We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2-bedroom suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Ranked #274 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“2-bedroom suite”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We booked two 2-bedroom units at this property for a 6-night stay in cental London. The only negative experience was at check in when we were assigned the wrong room and sent to an already occupied room. The problem was quickly resolved so not an issue for us, but I certainly hope this was an isolated incident as I was somewhat concerned for our security.

Please note that due to construction, the Embankment tube station only has District and Circle lines stopping there, no other lines, I believe this will be through fall 2014 so this makes the location a little less convenient that normal. Furthermore, while the location is overall exceptional, we weren't happy with the dining choices in the immediate vicinity. One night the front desk recommended Garfunkles up the street and it was a boring chain resturant with some british food items but otherwise like any US chain, we were not at all impressed, much better local dining options in Covent Garden/Soho area than near Trafalgar Square itself. We did very much enjoy the Sherlock Holmes pub next door however.

The 2-bedroom unit is on two floors. Toilet room, kitchen and living room on the lower floor. Stairs are very steep and narrow, my daughter and I both slipped, be very careful especially when carrying luggage up and down. Upstairs is a shower/sink and the two bedrooms. Rooms were very nicely appointed and decorated, and well maintained. There is a "light" cleaning daily with clean towels, beds made up, and garbage removed, this was more than adequate. We only ate breakfasts in the room daily but the kitchen was well equipped for more intensive meal preparation. A few tea bags, instant coffees, sugar and milk were provided in each room. The water kettle was impressively fast at heating water. The dishwasher didn't seem to get our dishes clean at all so we washed those by hand. Groceries at all the nearby stores were very affordable, we picked up fresh pastries each evening for breakfast the next day, and especially enjoyed the good yogurts. There was both a Tesco and Co-op store very close and other stores a block or so further on. Only one type of liquid soap is provided in the shower, a combined shampoo/body wash. We picked up conditioner at a local store. We appreciated the coffee service in the lobby and found the laundry room adequate although busy during the evening hours.

Windows are very high up so there isn't really a view to speak of. There are no drawers in the bedrooms. The queen room only has a tv and mirror and the frame provides a small shelf. The 2-twin room has no tv, thus no small shelf. The bedroom doors are "fire" doors, either open or all the way closed, can't be open just a crack. There is also a fire door at the top of the stairs. Not a great set up for parents to listen for napping children, you can't hear a thing from the bedrooms if you are on the lower level,

There were of course ample UK outlets, but also one Euro style outlet in each bedroom and one in the living room.

Wifi is limited to 4 devices per room, not enough for our family with 7 devices among 3 adults and one child. I felt this limit of 4 was an unnecessary hassle for a room that sleeps 6. I do not have international cell or wifi service on my phone or tablet and rely heavily on the wifi from the hotel which was not only limited to the 4 devices per room but often also had a weak signal. My family argued about who got to use wifi for which device - think this is an area the property management definitely could improve for what we paid for two 2-bedroom units for 6 nights we really ALL should have been allowed to use the wifi.

Overall we loved our accomodations at Citadines Trafalgar and felt it was a good value for 2-bedroom with kitchenette in this exceptional location within walking distance of many local attractions and two tube stations.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northriver9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a great detailed review. I am glad you had such a great time with us. I am sorry about the issue at check in but am glad it was resolved quickly. As you mentioned Embankment is closed to Northern and Bakerloo Lines, but they stop at Charing Cross which is 100 meters from Embankment. In regards to the WIFI we can issue more codes for more users I am sorry this was not communicated to you. Once again thank you for such a great review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Citadines Prestige Trafalgar in the future.
Best Wishes
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    925
    264
    85
    50
See reviews for
838
678
88
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and was very impressed with the hotel, rooms were very clean, quiet and the beds were comfortable, everything you require for a pleasant stay. The hotel is in a fantastic location where you can tour the attractions on foot, it is an easy walk to London eye, Buckingham palace etc and close to the subway system. Staff were very courteous, helpful and prepared to answer your questions and provide assistance.
A special thank you to Justyna at reception who went above and beyond to provide us assistance in addressing some reservation issues pre-trip and upon arrival had us checked in without any further issues at all.
All in all very pleased and if we are back in London will be staying here again and will recommend to any friends heading to London for a vacation

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fraser S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you such a wonderful review. Yes the location is perfect for exploring London's many famous sights. I have passed your great comments onto Justyna, who is pleased you enjoyed her help. Once again Thank you, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Citadines Prestige Trafalgar in the future.

Regards,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Jan Ryser
Unterfeldweg 122
3053 Münchenbuchsee

Suisse

Thank you for the good service in our hotel.
Thank you that they will send me my sunglasses back. I've rarely spent a good time in a hotel. The room was not so bad, except for the views.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suisseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving such great feedback, we are glad you enjoyed the service the team gave you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Citadines Prestige Trafalgar in the future.

Best Wishes,

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Like the say in real estate; location, location, location. This place is really good. The room was spacious (not like I had heard about rooms in the UK) and I got the small room. It is steps from 2 tube stations (Charing Cross and Embankment), Spamalot, The National Gallery, Trafalgar Square, the Eye, many pubs and shopping. It is only 10 minutes from Parliament, Big Ben, and Westminster. The ONLY reason this does not get 5 stars is the bathroom. The water pressure is next to nothing, but it sufficed. The people at the desk were very nice and accommodating. There is a breakfast if you choose, which was a bit overpriced (13.00 BP).
If I get the chance to come back I will look here first. For what you get and of course the location, the price is well worth it.

Room Tip: Go around the corner towards Embankment station and find the Blue Onion sandwich shop. great food an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkM76180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Mark,

Thank you for posting on your recent stay with us. As you mentioned the location is great with lots of major attractions within a short walking distance. My apologies about the shower pressure, maintenance are currently undertaking an inspection of all boilers within the property. We look forward to you returning and us hopefully receiving 5 stars!

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

As a parent of three children under 12 I find myself trying to find a hotel that can accommodate us comfortably.
I never thought I could find a hotel with the amenities that Citadines had.
We requested the loft apartment and were pleasantly surprised on how good and comfortable it was, we had a kitchenette, fridge and a living room area with a dining table. The hotel also has a laundry room on the lowest level (extra charge works with tokens) A great breakfast is offered everyday for a very reasonable charge and excellent fresh waffles!
My only complaint with be the bathroom on our room, on the lover level was the toilette and the shower on the 1st floor which means that if you are up in the middle of the night and sleeping on the first floor you will have to go down a very narrow staircase to reach the toilette.
This will be the only reason why I will rate 4 instead of 5.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelMNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Rachel,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your time at Citadines Prestige Trafalgar. Yes we are a good option for families in London with spacious rooms and very central location. Once again thank you for posting about your time with us.

Regards,

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights, a family of five and were very impressed. Great location, you can walk to London eye, Buckingham palace etc. very handy having a small tescos a few minutes away. Well equipped modern apartment, tea and coffee in reception is a nice touch.
The apartments can be a little dark, windows are very small and better lighting would help.
No washing machine in the apartment but I believe there was one downstairs.
All in all very pleased and if I'm back in London will be staying here again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PElspethC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your time in London with your family and we look forward to welcoming you back to Citadines Prestige Trafalgar in the future.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Very central , easy way to descover londons, just a few steps from main exhibitions, transport restaurants and stores.The best way to avoid waisting time in metro or buses.
the rooms are small but very well furnished.very clean.Beds are comfy.
since my last stay the hotel had been renovated and is just great.
The staff is friendly , efficient and very helpfull.
Will defintly choose this hotel for my nest stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your great review on Tripadvisor, I am glad you had a nice time with us. Yes we had a major refurbishment finish in 2012 so it would have changed from your last visit. Once again thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Citadines Prestige Trafalgar in the future.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,068 in London
3,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#178 of 1,068 in London
1,145 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Trafalgar Square London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Trafalgar Square London

Property: Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Address: 18 - 21 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in London
#211 Family Hotel in London
#226 Romantic Hotel in London
#259 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Trafalgar Square London 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated for 2012 and located just a few steps away from Nelson’s Column in Trafalgar Square, Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is a short walk from the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Westminster Abbey. You are also close to Buckingham Palace, St James’s Park and the National Portrait Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. In this area, busy streets are lined with shops leading down to Covent Garden and Oxford Street. Nearby, St James' Park is a perfect place to take a break from the bustle of the city. The Apart'hotel offers you 187 air conditioned flats over 9 floors, including 126 studios for 1 or 2 people, 49 one-bedroom apartments that sleep up to 4 people and 12 two-bedroom duplex apartments for up to 6 people. In the studios, choose between a double or twin pullout sofa bed. In the one-bedroom apartments, there are twin pullout sofa beds in the lounge area and a double bed in the bedroom. In the two-bedroom apartments, there are double sofa beds in the lounge area, and double beds in the bedrooms.Each studio and apartment of the residence houses a bathroom with hairdryer, a fully-equipped kitchen area complete with cooking hobs, microwave, fridge and dishwasher, complimentary internet access, TV with satellite channels, a direct-line phone and safe deposit box. Ideal Location.Many of the major sites of London are on your doorstep, including the Houses of Parliament & Big Ben, Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey. Being very close to the River Thames, your apart’hotel offers easy access to the Southbank Centre and its wide selection of theatres, bars and restaurants as well as the London Eye observation wheel. Culture lovers will enjoy visiting the National Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is convenient for Charing Cross and Embankment Underground stations, providing easy connections to all parts of the capital. Immerse yourself in the lively atmosphere of Piccadilly Circus and take in a show in the heart of Theatreland and then head to one of the plentiful traditional English pubs to round off your evening before heading back to your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Citadines Trafalgar Square London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Trafalgar Square London Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing