We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to stay in london”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Ranked #285 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chennai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in london”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were first time travelers in UK and what an ideal location for us to stay. The check in was quick. We stayed in two bedroom duplex apartments, which was very comfortable. The kitchen was fully equipped.The 24 hour free coffee machine in the lobby was big plus. The front office staff was very friendly. Ideal location for us to move around in London on our own.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amitlapasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Amitlapasia,

Thank you for your great review! I am glad you got to utilise the kitchen facilities as London can get expensive to eat out everyday. Once again Thank You and we look forward to you returning on your next visit to London.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    790
    879
    255
    84
    49
See reviews for
783
637
85
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed in the Citadines Hotel in Trafagar Square at the conclusion of an extended stay in Europe. Initial impression was a little disappointing as our room was not ready at nearly 3pm in the afternoon. Fortunately, they kept our luggage while we found a restaurant nearby. Communication among the staff seemed to be our biggest challenge during our stay as we receive mixed messages from front desk, although this wasn't a major concern.

We booked their largest room--a 2-bedroom duplex--for our party of 5 adults. The room was on 2 levels, with the bathroom and 2 bedrooms up a short flight of stairs. Overall, the space was more than adequate, although the one and only bathroom did provide some scheduling challenges. The apartment was very clean and aside from some very noticeable wear on the stairway railings, the surroundings were in good condition. The small kitchen was very convenient and allowed us to store some food and snacks during our 4 day stay.

A couple of interesting notes: The elevators are extremely small and barely fit 4 or 5 people with luggage. On several occassions, our group of 5 had to split up to use the elevators. We tried to find a stairway as an alternative, but the only ones available had doors that were apparently alarmed. The lobby has a coffee machine which was quite popular among the guests. Unfortunately, during breakfast service (which comes at a fee), the coffee machine is reserved for breakfast guests. There is an alternate coffee maker elsewhere is the lobby, so don't make the mistake of using the one reserved for breakfast guests. Also, placing your room key in a discreet slot just inside your room activates the lights. Without a room key in this slot, the lights will not work. This is a nice energy-saving feature; however, it proved confusing when we first entered our room.

Overall, we were very pleased with the Citadines Hotel, and we would definitely stay again. The central location combined with the comfortable, clean surroundings made it a great home base for our time in London.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WileyWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderfully detail review. I am glad you had a great stay with us, my apologies though for your delay in checking in, this should not have occurred so am sorry. Once again thank you for reviewing your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great experience, wonderful service, amazing location. Other than minor nuisances, all was great during our 6 night stay. The kitchen was very handy for breakfasts, we always ate the first of two meals in the room.

Room Tip: Rooms on a high floor have better views and are quieter. Change money at home, or bring an ATM / Cre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElBuscadorGrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the amazing review!

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights in a one bedroomed club room. Our room was a duplex, and was really well appointed. The receptionist took good care to ensure that everybody in our group could manage the stairs, and offered an alternative in case we couldn't.

Continental breakfast was good, with the staff very attentive. It really is two minutes walk from Trafalgar Square, so taking breakfast somewhere else is always an option. We had a room facing the street but did not hear much noise at all and slept well.

Other hotels take note – free wifi!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lux life G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for the great posting. I am glad you liked your room and had a good nights sleep to explore the sites of London. As you mention we do have a lot of options locally should you not wish to eat breakfast with us. Once again thank you for your posting.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I had an excellent time at citadines trafalgar sq - excellent location (near two tube stations and a short walk to major tourist sites). Rooms were clean and spacious (I booked the club suite). Service was impeccable - in particular, I booked day trips out of London. We had been told that we would get a hot meal with our tour package but were given terrible sandwiches instead. The concierge, Justnya, actually followed up with the tour agency to get us a refund on the amount paid for our "lunch". Many thanks!

Wil definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Dutte,

Thank you for the wonderful review! I have passed your great comments onto the team and we all look forward to you returning on your next visit to London.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peregian Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Central location 150m from centre of London. hard to beat. Reception obliging and helpful. Laundry could have more explanation as with a week long stay we needed- new to us.
Coffee a welcome treat. Breakfast a bit dear 12GBP when you can walk up the road get a view and better choice

Room Tip: Had a one bedroom - fairly dar not luxury but we were out nearly all the time. Location exceptional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pacsun36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting about your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed exploring London from Citadines Trafalgar. I am glad you enjoyed the complimentary coffee facilities, I have also noted your comments about the laundry. Once again Thank You.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed three nights at this hotel. Loved the location and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Just a few minutes walk to Trafalgar Square, ten minutes to the Eye and the Hop on Hop off are right across the street.

We had a one bedroom and it was perferct, very clean and roomy.

I am a travel agent and will be suggesting this hotel to my clients for sure! You cannot beat the location!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mexigal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful post. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to you returning in the future!

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Westminster
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,504 reviews
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#100 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,456 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Trafalgar Square London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Trafalgar Square London

Property: Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Address: 18 - 21 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5EA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in London
#211 Family Hotel in London
#226 Romantic Hotel in London
#259 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Trafalgar Square London 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated for 2012 and located just a few steps away from Nelson’s Column in Trafalgar Square, Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is a short walk from the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Westminster Abbey. You are also close to Buckingham Palace, St James’s Park and the National Portrait Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. In this area, busy streets are lined with shops leading down to Covent Garden and Oxford Street. Nearby, St James' Park is a perfect place to take a break from the bustle of the city. The Apart'hotel offers you 187 air conditioned flats over 9 floors, including 126 studios for 1 or 2 people, 49 one-bedroom apartments that sleep up to 4 people and 12 two-bedroom duplex apartments for up to 6 people. In the studios, choose between a double or twin pullout sofa bed. In the one-bedroom apartments, there are twin pullout sofa beds in the lounge area and a double bed in the bedroom. In the two-bedroom apartments, there are double sofa beds in the lounge area, and double beds in the bedrooms.Each studio and apartment of the residence houses a bathroom with hairdryer, a fully-equipped kitchen area complete with cooking hobs, microwave, fridge and dishwasher, complimentary internet access, TV with satellite channels, a direct-line phone and safe deposit box. Ideal Location.Many of the major sites of London are on your doorstep, including the Houses of Parliament & Big Ben, Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey. Being very close to the River Thames, your apart’hotel offers easy access to the Southbank Centre and its wide selection of theatres, bars and restaurants as well as the London Eye observation wheel. Culture lovers will enjoy visiting the National Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is convenient for Charing Cross and Embankment Underground stations, providing easy connections to all parts of the capital. Immerse yourself in the lively atmosphere of Piccadilly Circus and take in a show in the heart of Theatreland and then head to one of the plentiful traditional English pubs to round off your evening before heading back to your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Trafalgar Square London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Trafalgar Square London Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing