We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Ranked #282 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Super location nice hotel”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

As the other reviews say super location. Found the staff friendly and helpful and the room was nice and very quiet. Only downside was breakfast was included in our deal and it was slightly chaotic with lack of plates knives etc. However the food was very nice and was replenished fairly quickly. We worked around it using what there was. Easy to get to many venues from here and close to the south bank recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linkeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the posting about your recent stay at Citadines Prestige Trafalgar. I am glad you had a good overall experience with us and thank you for letting me know about your breakfast issues.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Citadines Prestige Trafalgar in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    910
    263
    84
    50
See reviews for
820
668
86
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square for two nights in a one bedroom apartment to allow the three of us to recover from our flight from Australia at the start our European vacation. The service was very good. We arrived very early and it was no problem for the staff to allow us to leave our luggage in a secure room until we were able to check in. The location of the hotel is excellent. Many places of interest all within a few minutes walk. The apartment was perfect for our needs. A separate bedroom plus a double sofa bed in the living room. All wonderfully comfortable. The kitchenette, though small, was perfectly adequate for our needs. The décor is modern and the apartment was very clean. We would have liked to have been able to stay longer!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us. I am glad our team looked after you and you enjoyed the rooms.

Hopefully we will see you next time you visit London, and as you say, hopefully for longer then 2 nights!

Best Wishes,

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is a great location just off of Trafalgar Square near the Embankment train station and Charring Cross Tube station. The area boasts Culture, Architecture, a variety of restaurants and is a great spot to observe London’s urban society and infrastructure.
Everything you might need from restaurants to shops is close by. The apartments are very close to at least 10 historical sites; all are within a 15 minute walk. It was easy to jump on the tube or bus to get anywhere in London. Free coffee, Espresso, etc. is offered from a lobby brew station.
A Tip if you are disabled –
This would not be an easy place for someone who is in a wheelchair or disabled. The front entrance has 3 steps up and I did not see an egress for a person in a wheelchair. There is no drop off at the curb as the front is within a parking zone. You will therefore likely get picked up or dropped off about 20 feet away. The tub wall to get into the shower is a little tall (~ 2 feet). A disabled person or someone with a hip injury would have a hard time entering and exiting.
A few minor issues –
Assistance with luggage is available but not until they see you pulling it to the front door. There is no doorman.
The bath sink water pressure in room 421 was barely adequate. The pressure may have been dialed down as sink drain could not even handle the low volume of water and it would back up.
The cushions on the sofa bed would not stay on the sofa when you sat on them. The consistently slid forward as you sat. We could not find a way to make this stop. Some sort of attachment may be missing.
Stuff we did -
Trafalgar Square
London hop on/hop off Bus Tour
The National Gallery
The London Eye
The Sherlock Holmes Pub
Prezzo Italian restaurant
Carphone Warehouse [£ phone SIMS] – saved a tone of money

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Michael

Thank you for posting feedback on your recent stay with us. It is good to hear from all guest especially when they enjoyed their stay. As you mentioned the location is great and thank you for posting some great tourist spots in the area that people should attend.

In regards to the entrance for disabled cliental, we have a portable ramp that can be put down when needed. Yes we do not have a doorman, but anyone who needs help as you said mentioned will be assisted.

I hope you will return to us again upon your next visit to London.

Regards,

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Loved this location right beside Trafalgar Square. We had a large studio room on the Mezzanine floor that overlooked the street, it was so well sound proofed we didn't hear a thing! Very friendly and helpful staff, free coffee machine was a very nice touch.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Kim

Thank you for leaving your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am please you had an enjoyable experience with us, and we hope you will come back to Citadines Prestige Trafalgar soon.

Best Wishes,

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square definitely earns its title as "prestige". It's 5 stars all the way! With it's fresh contemporary-décor and exceptional service by all levels of staff, we will be return customers without a doubt. The lobby and 2-bedroom hotel room with living room and kitchenette was immaculately spotless, veryyy comfortable, and quiet. And the complimentary cappuccino/mocha/espresso machine in the lobby was a nice touch. I highly recommend this hotel to all. Two thumbs up and smiles all the way!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TCorrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for such a kind review. It is always great to hear such positive feedback about the property and the staff we have.

We very much look forward to you returning to us.

Best Regards,

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed four nights at this Citadines property in September 2013. Position was brilliant and reception were friendly and helpful. As previous reviewers have said, the layout of the rooms/apartments is not user friendly. The rooms are very tiny, they all come off a central hallway and the doors will not stay open. This makes is very difficult to move around, particularly with luggage. If you were travelling alone and wanted somewhere central, it would be a good choice, but for families with children and luggage, it's difficult to relax in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyFamily512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear of your difficulties, but would like to let you know that this issue was rectified in January. The doors were previously self closing, they now however are magnetised to stay open unless closed or in an emergency.

Once again I am sorry for this issue you faced when staying with us but hope you would come back and try us again.

Regards,

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel has an amazing location for the visitor to London. It is located on a tree lined street between Trafalgar Square and the Jubilee pedestrian bridge over the Thames River. It is also about equidistant from the Charing Cross tube and train station and the Embankment tube station. As a result, a tourist is able to walk to many of London's major attractions and can easily take public transport to those that are further away.

We took the tube from Heathrow using an Oyster Card. We had a studio room overlooking Northumberland Avenue. The room was a good size and was very well equipped with a fridge, microwave, dishwasher, hotplate, kettle, toaster, dishes for two people and a programmable safe. The bed and linens were both comfortable and immaculate. The room was surprisingly quiet given its location in central London. Street noise was only audible when a window was open. The staff at this hotel were all pleasant and very efficient.

The bathroom, however, while perfectly functional, could have been designed better. One has to use extreme caution while getting out of the combined tub/shower enclosure which has extremely high sides.The other minor annoyance we had at this hotel was the card entry system. We were initially unable to enter our room using our touch cards and had to wait while the locking system on our door was replaced. Although our cards worked well most of the time, we had to have them reprogrammed a few times during our stay.

These two things were only minor inconveniences for us and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting London. We have previously stayed at the Vancouver Studios and Citadines High Holborn and while these hotels are comparable in the quality of the accommodations to the Citadines Trafalgar Square, the location of this hotel is hard to beat.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ani79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience with us. As you mentioned the hotel location is great with access to all points of London with relative ease. My apologies about your key card I will be speaking personally with maintenance manager about this issue.

Once again thank you for the kind review.

Regards,

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,067 in London
3,666 reviews
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#196 of 1,067 in London
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Trafalgar Square London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Trafalgar Square London

Property: Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Address: 18 - 21 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5EA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in London
#211 Family Hotel in London
#226 Romantic Hotel in London
#259 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Trafalgar Square London 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated for 2012 and located just a few steps away from Nelson’s Column in Trafalgar Square, Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is a short walk from the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Westminster Abbey. You are also close to Buckingham Palace, St James’s Park and the National Portrait Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. In this area, busy streets are lined with shops leading down to Covent Garden and Oxford Street. Nearby, St James' Park is a perfect place to take a break from the bustle of the city. The Apart'hotel offers you 187 air conditioned flats over 9 floors, including 126 studios for 1 or 2 people, 49 one-bedroom apartments that sleep up to 4 people and 12 two-bedroom duplex apartments for up to 6 people. In the studios, choose between a double or twin pullout sofa bed. In the one-bedroom apartments, there are twin pullout sofa beds in the lounge area and a double bed in the bedroom. In the two-bedroom apartments, there are double sofa beds in the lounge area, and double beds in the bedrooms.Each studio and apartment of the residence houses a bathroom with hairdryer, a fully-equipped kitchen area complete with cooking hobs, microwave, fridge and dishwasher, complimentary internet access, TV with satellite channels, a direct-line phone and safe deposit box. Ideal Location.Many of the major sites of London are on your doorstep, including the Houses of Parliament & Big Ben, Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey. Being very close to the River Thames, your apart’hotel offers easy access to the Southbank Centre and its wide selection of theatres, bars and restaurants as well as the London Eye observation wheel. Culture lovers will enjoy visiting the National Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is convenient for Charing Cross and Embankment Underground stations, providing easy connections to all parts of the capital. Immerse yourself in the lively atmosphere of Piccadilly Circus and take in a show in the heart of Theatreland and then head to one of the plentiful traditional English pubs to round off your evening before heading back to your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Citadines Trafalgar Square London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Trafalgar Square London Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing