We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton London Angel Islington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton London Angel Islington
Ranked #181 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stunning hotel, very friendly staff on arrival. The room is absolutely amazing, comfortable bed and very modern. Even with speakers in the ceiling in the bathroom!. Had a bit of a problem with the lights, as its a bit strange, if you turn off the switch by the bed it wont let you turn any light in the room on?.

Other than that, lovely views from the room, not far from the station and the breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review of the Hilton London Islington. I am so glad to see the hotel was to your preference and you enjoyed the hotel features. I know the lights can be confusing, the first switch is the main one (closets to the front door) and the ones after that are for the individual switches for the different parts of the bed and bath room.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    760
    521
    120
    41
    26
See reviews for
300
518
78
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

It was our second visit is as many months, the location is excellent - just 1 stop on the tube from St.Pancras to Kings Cross. We were off our train and checking in at the hotel within 15 minutes.

The hotel is located just a short 5 minute walk from Angel Tube Station and in an area awash with shopping, bars and restaurants. The area has a great buzz and an individual feel.

As we checked in the front desk staff thanked us for our return visit and our HHonors status was acknowledged. We arrived early, so early I half expected to have to return later to access the room, but no they were able to accomodate us and as a result we were just able to have breakfast in the Exec Lounge - what great service! Our room was spacious and on the top floor with a view over the city. I love the colours and room decorations, they are modern and functional.

The hotel isnt actually that big so you get an almost boutique feel when stopping there.

As we had two nights there we had breakfast once in the Exec Lounge and once at the main buffett located in the Bar, both are great with of course the main buffett breakfast having more choice.

There isnt a gym in the hotel, but Ive heard that this is about to change, but there was a deal where you could buy a day pass, week pass, month pass to use at local gym off site.

We got a great weekend rate both times that we have stopped there.

There is everything to like about this hotel, so much so I cant think of a negative now that they are putting in a gym. All of the staff were exceptional.

Thanks and see you again soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajlowe444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts of the hotel. It is pleasing to see that you favour the hotel and all the amenities that we offer. As a Hhonors member you get so many benefits and we look forward to your return to the Hilton London Islington.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Usual standard expected by a Hilton branded hotel. Staff are extremely helpful and welcoming. Rooms have recently been refurbished and are to a comfortable standard (although some only have showers; no bath!). For those with access, the Exec lounge is a great benefit. There are no leisure facilities; not even a small gym/exercise room. Food is OK; have eaten many time, but sometimes the steak is over cooked. It doesn't stop me ordering after a long day at the office though.
Now my hotel of choice; good standard in a nice part of town.

Room Tip: 4th floor South facing rooms have spectacular views over the city and out to Canary Wharf
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MP1565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your time at the hotel. I am happy to see you had a good time and you enjoyed all from the rooms to the welcoming and helpful staff. We are currently reviewing the possibility of gym facilities at the hotel which would be a great asset. I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back and we will have the steak made to your specification.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, Kentucky
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel is easily accessible to London's major attractions. The Angel tube station (5 minute walk from hotel) is just 1 stop from Tower Bridge, London Eye etc. If you are arriving via Heathrow,(20 miles) you can take the Heathrow Express Rail to London Paddington Station where taxies are readily available or can also purchase a tube pass and arrive at Angel Station. Gatwick (32 miles) take the Gatwick Express to Victoria Station and have either option as above. The modern amenities, decor, and friendly service all make this hotel an excellent option. There is a fee for self parking. The Axis Bar and restaurant serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. A 24 hour room service is also available. Highly Recommended when your travels find you in London.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kymgroadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you taking the time to share your thoughts of the hotel. I am glad that you like the hotel and we would love to welcome you back when you are next in London.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel which is walking distance from Angel underground station. On arrival I was greeted by friendly staff with a speedy process. The room décor is contemporary with a touch of style making my stay pleasant. The room is spacious with all modern appliances and above all the bed is comfortable which was put to good use. There was no bath and only a shower which didn't really bother me however the water spills everywhere and I found that annoying. The tap pressure in the sink over flows so just be careful when using it. I was impressed with the breakfast and usually I don't leave good views when it comes to this topic. I have travelled around the world and I don't want to sound simple but baked beans don't taste the same abroad. The hotel is walking distance to bars / restaurants etc and West End is about 15min on the tube. The location is ideal and easy to get around. I would defo recommend this hotel and I would stay again. Vincent (manager) is friendly and has a great sense of humour.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fas a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us apart from the maintenance issues in the room. I can assure you that I have shared your comments for the Maintenance team to make improvements.

We hope we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Holly Shepherd
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Excellent hotel and will definitely stay again when in London. The room was newly refurbished and is in excellent condition. The location is good and we had a good sleep. Breakfast was well prepared and presented.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am happy to see you had a great stay and you thought the hotel was excellent. We look forward to welcoming you back and I will reserve a table at breakfast for your return.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location, and we walked from Kings Cross. Check in was extremely efficient and within minutes we were in our room on the third floor. It was clean and very well equipped, with two 3/4 beds. The toilet facilities were great with a shower over the bath and lots of towels and toiletries. All in all the room was excellent but was rather narrow. There was a dressing table along the wall at the bottom of the beds and if anyone was sitting on the chair, the other had to climb over the bed. Having said that the a/c was excellent and the beds were very comfortable.

We had a good stay overall but made the mistake of going in to the bar the fist night. I had not expected it to be cheap but the prices took my breath away. This was the only time we used the bar or restaurant. There are lots of bars and restaurants in the area and we used those instead.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goansoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent H, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Angel Islington, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback regarding your stay. I am happy to see you had a great time and enjoyed the Angel/Islington area. I am sorry the prices were not to your expectations. We have just reviewed our Restaurant and Bar menu so I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Vincent Harewood
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#114 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#176 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,880 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#79 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Angel Islington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Angel Islington

Property: Hilton London Angel Islington
Address: 53 Upper Street, London N1 0UY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#138 Luxury Hotel in London
#162 Romantic Hotel in London
#170 Family Hotel in London
#174 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Angel Islington 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton London Angel Islington is situated in the heart of fashionable Islington yet remains close to central London, striking the perfect locational balance. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Angel tube station and one stop from Kings Cross St. Pancras, making it an ideal base from which to connect to Europe with the Eurostar. Located adjacent to the Business Design Centre and just a 5 minutes' drive to Emirates Stadium, the hotel offers convenient accommodation for attending a conference or event. An adjacent car park is available with discounted overnight rates for hotel residents (Saturday to Sunday from 08.00 to 18.00 at £1.00 per hour and Monday to Sunday from 18.00 to 08.00 at only £0.70 per hour). Within walking distance of the hotel, guests can see a play at Almeida or Sadler's Wells Theatres and discover the street markets. Stay only one tube stop away from Old Street Station or to some of London's most popular attractions: Tower Bridge, Tower of London, London Eye and the famous Oxford Street. Unwind in an elegantly furnished guest room or suite with modern amenities and sleek decor. Catch up with work at the desk or relax with on-demand movies on the 42" flat-screen TV. Surf the web with free Wifi in all common areas. Relax in the trendy Axis Bar & Restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel restaurant serves locally and internationally inspired cuisine in a laid back atmosphere. Dine in with 24-hour room service. The new Executive Lounge allows guests to enjoy breakfast, coffee and snacks throughout the day and canapes in the evening. Cancellation Policies, effective 1st January 2015: no cancellation charges until the day prior to arrival, 11:59pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton London Angel Islington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Islington Hotel London
London Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing