We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Ranked #289 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Location”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Like the say in real estate; location, location, location. This place is really good. The room was spacious (not like I had heard about rooms in the UK) and I got the small room. It is steps from 2 tube stations (Charing Cross and Embankment), Spamalot, The National Gallery, Trafalgar Square, the Eye, many pubs and shopping. It is only 10 minutes from Parliament, Big Ben, and Westminster. The ONLY reason this does not get 5 stars is the bathroom. The water pressure is next to nothing, but it sufficed. The people at the desk were very nice and accommodating. There is a breakfast if you choose, which was a bit overpriced (13.00 BP).
If I get the chance to come back I will look here first. For what you get and of course the location, the price is well worth it.

Room Tip: Go around the corner towards Embankment station and find the Blue Onion sandwich shop. great food an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkM76180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Mark,

Thank you for posting on your recent stay with us. As you mentioned the location is great with lots of major attractions within a short walking distance. My apologies about the shower pressure, maintenance are currently undertaking an inspection of all boilers within the property. We look forward to you returning and us hopefully receiving 5 stars!

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    892
    258
    84
    50
See reviews for
801
649
86
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

As a parent of three children under 12 I find myself trying to find a hotel that can accommodate us comfortably.
I never thought I could find a hotel with the amenities that Citadines had.
We requested the loft apartment and were pleasantly surprised on how good and comfortable it was, we had a kitchenette, fridge and a living room area with a dining table. The hotel also has a laundry room on the lowest level (extra charge works with tokens) A great breakfast is offered everyday for a very reasonable charge and excellent fresh waffles!
My only complaint with be the bathroom on our room, on the lover level was the toilette and the shower on the 1st floor which means that if you are up in the middle of the night and sleeping on the first floor you will have to go down a very narrow staircase to reach the toilette.
This will be the only reason why I will rate 4 instead of 5.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelMNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Rachel,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your time at Citadines Prestige Trafalgar. Yes we are a good option for families in London with spacious rooms and very central location. Once again thank you for posting about your time with us.

Regards,

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights, a family of five and were very impressed. Great location, you can walk to London eye, Buckingham palace etc. very handy having a small tescos a few minutes away. Well equipped modern apartment, tea and coffee in reception is a nice touch.
The apartments can be a little dark, windows are very small and better lighting would help.
No washing machine in the apartment but I believe there was one downstairs.
All in all very pleased and if I'm back in London will be staying here again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PElspethC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your time in London with your family and we look forward to welcoming you back to Citadines Prestige Trafalgar in the future.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Very central , easy way to descover londons, just a few steps from main exhibitions, transport restaurants and stores.The best way to avoid waisting time in metro or buses.
the rooms are small but very well furnished.very clean.Beds are comfy.
since my last stay the hotel had been renovated and is just great.
The staff is friendly , efficient and very helpfull.
Will defintly choose this hotel for my nest stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your great review on Tripadvisor, I am glad you had a nice time with us. Yes we had a major refurbishment finish in 2012 so it would have changed from your last visit. Once again thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Citadines Prestige Trafalgar in the future.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We spent five nights here at Easter time 2013 as a family of three. This hotel is centrally located, right near Trafalgar Square, a tube stop, the Thames and the London Eye. You can easily walk to St James Park and Buckingham Palace. Easter in London is very busy so being able to walk to Trafalgar Square first thing in the morning with virtually no-one else around was the best experience. My daughter loved sitting on the lions backs and running around without the usual crowds of people. The hotel itself is nice and clean - we booked a one bedroom which was a little on the small side but we were hardly in the room anyway. Next time though I would consider booking a two bedroom just for more space. The only complaint was that the bath/shower was very deep and it was difficult not to slip when getting in or out but we found the same problem in a lot of hotels in Europe. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaydarVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. Yes the location is great, and as you say Trafalgar Square early morning is beautiful. I'm sorry you found the room small, all the rooms slightly differ with slightly larger bedrooms or lounges depending on location. I am glad you will come back and we look forward to you back to Citadines Prestige Trafalgar soon.

Regards,

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in London for two nights in February at the Citadines Prestige. I initially chose it purely for location; you are a stones throw from Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Palace, London Eye... perfect for sight seeing.
The fact that it is an aparthotel was great as we were planning on eating out and about and meeting friends during our stay.

On our arrival the reception area as super busy and the staff were very polite, chatty, friendly and efficient getting everyone checked out and checked in.
We arrived before we could check in and staff sorted out storage of our cases ready for us to hit the town. You also get complimentary tea, coffee and hot choc in reception 24 hrs a day which is a nice touch.

The room itself was great; spacious, very comfy large bed. We had a bit of a crappy view of an office block but could see the shard in the background but to be honest we didn't plan in looking out of our window all day long.

The only thing that I wasn't keen on was the room temperature - I woke up roasting and parched the first night but this is because I didn't know how to work the thermostat. Only thing I would say is make sure you check out how to use it as I didn't and woke up dry as a bone.

We really enjoyed our stay at the citadines, we told everyone about the location and the great time we had and now they all want to stay at this hotel when visiting London.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor - no noise from the street or other guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loubylou201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for such a wonderfully detailed review. As you mentioned the location is perfect for visitors to London with lots of major attraction within walking distance. I'm glad the team looked after you, so well I will pass your comments onto them. As you mentioned the rooms are of a very good sized for central London with 26 sqm being the size our smallest category. Once again thank you and we forward to welcoming you back to Citadines Prestige Trafalgar on your next visit to London.

Kind Regards,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed at this apartment with my family for seven nights in early February. Apartment was nice and clean, however the cleaning schedule was poor. At this hotel they gave a basic clean of emptying the bins and changing the towels daily and on the 4th and 6th days a full service including vacuuming and changing the bed linen. However we found this was not the case, on several occasions on the basic cleaning days they forgot to empty our bin which caused an issue for us as we had dirty nappies from our nine month old baby. This issue was quickly rectified with a call to reception, however other issues with cleaning included the majority of crockery being removed from the room and not replaced and finally the full service as indicated on their schedule never occurred.

Overall the location and facilities were really good for us and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jwind44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed your week with us and happy you would stay again. I am sorry though that the housekeeping issues you faced when with us. I will personally be speaking with the Head Housekeeper into the failings during your stay. Once again my apologies, but we look forward to welcoming you back to so can experience the true Citadines Prestige Trafalgar experience.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,593 reviews
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#105 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,514 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,064 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Trafalgar Square London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Trafalgar Square London

Property: Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Address: 18 - 21 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5EA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in London
#211 Family Hotel in London
#226 Romantic Hotel in London
#259 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Trafalgar Square London 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated for 2012 and located just a few steps away from Nelson’s Column in Trafalgar Square, Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is a short walk from the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Westminster Abbey. You are also close to Buckingham Palace, St James’s Park and the National Portrait Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. In this area, busy streets are lined with shops leading down to Covent Garden and Oxford Street. Nearby, St James' Park is a perfect place to take a break from the bustle of the city. The Apart'hotel offers you 187 air conditioned flats over 9 floors, including 126 studios for 1 or 2 people, 49 one-bedroom apartments that sleep up to 4 people and 12 two-bedroom duplex apartments for up to 6 people. In the studios, choose between a double or twin pullout sofa bed. In the one-bedroom apartments, there are twin pullout sofa beds in the lounge area and a double bed in the bedroom. In the two-bedroom apartments, there are double sofa beds in the lounge area, and double beds in the bedrooms.Each studio and apartment of the residence houses a bathroom with hairdryer, a fully-equipped kitchen area complete with cooking hobs, microwave, fridge and dishwasher, complimentary internet access, TV with satellite channels, a direct-line phone and safe deposit box. Ideal Location.Many of the major sites of London are on your doorstep, including the Houses of Parliament & Big Ben, Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey. Being very close to the River Thames, your apart’hotel offers easy access to the Southbank Centre and its wide selection of theatres, bars and restaurants as well as the London Eye observation wheel. Culture lovers will enjoy visiting the National Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is convenient for Charing Cross and Embankment Underground stations, providing easy connections to all parts of the capital. Immerse yourself in the lively atmosphere of Piccadilly Circus and take in a show in the heart of Theatreland and then head to one of the plentiful traditional English pubs to round off your evening before heading back to your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Citadines Trafalgar Square London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Trafalgar Square London Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing