We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Ranked #270 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I Love Citadines Trafalgar Square London!!!

My 16 year old daughter and I were in London for 10 day this month (June 2014) and we stayed there. We had almost no complaints. The room was smaller than I though it would be but it was more than enough space for the 2 of us. My biggest complaint was the shower because there were way too many safety grab bars in such a small space. It actually made showering difficult. Other than that, all good things.

First and foremost, it is a very safe and secure hotel. You need a room key to enter the hotel and a room key to operate the elevator so you're not getting up to the actual rooms unless you're supposed to be there.

The room was clean.
Maid service was daily unless we didn't want them to come it. When they did, they tidied up and replenished the TP, towels, etc.

Good heating and good AC.

Great little kitchen area in the room.

Comfy beds!!

The most amazing coffee/espresso/cappuccino machine in the lobby available around the clock.

Wifi in the room was great, absolutely no issues.

Super conveniently located near little markets, restaurants, theaters and the tube stations.

The staff was extremely kind and helpful.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a great place to stay in London.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Debbie C,

Thank you for the wonderfully detailed review. I am glad you had a great time and had so many positive comments about your stay. The whole Citadines Prestige Trafalgar team look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    860
    940
    266
    86
    50
See reviews for
854
685
90
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We searched long and hard for the perfect place to accommodate our first trip to London from the US. This place states that it has it all and with the price tag that went along with it we assumed it did. The location was great, the street was beautiful and it was easy to walk to the tube as well as amazing restaurants and shows. We were following our 5-day stay in London with a 12-night cruise so one of the requirements on our list was a washer/dryer in our flat so we can do some wash before we went on the second portion of our trip. We rented a 2-bedroom/2-story flat as there were 4 of us traveling and we were told over the phone that washer/dryer was in the unit. It wasn't. We were also told that breakfast would be included. It wasn't. (to the tune of over $20 USD per person for an assortment of Cereal and fruit) I asked them for a recommendation for a private driver to bring us from the airport to the hotel and again from the hotel to the cruise port almost 2 hours away as I wanted to get those plans taken care of before we arrived in London. I was told by the staff that I would receive a call back within a couple hours and never heard from anyone. When we arrived we went down for breakfast and there were only a few tables that seat 4 people each for the whole hotel and obviously there were no seats. We were told we were absolutely not able to take food up to the room and after much firm persuasion we were allowed to leave with food but abruptly and rudely told by the dining attendant that we had better bring our dishes back down as we were done. The stairwell to the second floor of the unit we rented was circular and steep which wasn't a problem physically but it wasn't wide enough to even carry a suitcase up. We had to leave all clothes downstairs in the living room and we had bedrooms upstairs. The shower was upstairs but the toilet was down. Also the A/C unit pretended to work but it was uncomfortably hot the entire stay. As stated, the best attribute of this hotel is the location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Jeremy C,

Thank you for the posting. I am glad you enjoyed our location for your 5 days in London. I am sorry for your experiences with the team, we usually pride ourselves on our service, so am very sorry we have let you down during your stay with us. I have spoken to the breakfast team about being more flexible during our peak period as we are limited with space. In regards to the price it is £12 which is not to bad for a central London property, there are also bakeries and cafes a short walk from Citadines should you prefer to eat outside. Once again thank you for your posting.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We came to stay at Citadine when accommodation booked via Booking.com (not their fault) fell over and Citadine was offered as a sub.and we are still cheering!!
Perfectly located and in a quiet street ..if there can be such a thing in London City ..we warmed to Citadine immediately.
Well managed with 24hr(so Important we have decided) reception/concierge....it ticks most of the boxes .
The kitchenette was adequate and came in handy for the odd time when we prepared a home meal...though there is plenty of options for dining close by
Bedding was king size and comfy .Large fluffy white towels which were changed daily and a bath/shower with great hot water.
and ...a coffee machine which was complimentary to guests 24/7... where a latte or cap could be quickly made ...brilliant.
I would certainly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saxafun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Saxafun,

Thank you for the posting. I am glad you had a great time with us and could enjoy the benefits of being in a service apartment. As you say the complimentary coffee machine is great for a quick coffee anytime of the day! Once again thank you for great review and we look forward to you returning to Citadines Prestige Trafalgar in the not to distant future.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed for a week and will definitely return when in London. The room was spacious by city standards, air-conditioned, clean and thoroughly appointed. Trafalgar Square is as crazy as Times Square but the windows shut out the sound and we slept well. The 'continental' breakfast was ample and fresh. There are coin-operated washers and dryers - expensive - but oh, so, nice to have. Staff were good to us. No complaints!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary2846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Mary2846,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am glad we ticked all the boxes for your stay, and let you enjoy all the sights London has to offer. Myself and the team all look forward to you returning on your next visit to London.

Best Wishes
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Nice Aparthotel in a fantastic location. We checked in on a Monday evening and the staff was friendly & efficient. The 1 bedroom apartment was huge by European standards although the couch in the living room (yes it has a living room!) was a little worn. The kitchenette was very useful and the bedroom was good sized with comfortable beds.Our only complaint was that the toilet was separated from the bathroom. Not sure whether this was on purpose or necessary for the layout of the room.

It was our first time in London and the location could not have been any better. Close to Trafalgar Square and within walking distance to many other sites. Many pubs and restaurants were within a 10 minute walk as well.Very good value and a great place to stay for first time visitors to London.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Ralph S,

Thank you for posting about your stay on Tripadvisor. I am glad you had a great stay with us and got to take advantage of our great location on your first trip to London. We hope you should you return to London again you will return to Citadines Prestige Trafalgar. Once again Thank you.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I checked in at around 4pm, several staff were 'on duty' but I had to wait several minutes whist they chatted, when I finally interupted them I was felt to made inconsequential to their business. The room was noisey, but it is central so to be expected. room was clean, but bed less than comfortable.

I booked a wake up call for 7am which never happened, luckily the delivery trucks/refuse collectors woke me just after. Breakfast was farcical, children running everywhere and staff expected me to sit with them, I refused and asked for breakfast to be sent up to my room, they refused.

Overall not somewhere I will be returning for the cost.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the topfloor and not facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrie_Phipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Lawrie_Phipps

Thank you for posting about your recent stay. I am sorry about your experiences with reception with the check in and wake up call. I will be speaking with the team about the issues you faced with us so we can try and avoid them in the future. We usually have good comments about the team so am sorry they have let you and Citadines down. In regards to breakfast my apologies it was busy, during peak times it can be very busy, but the team should have let you bring your food upstairs, I have spoken to them about this. I am sorry your stay was not up to the usual Citadines Prestige standard. Should you wish to return please contact me directly on ben.pattinson@citadines.com so I can personally take care of your booking.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is our 5th or 6th time here at Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square in London and the second time since the recent upgrade. It is a pleasure to be back here. They say in real estate terms it is all about "Location, Location" but there is more in a hotel or a base for your London stay. This is our base, our home whilst we have been in London and from here we venture out into London or further afield. Citadines Traflagar Square is within a 10 minute walk of much that is to be seen in Central London. For me, it is the staff that makes a hotel - and the staff here are simply brilliant. From check in where nothing was too difficult through to daily greeting from the staff as you come and go, it is like being at home, or staying with friends. We had a one bedroom apartment which was lovely - certainly beats a hotel room where you haev to walk over the bed to get to the other side of the room. here we have sitting room, kitchenette, bathroom, sep toilet and bedroom - and a ncie view lookign out over the main road, a little busy but great to watch the peopole, traffic ad those iconic Red Double Decker buses all night. When we requested help with TV or computer link, someone was with us within minutes and all worked out and guest happy, and always a follow up call or visit to see if you were happy. When we had a major sink blockage, it was delt with rapidly and with full appreciation of our requirements and times we would be out. Again, a followup call saw everything was satisfactory. It would be wrong to mention anyone in particular but we did receive extra wonderful service at Reception - and there is certainly something very ncie by a welcoming wave or smile from staff when we are going out or coming back through the Lobby area. It is a pleasure to come back from your day out and a friendly hello greets you. The Aparthotel is to be congratulated on its staff - all staff. (I have thanked the manager in regard to specific individuals who have given more than excellent service). Would we stay here again - most certainly and without hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Northbourne Avenue give a nice view, rooms at the back can be a bit noisy with two pubs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell Joyce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben A, Manager at Citadines Trafalgar Square London, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Russell Joyce J,

Thank you for the excellent detailed review. I am glad you had another great stay with us. Its always good to know our guests have had a perfect stay especially a regular such as yourself. I have passed your fantastic reviews onto the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to London.

Best Wishes,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,069 in London
3,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#186 of 1,069 in London
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Trafalgar Square London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Trafalgar Square London

Property: Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Address: 18 - 21 Northumberland Avenue, London WC2N 5EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in London
#211 Family Hotel in London
#226 Romantic Hotel in London
#259 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Trafalgar Square London 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated for 2012 and located just a few steps away from Nelson’s Column in Trafalgar Square, Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is a short walk from the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Westminster Abbey. You are also close to Buckingham Palace, St James’s Park and the National Portrait Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. In this area, busy streets are lined with shops leading down to Covent Garden and Oxford Street. Nearby, St James' Park is a perfect place to take a break from the bustle of the city. The Apart'hotel offers you 187 air conditioned flats over 9 floors, including 126 studios for 1 or 2 people, 49 one-bedroom apartments that sleep up to 4 people and 12 two-bedroom duplex apartments for up to 6 people. In the studios, choose between a double or twin pullout sofa bed. In the one-bedroom apartments, there are twin pullout sofa beds in the lounge area and a double bed in the bedroom. In the two-bedroom apartments, there are double sofa beds in the lounge area, and double beds in the bedrooms.Each studio and apartment of the residence houses a bathroom with hairdryer, a fully-equipped kitchen area complete with cooking hobs, microwave, fridge and dishwasher, complimentary internet access, TV with satellite channels, a direct-line phone and safe deposit box. Ideal Location.Many of the major sites of London are on your doorstep, including the Houses of Parliament & Big Ben, Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey. Being very close to the River Thames, your apart’hotel offers easy access to the Southbank Centre and its wide selection of theatres, bars and restaurants as well as the London Eye observation wheel. Culture lovers will enjoy visiting the National Gallery which houses one of the greatest European art collections in the world. Citadines Prestige Trafalgar Square London is convenient for Charing Cross and Embankment Underground stations, providing easy connections to all parts of the capital. Immerse yourself in the lively atmosphere of Piccadilly Circus and take in a show in the heart of Theatreland and then head to one of the plentiful traditional English pubs to round off your evening before heading back to your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citadines Trafalgar Square London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Trafalgar Square London Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing