We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton London Angel Islington
Ranked #188 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Find”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I wasn't sure what to expect having not stayed in this part of London before or this hotel. However, I found both the location and the hotel a place that I would come back to. The rooms were modern and updated and included all the things one would expect for a business stay. I appreciated the free internet service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for choosing Hilton London Islington for your recent stay in London and indeed for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I was delighted to read all your comments about the hotel and have shared them with all the team and Management.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Holly Shepherd
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    820
    564
    128
    42
    30
See reviews for
329
552
87
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I have been staying here a few times a month for the last 6.5 years. The recent refurb has made a difference and the rooms airy, clean, airy, we'll appointed and quiet. Staff are great and they even ensure there are decaf tea bags in my room whenever i stay. The menu in the restaurant has become more limited over time but the room service menu had more variety including healthier choices. There is a great deal of competition in Islington for places to eat; you name it!
I always feel very comfortable at the Hilton and sleep well. Easy access to the City of London by bus (43,56,4) or tubes.
This is my place to stay of choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back or side if you like a window open as I do as a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to thank you for your loyalty towards this hotel and your comments regarding the location and the team. I have shared your review with all the team and Management.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Holly Shepherd
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here for its proximity to the Arsenal Emirates stadium for a concert, which was just over half an hours walk away. We had a room on the upper ground floor behind reception, and our room was honestly amazing. The air temperature was perfect, and we had a twin room with two 4ft beds, with gorgeous mattresses and crisp white linen. The bathroom was well laid out and spotlessly clean, and towels/bathrobes were good quality. We ate in the hotel bar on the first evening, which was prompt and good value. Bar staff were friendly, and there was a nice relaxed atmosphere in there. We had breakfast on two mornings, which was a buffet style but good selection of everything from cold meat to danish pastries, fresh fruit, yogurts, cooked traditional English etc. It was all fresh, my only gripe was the weird drinks machines to get hot drinks from, I prefer to have a pot of tea/coffee brought to your hotel as I get my own breakfast every day at home. The location is fantastic, easy walk from the tube, and tucked away behind a busy vibrant street with great selection of bars and restaurants. We were very surprised how quiet our room was, and we thoroughly enjoyed a long weekend break here. Would definately stay here again and recommend. Great value for money and ticked every box.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was very pleased to read all your comments regarding the location and the restaurant and bar. Rest assured I have shared your comment with the Restaurant and Bar Manager regarding the table service of tea and coffee as this is a normal practice.

We hope we can welcome you back i the not too distant further.

Kind Regards

Holly Shepherd
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night due to location for a specific event. Great location, would definitely go back and spend some time in Islington. Only interaction with staff was when checking in, didn't get the ladies name but she was excellent, offered an upgrade from twin to double and searched another floor when we said we didn't want ground floor. Offered a wake up call when she knew we had to leave early, excellent service from this lady. Room was decent size, good shower, no bath, clean and quiet. Is it worth £170 per night, I'm not sure but know London is pricey and this is the only reason for 4 out of 5 rather than 5.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndyH37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I was delighted to read all your comments but in particular about check in. I have shared all your comments with all the Team and Management.

We hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Holly Shepherd
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel in an interesting area not far from King's Cross, for the three of us (two adults and a fourteen-year old) for one night, as a base for theatre and museums. The Hilton London Islington was good for this. It's well located, tucked just round the corner from the buzz of Upper Street, with lots of restaurants and cafes in the immediate vicinity, and good transport links. We stayed in a Junior Suite, which was clean and spacious, with a comfortable main bed and a sofa bed for the third person. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel - there are more interesting places for that just round the corner - but we did have a drink and canapé in the Executive Lounge, which was nice, though the space could be more attractive. Checking in could have been slightly quicker, but checking out was very swift. Overall, no complaints and an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read your comments regarding the location of the hotel and the room.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Holly Shepherd
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here with friends, one of whom requires a wheelchair, for celebrating a reunion at Barts Hospital. The staff couldn't have been kinder. We upgraded our room and enjoyed the Executive dining facilities which went with the upgrade. It meant that what we spent on the upgrade we saved on breakfasts etc. The convenient car parking was a great help but despite hotel reduction, still expensive - as is the hotel, but it is London.

Room Tip: We were in a room facing the front and like our window open at night, so it was noisy from quite ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grimentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your review with us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay especially the Angel/Islington area and it was a suitable for your reunion. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you all back again soon.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Petra Cappannari at the Hilton Islington has just been stunning over the three years we've been staying. This amazing lady knows no bounds when it come to customer service, Actually this terms doe s a disservice. The way she develops valued relationships with clients and adds so many special touches is a rare talent. Thank you for continuing to make my parents' visits so special.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy that you had a fantastic stay with us and that you enjoyed your birthday celebration with us, especially Petra.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#129 of 1,068 in London
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#71 of 1,068 in London
3,397 reviews
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#77 of 1,068 in London
3,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Angel Islington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Angel Islington

Property: Hilton London Angel Islington
Address: 53 Upper Street, London N1 0UY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#149 Luxury Hotel in London
#162 Romantic Hotel in London
#170 Family Hotel in London
#174 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Angel Islington 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton London Angel Islington is situated in the heart of fashionable Islington yet remains close to central London, striking the perfect locational balance. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Angel tube station and one stop from Kings Cross St. Pancras, making it an ideal base from which to connect to Europe with the Eurostar. Located adjacent to the Business Design Centre and just a 5 minutes' drive to Emirates Stadium, the hotel offers convenient accommodation for attending a conference or event. An adjacent car park is available with discounted overnight rates for hotel residents (Saturday to Sunday from 08.00 to 18.00 at £1.00 per hour and Monday to Sunday from 18.00 to 08.00 at only £0.70 per hour). Within walking distance of the hotel, guests can see a play at Almeida or Sadler's Wells Theatres and discover the street markets. Stay only one tube stop away from Old Street Station or to some of London's most popular attractions: Tower Bridge, Tower of London, London Eye and the famous Oxford Street. Unwind in an elegantly furnished guest room or suite with modern amenities and sleek decor. Catch up with work at the desk or relax with on-demand movies on the 42" flat-screen TV. Surf the web with free Wifi in all common areas. Relax in the trendy Axis Bar & Restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel restaurant serves locally and internationally inspired cuisine in a laid back atmosphere. Dine in with 24-hour room service. The new Executive Lounge allows guests to enjoy breakfast, coffee and snacks throughout the day and canapes in the evening. Cancellation Policies, effective 1st January 2015: no cancellation charges until the day prior to arrival, 11:59pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton London Angel Islington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Islington Hotel London
London Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing