We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, friendly staff, convenient location, dependable internet.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Ranked #285 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
345 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“No frills, friendly staff, convenient location, dependable internet.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is a convenient location if your target visit in London is in the Trafalgar Square vicinity. It is a short walk to Covent Garden (I go there for the Apple Store, among others) and as I run, it's a great location as it's literally a few steps from the Thames. It's a great run towards the Parliament then cross the bridge towards the London Eye, and back and run straight through St. James' Park, Buckingham Palace, and then Hyde Park.

For transport, Charing Cross is just around the corner and of course there are many many places to eat around the hotel. Notable will be the Sherlock Holmes pub, or you can have a light Italian lunch in Prezzo, or some wine and oysters in Mossimo's across the hotel.

The hotel itself is compact and the rooms are on the small side. The staff are friendly and can speak a number of languages but I surmised they cater more to Spanish-speaking clientele. Breakfast is standard fare and the coffee is fresh.

I did have a problem with the taxi once, son if you ask the concierge for a taxi, double check and make sure you have enough time to change your mode of transport.

Room Tip: Ask for the upper floors - they should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GranDia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, General Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

Your comments are appreciated, I'm happy that we were able to position you so close to all the attractions, and I'm pleased you were happy with our service.
I'm very sorry you faced issues with your taxi booking, I hope this was resolved. Any feed back on negative issues are appreciated, with this we can work towards fixing and avoiding repeat problems.

I hope we can welcome you again soon.

Many thanks, Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    790
    879
    255
    84
    49
See reviews for
783
637
85
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I warmly recommend Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square. Just a short walk from National Gallery, London Eye, Houses of Parliament, West End theaters, close to two tube stations (Embankment and Charing Cross), the hotel is perfectly located for all who want to explore major attractions and sightseeing spots. Our studio apartment was on the 5th floor, surprisingly quiet and had all we needed for a pleasant stay. The kitchen is small but well equipped so you can easily cook a breakfast or a dinner. The Wi-Fi connection was complimentary and worked well during the whole stay.
The reception staff was very friendly, helpful and welcoming.
The only downsize of our studio apartment would be a very limited hanging space in wardrobe.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vidya19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, General Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Your feedback is much appreciated.

I'm glad he majority of your stay was so positive. However I am sorry if the hanging space was insufficient. I will certainly take this into account should we have the opportunity to make changes. Perhaps in the meantime, should you return, please do let me know directly, so I may find a more suitable room, or if necessary supply an external hanging rail.

I do look forward to hearing from you in the future, we will do our best to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Kind Regards, Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kadoma, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located right in the heart of London,2 minutes away from charing cross underground station and 1 minute away from the Thames river and the London eye. When outside the hotel, the busy adventurous atmosphere of London seems to be everywhere, but seems to disappear as soon as you enter the hotel. A sudden calm and relaxed atmosphere is felt, probably from the warm and friendly smiles of the reception staff. The rooms are so comfortable and cosy you forget how busy your surroundings are. The reception staff were so thoughtful as to offer to keep our bags in case we had other places we wanted to go without the huddle of dragging our bags everywhere. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Ernest Jnr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, General Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your great description of our property and location, We indeed do our best in keeping a pleasant calm atmosphere, so as to create a home from home, it is our pleasure to make our guests feel welcome, I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Many thanks, Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Great hotel so close to all the tourist sights. Staff were helpful and friendly, especially inaki on front desk. His customer service skills were second to none. He is a credit to the hotel. The apartment was a little oasis, clean, stylish. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jasmine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, General Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments, I will certainly pass on your praise to Inaki, who I'm sure will be very pleased to hear you were happy with his service.

I hope we can welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards, Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

A central London studio apartment for the price of some of the not necessarily 'quality' London hotels. The extra space provided alone makes it well worth it, now add to this a dining area, small fridge, sink, hob & microwave, complimentary Wi-Fi this turns into a mini home from home.

The staff are friendly and professional and the room clean and tidy. Even though facing the extremely busy Northumberland Avenue there was hardly any noise filtering through. Leicester Square, Soho, the London Eye, Westminster, Big Ben, Convent Garden, Buckingham Palace all are within 10-15 minutes walk - blinding!! And shopping - pop into Charing Gross tube (a couple of minutes walk away) and you can be in Oxford Street in less than 15 minutes.

Only downers, shower isn't that powerful but it does - oh and if you're a TV freak the exceptionally small screen for the size of the room won't be to your liking.

First place I'm checking next time I'm in London for a couple of nights!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony-Southend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, General Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your feedback.

I'm pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I'm sorry to hear you faced issues with the shower and television. We are in fact looking to get bigger screens in early 2014, and hope to replace the majority, and hopefully make the experience a more positive one, especially for those who like television.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Kind Regards, Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

The location of these apartments is fantastic, walking distance from Trafalgar Square and in close proximity to other great London locations and many great restaurants. I had booked the apartments for a business trip and was generally pleased by the size considering the price and the location. There was a fully kitted out kitchen (although on the small size), a lounge area and a separate bedroom area. At this hotel they do take security very seriously as you need to swipe your card at the entrance and in the lift to get to your room. They have a few steps going up into the entrance of the hotel and when you are trying to bring up heavy bags can be a bit annoying trying to negotiate this with minimum help. Overall, was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirpal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, General Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I'm glad you were pleased with the majority of your stay.

I'm sorry to here you had difficulties with your bags, as a serviced residence we do not have dedicated luggage porters, though all of our staff are happy to help if required, we do try to keep our eyes open for anyone who requires assistance. I am sorry if we failed to do so on this ocassion.

I hope you will visit us again soon. We will do our best to exceed your expecations.

With Kind Regards, Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bega, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Walk out of the door, then it doesn't matter which way you turn because in 30 seconds you are somewhere special. The apartment was very comfortable although we found the downstairs part too dark. However it had everything we needed and iit was clean and spacious. Close to 2 tube stations, the Thames, easy walk to Covent Garden, the Strand, National Portrait Gallery etc etc - in fact everything. Good eating places around, small Tesco nearby. Not cheap but you get what you pay for. I'd certainly stay there again. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Two bedroom apartment is spacious with plenty of storage. There are stairs to negotiate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 707MaureenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, General Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I'm glad you were happy with the location and service, however I'm sorry that you found the living area to be too dark. Please be assured I am looking into this, and have already been testing new LED lighting and uplighting. I appreciate your feedback, as this will help us improve further.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards, Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Westminster
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,504 reviews
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#100 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,456 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Trafalgar Square London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Trafalgar Square London

Property: Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Address: 18 - 21 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5EA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in London
#211 Family Hotel in London
#226 Romantic Hotel in London
#259 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Trafalgar Square London 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated for 2012 and located just a few steps away from Nelson’s Column in Trafalgar Square, Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is a short walk from the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Westminster Abbey. You are also close to Buckingham Palace, St James’s Park and the National Portrait Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. In this area, busy streets are lined with shops leading down to Covent Garden and Oxford Street. Nearby, St James' Park is a perfect place to take a break from the bustle of the city. The Apart'hotel offers you 187 air conditioned flats over 9 floors, including 126 studios for 1 or 2 people, 49 one-bedroom apartments that sleep up to 4 people and 12 two-bedroom duplex apartments for up to 6 people. In the studios, choose between a double or twin pullout sofa bed. In the one-bedroom apartments, there are twin pullout sofa beds in the lounge area and a double bed in the bedroom. In the two-bedroom apartments, there are double sofa beds in the lounge area, and double beds in the bedrooms.Each studio and apartment of the residence houses a bathroom with hairdryer, a fully-equipped kitchen area complete with cooking hobs, microwave, fridge and dishwasher, complimentary internet access, TV with satellite channels, a direct-line phone and safe deposit box. Ideal Location.Many of the major sites of London are on your doorstep, including the Houses of Parliament & Big Ben, Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey. Being very close to the River Thames, your apart’hotel offers easy access to the Southbank Centre and its wide selection of theatres, bars and restaurants as well as the London Eye observation wheel. Culture lovers will enjoy visiting the National Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is convenient for Charing Cross and Embankment Underground stations, providing easy connections to all parts of the capital. Immerse yourself in the lively atmosphere of Piccadilly Circus and take in a show in the heart of Theatreland and then head to one of the plentiful traditional English pubs to round off your evening before heading back to your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Citadines Trafalgar Square London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Trafalgar Square London Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing