We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the Bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton London Angel Islington
Ranked #187 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Avoid the Bar”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location, and we walked from Kings Cross. Check in was extremely efficient and within minutes we were in our room on the third floor. It was clean and very well equipped, with two 3/4 beds. The toilet facilities were great with a shower over the bath and lots of towels and toiletries. All in all the room was excellent but was rather narrow. There was a dressing table along the wall at the bottom of the beds and if anyone was sitting on the chair, the other had to climb over the bed. Having said that the a/c was excellent and the beds were very comfortable.

We had a good stay overall but made the mistake of going in to the bar the fist night. I had not expected it to be cheap but the prices took my breath away. This was the only time we used the bar or restaurant. There are lots of bars and restaurants in the area and we used those instead.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goansoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback regarding your stay. I am happy to see you had a great time and enjoyed the Angel/Islington area. I am sorry the prices were not to your expectations. We have just reviewed our Restaurant and Bar menu so I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    541
    123
    42
    28
See reviews for
311
532
85
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Pros: Good location, close to angel tube station
lots of restaurants and superstores around
good food
comfortable rooms
good service and the staff is cooperative
Cons: Rooms are tiny
No view from the rooms

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anurag29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of the hotel with us. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel and the location. We look forward to welcoming you back and please let me know when you are returning so I can allocate a larger room for you.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
서울, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Overall, I reallly satisfy with the hotel facility. Firstly it has a very clean room cause it recently remodeled and I could use free wifi in the room and whole hotel. It has quite good location and surrouding facilities. I'll re-visit the hotel if I have a chance. However, in a way, the staff in the front was not that greatly kind. 생각보다 호텔 내부 시설이 좋아서 놀랐다. 리모델링되어서 객실도 매우 깨끗하고 호텔 어디서든 무료 와이파이가 가능하다. 가격대비 매우 만족하고 다른사람들에게도 추전하고 싶다. 다만 프론트의 직원들이 호텔 시설에 비해 아주 친절하지는 않았다. 그래도 전반적인 서비스에 만족한다.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Juhae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I was sorry to read your comment regarding the Front Desk Staff and can assure you this is not our normal level of service. I have shared your comments with all the Team and Management for improvements to be made where possible.

We hope we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Holly Shepherd
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent ,uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at this branch of the Hilton chain for two nights whilst going to see a band who were playing at the assembly rooms just up the road and we were grateful for the special price we paid to get a superior room for small potatoes in london price terms. Everything from check in to breakfast to check out to the cleanliness and style of the room was perfect. Definitely recommend this particular hotel , and with the way its laid out at the front of the hotel you could easily feel you are abroad as it has lots of seating with parasols so has that Mediterranean feel about it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank saint1674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review of the Hilton London Islington. I am so happy that your stay was in your words ‘perfect’ and that you almost forgot you were in the London UK and somewhere on holiday abroad.

Please remember us whenever you are in this part of town and we would love to welcome you back.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We checked into the Hilton London Islington for 2 nights and were checked into our room immediately upon arrival by very friendly staff -however nobody brought our luggage up to the room, we did this ourselves (& upon check-out too). Overall the hotel is clean, bed is comfortable, quiet, really nice breakfast and in a great location. FREE Wifi too! Although this works better on a laptop than on a smartphone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Yasmin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the hotel and for providing us with some thoughts regarding your stay. I can see you had an enjoyable stay and welcoming staff although no one helped with luggage which we always provide and ask on arrival. Please accept my apologises that on this occasion it was not offered.

Look forward to welcoming you back and if you ask for me I will definitely help with your luggage.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel is in a great location (in the middle of bustling, exciting Islington) It's also just set back a little from the road (Upper Street) which helps with a good quiet sleep.
The staff were very friendly and let us check in well before 3pm which was great. Check in was also so quick and easy, couple of minutes and done, at other hotels checking in can take an age!
The rooms were fantastic, well designed, comfy bed and a great shower!
We didn't eat or drink at the hotel but the restaurant and bar both looked excellent.
Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryLime180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for stay with us recently and sharing your experience with us. I was delighted to read all your feedback and have shared your comments with all the Team and Management who are also delighted with your comments.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Holly Shepherd
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Room recently renovated and very comfortable. Great location if you know your way around London and are familiar with the bus and tube network. The breakfast needs attention though, this is my second time back in 2 years and they still haven't made any changes. It's your basic English offering, sausage, egg and bacon with a small continental spread. The coffee is yuck. They also need to change the cloth the water glasses are on because it's mouldy!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Roy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for choosing Hilton London Islington for your recent stay and provide us with your feedback. I was pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay apart from breakfast. Rest assured I have shared your comments regarding this with our Restaurant and Bar Manager for improvements to be made where possible.

We hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Holly Shepherd
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#117 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#75 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,237 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#174 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Angel Islington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Angel Islington

Property: Hilton London Angel Islington
Address: 53 Upper Street, London N1 0UY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#145 Luxury Hotel in London
#162 Romantic Hotel in London
#170 Family Hotel in London
#174 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Angel Islington 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton London Angel Islington is situated in the heart of fashionable Islington yet remains close to central London, striking the perfect locational balance. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Angel tube station and one stop from Kings Cross St. Pancras, making it an ideal base from which to connect to Europe with the Eurostar. Located adjacent to the Business Design Centre and just a 5 minutes' drive to Emirates Stadium, the hotel offers convenient accommodation for attending a conference or event. An adjacent car park is available with discounted overnight rates for hotel residents (Saturday to Sunday from 08.00 to 18.00 at £1.00 per hour and Monday to Sunday from 18.00 to 08.00 at only £0.70 per hour). Within walking distance of the hotel, guests can see a play at Almeida or Sadler's Wells Theatres and discover the street markets. Stay only one tube stop away from Old Street Station or to some of London's most popular attractions: Tower Bridge, Tower of London, London Eye and the famous Oxford Street. Unwind in an elegantly furnished guest room or suite with modern amenities and sleek decor. Catch up with work at the desk or relax with on-demand movies on the 42" flat-screen TV. Surf the web with free Wifi in all common areas. Relax in the trendy Axis Bar & Restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel restaurant serves locally and internationally inspired cuisine in a laid back atmosphere. Dine in with 24-hour room service. The new Executive Lounge allows guests to enjoy breakfast, coffee and snacks throughout the day and canapes in the evening. Cancellation Policies, effective 1st January 2015: no cancellation charges until the day prior to arrival, 11:59pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton London Angel Islington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Islington Hotel London
London Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing