We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Ranked #281 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 December 2013

To be fair, I stayed at this Citadines after a stay at the Citadines Prestige Saint-Germain-des-Pres, which was incredible.

This Citadines offered a smaller room than the one in Paris (although it was the same "style" room), the bed in the bedroom was smaller, and the fold-out twin beds were less comfortable (they also folded out perpendicular from the bed, which was weird). The staff was not quite as friendly (although they were still very helpful), the beds weren't made everyday like in Paris, and the amenities in the lobby (namely the coffee machine) didn't work very well.

That said, it was still a great place to stay. Located between Charing Cross and Embankment Metro, right in Trafalgar Square, we were in walking distance of ALMOST everything we wanted to do and see during our stay (although proximity to the metro was very important for seeing things like the Tower of London and the Imperial War Museum).

This is a pleasant hotel and a good value; I simply think my experience at this Citadines was jaded by my experience at the Citadines in Paris.

Room Tip: Because Northumberland is a highly-trafficked street, see if you can get a room on a higher floor (t...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Sarah

Thank you for taking the time to review Citadines Prestige Trafalgar. I am glad you enjoyed your experience with us, hopefully however, should you return we can prove that we are just as good as Citadines Prestige Saint-Germain-des-Pres.

Regards,

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,253)
There are newer reviews for Citadines Trafalgar Square London
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,039 - 1,045 of 2,253 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here.
High points were it's location, and that it was secure and quiet.
We took the tube from Heathrow to Charing Cross, which puts you in Trafalgar square. A short walk on Northumberland st. and you're there. Walk past the hotel to the end of the street and the Hungerford bridge starts, which you walk across to the London eye-to put the location in perspective.
Check in was efficient,..I had used booking.com to make my reservation.
Staff were very friendly. The lobby was usually bustling,..with newspapers ands a tv with a news station. It was 2 days before Christmas and they had mince pies next to the tea/coffee station. A lovely touch.
We were on the 3rd floor. The lift is small but fast, and the hallway perhaps a bit worn looking, but that was the only thing I noticed.
The room was perfect for two of us, for two nights. We were moving to a flat for the next part of our stay. The kitchenette had everything you could need,..we used the fridge and a few plates for snacks, but you could prepare a meal for sure.
We paid $300 Canadian per night,..and I think based on the fact it was Christmas, in the heart of London, and the proximity to Piccadilly, Oxford st, etc..it was great value.
We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eeeandess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting such a detailed review. Yes the location is great and we have a great team that will do their utmost to ensure the guest are looked after to high standard, which I am pleased you were.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in London and should you return we would love to welcome you back to Citadines Prestige Trafalgar.

Best Regards,

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This property is located within easy walking of two tube stops, and it's just a few blocks from a plethora of restaurants and pubs. Our rooms were perfect for a family of four adults, and we enjoyed the staff and the beverage and breakfast service. I can't imagine we'd do better for the money in London, and would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesliegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for such a fabulous review. I am glad you enjoyed our tea and coffee facilities and our great team we have at Citadines Prestige Trafalgar. We look forward to you returning on your next visit to London.

Regards,

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The location is very good. Very close to two tube stations in case you want to go downtown.
Checking in went as usual. Rather slow and standard.
The room was disappointing small. Everything was there, but it was small.
Nice large desk to work at. Internet connection extremely slow. You cannot work with that.
There is a connection, but it takes ages for email to come in, impossible to work with.

The shower was way too narrow. Finally a shower with an on/off switch.
Towels small and just a few.

Problem was the noise in the room. There is a kitchen in the room, which means there is a refrigerator. It is continuously cooling and turns on and off when temperature is reached.
During the silent night time this is a very disturbing noise.

So, very good hotel to spend time in the city. Hotel is more than good enough to just spend your nights.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Hans

Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay with us. I am sorry you found the room small, all our rooms a slightly different, we do also have three different room sizes so perhaps should you wish to return I would advise to book a larger size.

I thank you for letting us know about you stay again and look forward to welcoming you back to us again soon.

Best Regards,

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

we were looking for a very central hotel with parking and citidines came up on the lists to choose from, but the price and the benefit of an apartment was one of the reasons we decided to book, and what a good move that was, the room is an excellent size, clean modern and well equipped and everything is within walking distance, trafalgar sq and the thames are literally at the end of the street about 100 meters away, and then within 15 minutes you have all that london can offer. would i stop here again, yes for sure

Room Tip: the mesanine level has to have the best view, but can be a bit noisey
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artherdaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for such a great review. The rooms are large for central London as you mentioned and coupled with the benefits of having an apartment make it a great choice.

Thank you again for the kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

On arrival we had a warm welcome.

The room was a double. Clean, modern, comfortable and well fitted out.

After arriving in room there was a knock at the door and a complimentary bottle of wine hand delivered my desk staff for my wife's birthday! Lovely touch!

Perfect location and faultless stay.
Thank you!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SDESTAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for the great feedback. I am glad the team made your stay so memorable and have past your comments onto them.

We look forward to you returning to us.

Regards,

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

A great location for Covent Garden, Leicester Sq and the shops along Piccadilly, plus very near to Charing Cross tube and rail. The hotel itself is comprised of self contained units - with a small kitchen area and fridge etc. No bar in the hotel but with a supermarket nearby you could always buy a bottle of wine or some beers and make use of the fridge. Will save a bit of ££. Staff are friendly enough and efficient. Were happy to store our bags for a few hours after we checked out.
We had a room on the 8th which as it was on the road side was just as well, as I would imagine that rooms lower down may suffer from traffic noise unless they have better sound proofing.
All in all a fairly good hotel that ticked the boxes, although not cheap at £160, but that's London for you.

Room Tip: Aim for a room higher up.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darren05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Darren

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the staff friendly.

We look forward to you returning to Citadines Prestige Trafalgar in the future.

Regards,

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,072 in London
3,873 reviews
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#175 of 1,072 in London
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Trafalgar Square London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Trafalgar Square London

Address: 18 - 21 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in London
#211 Family Hotel in London
#226 Romantic Hotel in London
#259 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £156 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Trafalgar Square London 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated for 2012 and located just a few steps away from Nelson’s Column in Trafalgar Square, Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is a short walk from the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Westminster Abbey. You are also close to Buckingham Palace, St James’s Park and the National Portrait Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. In this area, busy streets are lined with shops leading down to Covent Garden and Oxford Street. Nearby, St James' Park is a perfect place to take a break from the bustle of the city. The Apart'hotel offers you 187 air conditioned flats over 9 floors, including 126 studios for 1 or 2 people, 49 one-bedroom apartments that sleep up to 4 people and 12 two-bedroom duplex apartments for up to 6 people. In the studios, choose between a double or twin pullout sofa bed. In the one-bedroom apartments, there are twin pullout sofa beds in the lounge area and a double bed in the bedroom. In the two-bedroom apartments, there are double sofa beds in the lounge area, and double beds in the bedrooms.Each studio and apartment of the residence houses a bathroom with hairdryer, a fully-equipped kitchen area complete with cooking hobs, microwave, fridge and dishwasher, complimentary internet access, TV with satellite channels, a direct-line phone and safe deposit box. Ideal Location.Many of the major sites of London are on your doorstep, including the Houses of Parliament & Big Ben, Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey. Being very close to the River Thames, your apart’hotel offers easy access to the Southbank Centre and its wide selection of theatres, bars and restaurants as well as the London Eye observation wheel. Culture lovers will enjoy visiting the National Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is convenient for Charing Cross and Embankment Underground stations, providing easy connections to all parts of the capital. Immerse yourself in the lively atmosphere of Piccadilly Circus and take in a show in the heart of Theatreland and then head to one of the plentiful traditional English pubs to round off your evening before heading back to your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Lastminute, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Citadines Trafalgar Square London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Trafalgar Square London Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing