We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week in London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Ranked #271 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Peregian Beach, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Week in London”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Central location 150m from centre of London. hard to beat. Reception obliging and helpful. Laundry could have more explanation as with a week long stay we needed- new to us.
Coffee a welcome treat. Breakfast a bit dear 12GBP when you can walk up the road get a view and better choice

Room Tip: Had a one bedroom - fairly dar not luxury but we were out nearly all the time. Location exceptional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pacsun36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed exploring London from Citadines Trafalgar. I am glad you enjoyed the complimentary coffee facilities, I have also noted your comments about the laundry. Once again Thank You.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    925
    264
    85
    50
See reviews for
838
678
88
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed three nights at this hotel. Loved the location and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Just a few minutes walk to Trafalgar Square, ten minutes to the Eye and the Hop on Hop off are right across the street.

We had a one bedroom and it was perferct, very clean and roomy.

I am a travel agent and will be suggesting this hotel to my clients for sure! You cannot beat the location!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mexigal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful post. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to you returning in the future!

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I stayed a little over a week at this location and was the best part of our trip. It is located in the middle of London with many transportation choices in easy walking distance. The hotel staff was wonderful in helping us plan our outings and getting tickets to shows. The room was large for central London and the kitchen area kept us from always having to eat out. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamey71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Jamey,

Thank you for your fantastic post. I am glad you and wife had a nice time with us and have passed your great comments onto the Front Office team. Thank You.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, NV
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was our first visit to London. We chose Citadines for the location and price. Our stay was for 6 days, May 3rd, to May 9th. We were greeted by a very friendly and helpful staff. The lobby is spacious with many areas to relax and enjoy a complimentary latte or chocolate (24 hrs.) and read, watch television, use the lobby computer and visit. We were even offered complimentary umbrellas. Thankfully, we didn't need them often.

Our reservation was upgraded to an apartment, which gave us space to spread out and relax. The bedroom was separate from the living area and the living area was spacious with a nice sofa, desk and kitchenette,

The hotel sells discounted tickets to many of the sights you may want to visit in London. You just make your purchase at the front desk and then take the voucher to the venue.

We had been traveling for sometime, so the hotel laundry room was handy to do a quick load of wash before going on to Paris.

London offers easy access via the tube and buses on the street. The best value is to purchase an Oyster Pass for the number of days you will be visiting. We rode both everywhere. The hotel is one block to the Embankment on the Thames and one block to Trafalgar Square.

There are many close by restaurants. Garfunkels was okay for breakfast but you need to rush the staff and a second cup of coffee is nearly impossible.

I would definitely stay at Citadines again if in London.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donnafayesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your detailed post. I am glad you had a fantastic stay and I have passed your wonderful comments onto the team! We all look forward to you returning to Citadines in the future.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Nice apart hotel in excellent location next to metro station ,our apartment was big, with all the facilities but bathroom was a bit old and small. Breakfast was very basic ,so don't pay for it as there are a lot of other choices just one step from the hotel . Staff very helpful and kind .

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank YOLO_GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am glad you enjoyed our central location, as you mention we have a lot of eateries within walking distance. Thank You.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 5 days on our honeymoon and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Cant imagine a better location, its within walking distance to many of the main tourist attractions and situated between both charing cross and embankment stations means the rest of London is easily and quickly accessible via the tube. Our room was clean and spacious, staff were friendly and helpful, and the rose petals, chocolates and wine given in our room on arrival to celebrate our honeymoon was an especially nice gift.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DasFerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review! I am glad you had a great honeymoon and we look forward to hopefully seeing you on your anniversary!

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stayed 5 night at this hotel in one-bedroom apartment. Location is perfect, my room was very clean, new furniture, modern design. Very helpful staff. Great choice for tourists - very close to many attractions, tube station in 2 minutes, bike hire station in 20 meters from the door. At least 24h supermarkets are in short distance, pubs and cafés are also close. If traveling by car check carefully it's dimensions (information is provided by the hotel) as car access is by the lift and it is not very spacious (I rented Mercedes A-class and I felt myself okay, but if I have bigger car it will be challenging to use the parking). There is a direct lift from the parking to the floors, very convenient. I was solo traveler, so for me kitchen equipment was enough, but for 2 or more people the quantity of tableware and cutlery is insufficient (just 4 pieces of each plate, cup, spoon, etc.)

Room Tip: Studio is really small, suitable only for one person (and not for a long period)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine_zl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Catherine

Thank you for posting about your recent stay I am glad you had a good time with us. Yes our car park does have size restriction (can not take cars over 1.8 meters and more then 5 meters long.) Once again thank you for the great review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,069 in London
3,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#182 of 1,069 in London
1,145 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Trafalgar Square London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Trafalgar Square London

Property: Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Address: 18 - 21 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in London
#211 Family Hotel in London
#226 Romantic Hotel in London
#259 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Trafalgar Square London 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated for 2012 and located just a few steps away from Nelson’s Column in Trafalgar Square, Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is a short walk from the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Westminster Abbey. You are also close to Buckingham Palace, St James’s Park and the National Portrait Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. In this area, busy streets are lined with shops leading down to Covent Garden and Oxford Street. Nearby, St James' Park is a perfect place to take a break from the bustle of the city. The Apart'hotel offers you 187 air conditioned flats over 9 floors, including 126 studios for 1 or 2 people, 49 one-bedroom apartments that sleep up to 4 people and 12 two-bedroom duplex apartments for up to 6 people. In the studios, choose between a double or twin pullout sofa bed. In the one-bedroom apartments, there are twin pullout sofa beds in the lounge area and a double bed in the bedroom. In the two-bedroom apartments, there are double sofa beds in the lounge area, and double beds in the bedrooms.Each studio and apartment of the residence houses a bathroom with hairdryer, a fully-equipped kitchen area complete with cooking hobs, microwave, fridge and dishwasher, complimentary internet access, TV with satellite channels, a direct-line phone and safe deposit box. Ideal Location.Many of the major sites of London are on your doorstep, including the Houses of Parliament & Big Ben, Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey. Being very close to the River Thames, your apart’hotel offers easy access to the Southbank Centre and its wide selection of theatres, bars and restaurants as well as the London Eye observation wheel. Culture lovers will enjoy visiting the National Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is convenient for Charing Cross and Embankment Underground stations, providing easy connections to all parts of the capital. Immerse yourself in the lively atmosphere of Piccadilly Circus and take in a show in the heart of Theatreland and then head to one of the plentiful traditional English pubs to round off your evening before heading back to your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Trafalgar Square London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Trafalgar Square London Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing