loo in I had to keep my toiletry bag outside so the bathroom didn't feel cramped!
If you need a place to put your head down when traveling then stay here, it's clean, convenient and the staff are nice. If you're looking for a studio where you can chill out after work, maybe cook yourself something and stretch for a bit then even paying for a superior room will not help you here!

Room Tip: Be mindful of being put in the basement.. not really a private space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ripcurl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    941
    289
    100
    66
See reviews for
208
1,036
147
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield. England
Level Contributor
183 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The apartments are around a 10 minute walk from Euston and easy to find. They're just 5 minutes to Kings Cross just off the busy main road. We booked the large studio apartment which was on the ground floor overlooking the gardens. A very nice, clean spacious apartment with everything you need. A very small bathroom but that was my only negative point. The private gardens at the back of the apartments are great, so relaxing and you would never know what you were in Central London. The location is brilliant and they are excellent value for money. I have already booked to go back in August. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conrad169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I recently stayed in Unit 11 (First Floor) for a week. The accommodation was good, some minor inconveniences but the staff were excellent, dealing with our queries and requirements promptly and efficiently.

We would highly recommend this accomm. to anyone who wants a base for visiting London and who is willing to walk and use the underground / public transport.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack_S20147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

If you want to stay near Kings Cross-St Pancras and look for an affordable accomodation, this place is very good.

It is clean and quiet. Room is cute, but small. The bathroom is also very small - But is is clean and modern.

The building itself needs some repairment - carpets in the corridors are old, for example.

It is not for a romantic stay, but it is a pratical option for a short stay in London.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tata_viajante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here recently for 8 nights. We had a room (Number 11) overlooking the rear courtyard. The room as others have noted is compact, with a kitchenette in the main room. We had a good sized double bed, two fridges, sink, cooktop, TV and all other requirements. Wifi worked well in the room and was free. The room was very quiet other than occasional footsteps on the stairs. We also were bothered occasionally by voices from the courtyard area. The room was serviced once through our stay which was fine. The kitchen sink is in a silly location under an overhanging cupboard, making it hard to use. The bathroom is very small, but quite usable. Mind you, taking sips from the basin when cleaning teeth requires contortionist skills to avoid water spilling all over the floor. Also there was a bothersome orange flood light on at night that lit up our room - better black out curtains are needed! Staff at reception were helpful when they needed to be. The place has a free laundry for guests. Cartwright Gardens is very quiet and it is a short walk to Kings Cross and Euston Stations, as well as Russell Square tube. All our expectations were met at this place - convenience, value for money, quietness and comfort. If you are a place to stay a week or so in London, close to action but not overwhelmed by it then this is a great option.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed for one night midweek and made my choice based on the reasonable cost, in comparison to the majority of accomodation choices in Central London for that night, and based on the generally positive reviews on TripAdvisor.

I have to say, I was overall extremely pleased with every aspect of my stay and would highly recommend it.

Cleanliness was exceptionally high throughout the property, fixtures and fittings were of a good standard and state of repair.

I have a couple of points (addressed to management and not negative feedback):

The sink in my bathroom was too small and not easy to use for cleaning teeth etc.
The sink in the kitchen is poorly placed (as mentioned in other reviews) and again not practical.

I was in a room on the top floor overlooking the street, although I forget the number, it was a great room and the size of the room is not really an issue, its easily comparible to many hotel rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virtualoriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed with a friend for one night, the room we had was a standard studio with balcony. The room and bathroom were both small but very clean. However, there was only half a roll of toilet paper when we got there with no spares, phone in the room didn't work so had to use our mobiles to call reception.
The bed was small for two people, but as we are both short/small it wasn't too bad, wouldn't be very good for someone who is tall.
Overall the room was very clean, in a perfect location just a few minutes walk from Euston, and we were able to leave our bags at reception after check out. Even with lack of toilet paper and small room I will definitely be back to stay when next in London. Great value for money.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cdee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#236 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#247 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens

Property: Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens
Address: 36 - 37 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studios2Let Serviced Apartments is a recently renovated and modernized property located in the heart of Bloomsbury. All apartments have en suite bathrooms. Furnished and fully fitted with flat screen TVs and DVD players, safe box, bathroom amenities, beautifully designed kitchens, fully equipped with all modern appliances including top of the range ovens, microwaves and fridge/freezer. All our studios come with double mattresses and our luxury bed linens will ensure a comfortable sleep. Other facilities welcome pack, free internet, over 30 TV channels (including selection of Sky channels) 24 hour Concierge Service and CCTV, laundry room, Fob key entry system, roof terrace and communal garden and lounge, weekly maid service. Location: Studios2Let is ideally located in the heart of Bloomsbury. • For the discerning connoisseur of fine foods there is a wide selection of restaurants within walking distance. • For shoppers, Brunswick Centre, Oxford Circus, Tottenham Court Rd, Marylebone High St, Covent Garden and Camden Market are all a short stroll away. • A wide selection of public gardens and gymnasium on our doorstep. • The British Museum and the British Library are both within 5 minutes walk.• Tennis enthusiasts can gain access to the tennis courts opposite the accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studios 2 Let Serviced Apartments Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing